Patricia W. (flutterbug) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 35 - Page:
About a Boy
About a Boy
Author: Nick Hornby
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 140
Review Date: 3/29/2007


I saw the movie and passed on reading the book. Maybe someone else would like to have it...


Blackbird : A Childhood Lost and Found
Blackbird : A Childhood Lost and Found
Author: Jennifer Lauck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 6/26/2009


This book is riveting and heartbreaking and I could not put it down. I read it cover to cover in 24 hours. It's a tragic, beautifully written memoir that is almost unbelievable. Having lost my own mother at age five, I cried along with Jennifer at every loss and cruel twist. I highly recommend this book...now I am ordering the sequel.


The Book Thief
The Book Thief
Author: Markus Zusak
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 299
Review Date: 8/31/2007
Helpful Score: 7


Some books you keep, others you pass on when you finish. I would love to share this book, but can't bear to part with it. One of my ALL TIME FAVORITES. The story is one I will never forget. I also do not know why it was classified as a children's book, but know why children should read it. Definitely read it if you can get someone to share it....


The Castaways
The Castaways
Author: Elin Hilderbrand
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 171
Review Date: 9/29/2011


I typically read nonfiction, history or historical fiction...but I was going thru some heavy stuff in my life and needed something lighter to get my mind somewhere else. A friend had given me this book and it was just sitting there so I picked it up and got hooked immediately. Even though it's about a sad subject it was fiction and I thought it was light and easy summertime reading. I surprised myself as I thoroughly enjoyed it. I recommend it.


Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1993
Review Date: 8/31/2007


Fun and funny.


Darkness Visible : A Memoir of Madness
Darkness Visible : A Memoir of Madness
Author: William Styron
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 7/30/2009
Helpful Score: 5


I read this book many years ago after a suicide attempt and two back-to-back hospitalizations for a seriously debilitating depression which I suffered with for years. Reading it was, at least for me, like walking hand in hand with a kindred soul who, unlike myself, was able to accurately describe the deep dark abyss of major depression. It was comforting like a warm blanket on a cold night. I highly recommend this book for anyone suffering from depression...but I espcially recommend it for anyone who has a loved one they suspect may be seriously depressed. Although there have been great strides in the treatment of depression since I went through it, depression is depression is depression and the person suffering from it is living in a hell all their own. Although dated, I firmly believe this book can provide understanding and can give hope to those who feel hopeless. Thank you Mr. Styron for one of the best books I ever read.


A Deadly Game: The Untold Story of the Scott Peterson Investigation
Review Date: 8/31/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Fascinating information in this book...a great follow up to "For Laci" by Laci Peterson's mom, Sharon Rocha. Such a sad tragic end to a beautiful young woman and her unborn son.


The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair that Changed America
Review Date: 12/12/2007


Excellent book. All the positive reviews here are well deserved.


Drowning Ruth
Drowning Ruth
Author: Christina Schwarz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 682
Review Date: 8/31/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I enjoyed this book. It kept me up at night turning pages.


The English Patient
The English Patient
Author: Michael Ondaatje
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 339
Review Date: 8/31/2007
Helpful Score: 2


If you liked the movie, you will love the book. Engrossing and wonderful.


For Laci : A Mother's Story of Love, Loss, and Justice
For Laci : A Mother's Story of Love, Loss, and Justice
Author: Sharon Rocha
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 8/31/2007


Heart-wrenching - Laci's mother tells her story of every mother's worse nightmare. My heart goes out to her.


Gap Creek: The Story of a Marriage
Gap Creek: The Story of a Marriage
Author: Robert Morgan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 132
Review Date: 3/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is an engrossing story of the first year in a young couple's marriage. They go through terrible hardship - I think this takes place just before the turn of the century and is very believable. It's an Oprah Book Club selection.


Girl With a Pearl Earring
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Author: Tracy Chevalier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 282
Review Date: 8/31/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Absolutely LOVED this book. Never saw the movie, but this book puts you right into the time and place. Quick and interesting read.


House of Sand and Fog
House of Sand and Fog
Author: Andre Dubus III
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 807
Review Date: 3/29/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This was a really good read a few years ago. Couldn't put it down. Never saw the movie, but would like to.


Icy Sparks
Icy Sparks
Author: Gwyn Hyman Rubio
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 611
Review Date: 3/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This was an interesting book about a young girl growing up in 1950's rural Kentucky with a disorder that causes uncontrollable tics and cursing. Tourette's syndrome. Funny, sad and troubling...but engrossing.


Inside the Kingdom : My Life in Saudi Arabia
Inside the Kingdom : My Life in Saudi Arabia
Author: Carmen Bin Ladin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 8/31/2007
Helpful Score: 6


Fascinating book about the life of Carmen Bin Laden, who was married to one of Osama Bin Laden's 56 brothers and lived in Saudi Arabia until her daughters started school and she realized what kind of life they would have as women and decided to get out. Details what life is like for women living in Saudi Arabia in our day and age. Truly shocking and frightening. Totally mesmerizing, for women and for men.


Keeping The Love You Find
Keeping The Love You Find
Author: Harville Hendrix
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 3/29/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I kept the love I found...what more can I say?


Let's Pretend This Never Happened
Let's Pretend This Never Happened
Author: Jenny Lawson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 6/17/2015
Helpful Score: 1


Truly the most hilarious book I've ever read...laugh out loud funny, even in public you can't stop laughing. This book came along just when my life was way too serious. It is definitely going on my keeper bookshelf. Do yourself a favor and lighten up your world by reading this fabulous book. Jenny Lawson is fabulous...now I am also addicted to her blog. Warning: She is irreverent and has a potty mouth - in all the appropriate ways.


A long way down
A long way down
Author: nick hornby
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 8/31/2007
Helpful Score: 1


What a quirky fun book. I unexpectedly really enjoyed it after it sat on my bookshelf for a long time...it was an accidental order from the book club. Glad I read it.


The March
The March
Author: e.l. doctorow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 8/31/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Great historical fiction about General Sherman's March through the South at the end of the Civil War.


1 to 20 of 35 - Page: