Reviews - Robine S. (robine4206)

1 to 20 of 51 - Page:
The Accidental Mother
The Accidental Mother
Author: Rowan Coleman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 203
Review Date: 2/21/2011


"I enjoyed this book. It was a fast easy read. The story held your attention and did make me think about my best friend and what she would want if I was in the position of the heroine of the book. The only down fall I found was that the dialog for the children was a bit advanced in thought and wording. Sometimes when the children were speaking it seemed as if they were another adult character in the book. Overall it was a good read and had some very surprising moments especially at the beginning of the book. I would recommend it to anyone."


Amanda's Wedding
Amanda's Wedding
Author: Jenny Colgan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 2/15/2012
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book was not my cup of tea. I found the use of English slang far to confusing for my taste. A little bit of slag would have been nice but there was far to many references to it. Plus I did not find the main characters likeable or interesting. I don't think I would read anything by her again."


Aunt Dimity and the Family Tree (Aunt Dimity, Bk 16)
Aunt Dimity and the Family Tree (Aunt Dimity, Bk 16)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 11/18/2014


"I like this series of books. They are short and sweet and you know in the end everything is going to work out great for all the characters. No one is going to be hurt and everyone will end up standing around holding hands and humming. But, isn't that why we read these books? The past couple of books I thought that the character Aunt Dimity was taking a back seat but finally the author decided to bring her out again and let her speak. That was nice. I recommend this book if you are looking for something that is a quick easy read. This book will give you pleasure from cover to cover."


Black Water Rising
Black Water Rising
Author: Attica Locke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 10/5/2013


"I enjoyed this book except the ending. The ending was a disappointment. The book overall was well written and read quickly. I did struggle with understanding the main characters motivation sometimes and how he dealt with problems. I felt as if there was a back story associated with his character but the author only would let you in a few tidbits of it. I'm not sure this book was really a mystery novel either but overall it was well written and a fast read."


The Book of Bright Ideas
The Book of Bright Ideas
Author: Sandra Kring
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 259
Review Date: 12/1/2010


"I must admit I choose this book because of the title. It struck me as funny when I read it. I must also admit that I really enjoyed this book and found it a delight. The plot was well developed and each character had their own unique individual story to tell. The author did a fantastic job weaving all of the individual characters stories together and creating a unified story line. I enjoyed the book from beginning to end. It was a quick read and once I started it I couldn't seem to put it down. I'm now on the hunt for more novels by this charming writer."


The Book of Flying
The Book of Flying
Author: Keith Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 11/12/2010
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"My husband and I enjoy reading books together during the long winter months and this was a nice story that we both enjoyed. Parts of the book were a bit boggy and the end was a bit of a disappointment but, in the end we were satisfied.

The book was an essay of sorts on the main characters life and although it may not have ended all neatly wrapped up in a plaid bow. The main character did his best to live life on his terms and overall isn't that what everyone is striving to achieve in the world today?

I suggest reading this book out loud. Taking turns reading with your family in front of a roaring fire with cups of hot coco and enjoy the time spent in the company of the ones you love."


The Bright Forever
The Bright Forever
Author: Lee Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 196
Review Date: 11/8/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Wow, what a book. I was not expecting a story as haunting and gripping as this one. I was memorized from the first line to the last. It a gripping tale of lives inner twined and the results of greed, lust, anger and dare I say love all climaxing in one desperate moment of human failing. You suspect from the beginning who committed the crime but what you don't know is why and your not really sure you do know the answer. The story, told in a matter of fact manner, follows the books characters as they each reveal their secrets. Secrets that sometimes would be best left in the dark recesses of peoples minds. Like a scab on your knee that you just can't help but pick this book leaves you with that feeling. You want to put it down and walk away but you can't. It follows you until the last page and the last word has been read. It tugs at your mind and will leave an imprint on it forever."


The Cinderella Pact
The Cinderella Pact
Author: Sarah Strohmeyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 9/10/2011


"I enjoyed this book for the most part. I did get a little tired of the main characters whining about her weight but then that's what this book was about. I was disappointed to see that the main character could and would not accept herself as a vibrant beautiful woman until the very end. Being a heavy set woman myself I found that attitude to be rather insulting. You are only as beautiful as you think you are. I don't think I would recommend this author for her ability to delve into the psychological aspects of weight gain and lose but as for writing it was an enjoyable quick read."


Daisy's Back in Town (Lovett, Texas, Bk 1)
Daisy's Back in Town (Lovett, Texas, Bk 1)
Author: Rachel Gibson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 300
Review Date: 10/5/2013


"The game of cat and mouse is allive and well and is written between the pages of this book. After a while I just didn't care how the sotry unfolded and it had the typical ending. I guess if you like romance novels (which generally I do) you will like this book. For me it fell flat, like day old ginger ale."


Diary of a Mad Bride
Diary of a Mad Bride
Author: Laura Wolf
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 340
Review Date: 9/18/2011


"It took me a few pages to get use to the writting style of this book but once I was use to it what fun it was to read. I really enjoyed this book. For fourteen years I ran a successful bridal shop and I often thought that once the ring went on the girls hand she and her mother suddenly lost their minds. This book proved that theory correct. It was so fun to read. I laughed out loud several times (and not one of those polite girl laughs) a real belly laugh the kind a laugh that makes milk squirt out your nose. That is if you drinking a glass of milk at the time. The scene where she tries to buy a child's tiara was so funny. If you are looking for a funny, quick read then I recommend this book. You will laugh too."


The Doctor's Wife
The Doctor's Wife
Author: Elizabeth Brundage
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 654
Review Date: 5/8/2012
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I thought that I would like this book but unfortunately I was disappointed and did not enjoy it. The story line was fine and the character development was good but it lacked an attention to detail that I find enjoyable in works of fiction.

The book was set in Albany, New York and I realize it was a work of fiction but there were several mistakes in the geography that I found to be a distraction. One of the major mistakes was the directions of the roads listed in relationship to the towns/cities mentioned. The city of Amsterdam is located along route 5 and the thruway(Intestate 90) not along the Northway(Interstate 87). Also streets in Albany were traveling in the wrong direction from real live or do not intersect each other as described. Buildings were mentioned that don't exist or if they do there was no resemblance to real life. The author described St. Mary's Hospital in Amsterdam but slammed the Catholic church involvement. I'm sure the Fathers and Sisters who work there everyday would like to here their jobs and hospital refereed to in such negative terms and remarks.

I get it this book was a social commentary on a woman's right to choose. Presenting the pro-life side of the argument in the destructive terms is just as irresponsible as trying to shove the abortionist side down the readers throat. There are extremists on both sides of the argument.

I just felt that if you were setting the story line in the capital city of the state those small details should have been paid attention to. If she wanted to set the story in a fictional town then she should have fictionalized the details. To use a real area and to get the details wrong was very distracting and I found it annoying.

I also felt that the author was extremly derogatory in her remarks about the people and places in this area. Her remarks left me with the impression that she might have visited this area once but does she actually live here? Her bio's all say she lives in NY but NY is a large state. Was it necessary for the author to run down this area? Upstate NY has numerous economic and social problems without someone adding their own negative remarks. If the author was trying to go for mood or affect than I think she fell shot of the mark. The observations she made were just petty and degrading.

I seriously doubt if I will read anything else this author writes."


Family Baggage
Family Baggage
Author: Monica McInerney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 2/25/2013
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I tried to read this book but just couldn't seem to get into. Maybe it was my mind set but I found it confusing and I really didn't care about the main character or her problems. I have a rule of 100....and it didn't pass that rule. The rule of 100 says that if I am not interested in a book by page 100 I decide that the book is not for me. I gave up and evoked the rule of 100."


The Four Seasons
The Four Seasons
Author: Mary Alice Monroe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 10/5/2013


"I liked this book. I liked the characters and the story line and I found the situations that the characters were in to be totally believable. For me it was well written and because of that it was a fast read. I'm sure i will look for other books written by her to read."


The Glass Castle
The Glass Castle
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3295
Review Date: 11/18/2014


"So dark, so heavy....not to my liking at all ! Can't wait to turn it back in."


Golf's Sacred Journey: Seven Days at the Links of Utopia
Golf's Sacred Journey: Seven Days at the Links of Utopia
Author: David L. Cook
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 11/20/2012


"I initially saw the movie and thought I would enjoy reading the book. Usually it is the other way around you red the book first and then see the movie. I found this book to be an enjoyable read and full of a lot of interesting insight. I am not a golfer, nor do I live with a golfer but the insights and approach to finding your center applied to me. It's basically a book about learning to take a step back and breathe before life becomes to much to handle. I liked the book and I'm not into self help books. This book made several important point without all the preaching, self-serving of most self-help books. The movie was really good too."


Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2833
Review Date: 5/1/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Not a bad read. I enjoyed the book although towards the end I stopped feeling sorry for the heroine and just wanted the book to end. Not sure I would read any other books by the author."


The Good Kind Of Crazy (Next)
The Good Kind Of Crazy (Next)
Author: Tanya Michaels
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 11/6/2012


"This book was a nice read not sure if I would read something else by the author. I thought the characters should have had more depth but on a superficial level it was a nice quick easy read."


The Great Husband Hunt
The Great Husband Hunt
Author: Laurie Graham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 12/30/2012


"Not one of my favorite stories. I found it so hard to relate to the characters in this book. They seemed so old fashioned and lacking any true depth of character. The book jacket describes the heroine as rebellious. But I found her to be annoying, self centered and rude. She ws totally without a moral compass and the opportunists she had to find on she failed and retreated into her own self-centered delusional world. It seemed like all the characters were struggling to find a voice and fell very short of their goal.

I couldn't help but think that this book was just a lot of words thrown up in the air and hopefully when they hit the ground they would come together and create a story.

I doubt I would read another book by this author. I just didn't like it and did not understand the heroine or the supporting characters."


The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
Author: Mary Ann Shaffer, Annie Barrows
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 647
Review Date: 6/29/2014


"I enjoyed this book. It was a quick easy read and provided a different view point to World War II. I remember from high school history that the islands off the French coast were occupied by German troops during World War II but I never really thought about how it affected the locals. This book opened a whole new discussion at book group about the Germany army and their interaction with the local people. There is so much literature available about the Holocaust that sometimes you become so involved with that one aspect of the war that you forget other people were also affected. I enjoyed this book and found the discussion at my book club stimulating. The book discussed the hardships the people on one small island faced while being occupied and how that occupied force reacted to the local community."


Her Fearful Symmetry
Her Fearful Symmetry
Author: Audrey Niffenegger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 192
Review Date: 11/24/2010


"I really wasn't impressed with this book and it just was a little to out there for my taste. It seemed like it took me forever to finish reading it and once I did the ending was a bit of a disappointment. I read the Time Travelers Wife by her also but I'm not so sure I would read anything else she writes. Just not my cup of tea."


1 to 20 of 51 - Page: