Bonnie S. (Bonnie) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 325 - Page:
101 Ways to Stop Eating After Dinner
101 Ways to Stop Eating After Dinner
Author: Nancy Butcher
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/7/2007
Helpful Score: 5


A very thin paperback of ideas we all already know, but probably need to hear again anyway.


11/22/63: A Novel
11/22/63: A Novel
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 1/17/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I have thought and thought about this...yes, it was a good listen while I cooked, cleaned, did crafty stuff in the house. It kept me company. I was listening to the lives of some friends, chuckling as they brought up a few memories from our far past. I got to know these people, inside and out, in a way that only King can accomplish. I've said many times, no one does characterization like Stephen King. That is usually why I love his loooong books. But even a character-driven story needs something to happen now and again, and in reality, except for meeting new people and a couple of beatings, nothing ever happened. Nothing.

The denoument of Kennedy/Oswald was so glossed over, so minor, that it shocked me that a whole 30 plus hour book was written about it. Not to spoil anything for others, but you who have read it will know who I mean....when there was the death of a major character, I didn't give a crap. I didn't much care how George/Jacob grieved. The only time I felt sad about it was when Deke, the old man, talked about it. And, if you must know, I am a total wimp when it comes to deaths and other griefs in books or movies. I will cry and think about these things for weeks.

Anyone who's taken writing courses or attended writing conferences knows the any author or editor will tell you, you can save a book with that hit them between the eyes beginning that will grab the reader, then you will make the reader always recall your book fondly if you give them an ending that is heartwrenching, in a good way or bad. Tender, sweet...memorable. And that is my very point about 11-22-63.

This book started off so well, a terrific premise. That last scene...it made the listen almost worth it. It was tender, so beautifully written, and in my case, so lovingly read, that I thought about it long after the story ended. I loved loved loved the ending.

Thus...this book seems far far better than it actually was for me. Like I said earlier...if it hadn't been Stephen King, I doubt it would have gotten past the first reader to an actual editor's desk for consideration.


11/22/63 (Audio CD-MP3) (Unabridged)
11/22/63 (Audio CD-MP3) (Unabridged)
Author: Stephen King, Craig Wasson (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/17/2012


I have thought and thought about this...yes, it was a good listen while I cooked, cleaned, did crafty stuff in the house. It kept me company. I was listening to the lives of some friends, chuckling as they brought up a few memories from our far past. I got to know these people, inside and out, in a way that only King can accomplish. I've said many times, no one does characterization like Stephen King. That is usually why I love his loooong books. But even a character-driven story needs something to happen now and again, and in reality, except for meeting new people and a couple of beatings, nothing ever happened. Nothing.

The denoument of Kennedy/Oswald was so glossed over, so minor, that it shocked me that a whole 30 plus hour book was written about it. Not to spoil anything for others, but you who have read it will know who I mean....when there was the death of a major character, I didn't give a crap. I didn't much care how George/Jacob grieved. The only time I felt sad about it was when Deke, the old man, talked about it. And, if you must know, I am a total wimp when it comes to deaths and other griefs in books or movies. I will cry and think about these things for weeks.

Anyone who's taken writing courses or attended writing conferences knows the any author or editor will tell you, you can save a book with that hit them between the eyes beginning that will grab the reader, then you will make the reader always recall your book fondly if you give them an ending that is heartwrenching, in a good way or bad. Tender, sweet...memorable. And that is my very point about 11-22-63.

This book started off so well, a terrific premise. That last scene...it made the listen almost worth it. It was tender, so beautifully written, and in my case, so lovingly read, that I thought about it long after the story ended. I loved loved loved the ending.

Thus...this book seems far far better than it actually was for me. Like I said earlier...if it hadn't been Stephen King, I doubt it would have gotten past the first reader to an actual editor's desk for consideration.


Accordion Crimes (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Accordion Crimes (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Author: Edward Hermann (Narrator), Annie Proulx
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/7/2007


Edward Herrmann reads, and he is wonderful.


Adverbs CD : A Novel
Adverbs CD : A Novel
Author: Daniel Handler
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/26/2008


I hated this book and could not finish it. But that doesn't say much, does it. I didn't like the tone, the lalala-ness of it. I didn't like the story line. The reader annoyed me. I sure hope I just wasn't having a bad day and it is really a marvel of a story.


All the Pretty Horses
All the Pretty Horses
Author: Cormac Mccarthy
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 2/23/2008
Helpful Score: 1


A quick read by Brad Pitt. If you liked the movie you should like this. But if truth be told, I was bored by the author's writing style when I read the book (didn't finish it), didn't watch the whole movie, and was even more bored when listening to this audio. Foolishly persistent, but I was determined to figure out why this was so popular. I never did.


The All-True Travels and Adventures of Lidie Newton
The All-True Travels and Adventures of Lidie Newton
Author: Jane Smiley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 9/7/2007
Helpful Score: 1


All those great reviews! Gee, I had a really hard time getting through this book...and I love Westerns. But this one dragged and dragged, and I remember the narrative overpowering the flow of the story.


Allen Carr's Easyweigh to Lose Weight
Allen Carr's Easyweigh to Lose Weight
Author: Allen Carr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 0.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/7/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I've seen miracles worked with his quitting smoking book, but this one just turned me off. I don't see it working.


Angela's Ashes
Angela's Ashes
Author: Frank McCourt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 540
Review Date: 9/7/2007


Depressing, but very good read.


Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Angry Housewives Eating Bon Bons
Author: Lorna Landvik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 815
Review Date: 9/7/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed this book, getting to know the characters. It spans the years and the emotions, but don't let the title fool you. It is a facetious name these women give themselves and their "book club." I just wish the author had gone a bit more into the characters reviews of the books.


Another Bullshit Night in Suck City: A Memoir
Another Bullshit Night in Suck City: A Memoir
Author: Nick Flynn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 5/1/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Well, I had a dang hard time getting into reading this book. Yet another where the author thinks that writing in a weird tense makes it more dramatic. I found the style and voice so annoying that I wouldn't waste my time going much beyond page 20.


The Antelope Wife
The Antelope Wife
Author: Louise Erdrich
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 9/7/2007


I couldn't believe there was a book written by this author that I had to struggle through...but I did.


APHC Christmas (Lake Wobegon)
APHC Christmas (Lake Wobegon)
Author: Garrison Keillor
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 4/20/2008


Too much silly music, which could be typical for this show, but not nearly enough great talking as I would have expected and liked.


Appetites: On the Search for True Nourishment
Appetites: On the Search for True Nourishment
Author: Geneen Roth
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/7/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This was the first of her books that I actually couldn't finish. Too much babbling.


The Apron Book: Making, Wearing, and Sharing a Bit of Cloth and Comfort
Review Date: 1/26/2015


A fun book to be savored and picked up and glanced through again and again. Part history, part instruction, it is chockful of sweet essays about aprons, sewing, cooking, moms, and grandmothers. Not only are there simple sewing instructions throughout, there is an envelope in the back holding an easy pattern for an apron. A keeper for sure.


The Atlas of Middle-Earth
The Atlas of Middle-Earth
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 9/7/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A really great old book...a true guide to Tolkien's world.


Audiobook (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Audiobook (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Author: Whoopi Goldberg
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 1/11/2007
Helpful Score: 5


If you like The Whoop, this is a fun listen. I wish she didn't use the F word so much (though she didn't really overdo it) as there were quite a few segments that would have been appropriate for children, and fun for the whole family on a long trip. She talked about growing up in New York, snow-sledding, Christmas, her hatred of eggs. Kids would have loved all that, esp the segment on farts.
But then, she did talk about men, and the difficulty they have with their aim, and their pubes on the soap, and pissing in the bathtub and the bathroom sink...


Awakening the Spine
Awakening the Spine
Author: Vanda Scaravelli
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/26/2008


If one is hoping for some yoga tips, ideas, whathaveyou...forget it. Nice photos. A couple of comments on certain poses...but for the most part, I felt ripped off, like what was the purpose of this book?


Babyhood
Babyhood
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/17/2008


My friend, Laurie, loved this book, laughed out loud while driving and listening to it. I tried listening to this on a long road trip with my husband who kept saying, He isn't funny. He just isn't funny. The first time was only 15 minutes into the tape at the most, so I said, Give it a chance. 15 minutes later, I popped it out of the player. I can't really say if he influenced my opinion. My friend just loved it...


The Ballad of Frankie Silver (Ballad, Bk 5)
The Ballad of Frankie Silver (Ballad, Bk 5)
Author: Sharyn McCrumb
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 111
Review Date: 9/7/2007
Helpful Score: 6


My favorite of this author's Ballad Series. A beautiful, tragic mystery novel set in Appalachia, based on fact, that moves between this century and the last.


1 to 20 of 325 - Page: