Connie C. (connieccrn) - , - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
The Bride Did What?!: Etiquette for the Wedding Impaired
The Bride Did What?!: Etiquette for the Wedding Impaired
Author: Martha A. Woodham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/30/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is a quick and easy read, mostly amusing tales of weddings. The book is dated and many of the suggestions are no longer valid. Still, it is interesting to see how things were once done and maybe still should be.


The Eye of the World (Wheel of Time, Bk 1)
The Eye of the World (Wheel of Time, Bk 1)
Author: Robert Jordan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 713
Review Date: 12/10/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I have always liked books that are a series, and this one is no exception. There are elements of prior fantasy novels of adventure and quests. The era is medieval and there are some unique monsters. The weapons are all known - both physical ones and magical ones. I like the characters. It is about your basic good vs evil battle, but this story has enough new elements of that old battle to keep you interested and entertained.


The Memoirs of Wild Bill Hickok
The Memoirs of Wild Bill Hickok
Author: Richard Matheson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/21/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is a very good example of taking what might have been a very dry subject and making it interesting. I do not usually like historical novels nor do I like biographies. This book is both, but technically it is just fiction. I don't know much about the actual character except that he was real. I do like Matheson's take on him; and I like the little bits of actual history interspersed with the story.


New Spring  (Wheel of Time Prequel)
New Spring (Wheel of Time Prequel)
Author: Robert Jordan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 140
Review Date: 6/26/2011


This book filled in some areas that had been hinted at in the other books. You get a good understanding of who Moiraine and Lan were before they showed up in the Two Rivers. More than that, you discover the WHY of a lot of issues.

It is a must read for the fans of this series.


Night Whispers (Second Opportunities, Bk 3)
Night Whispers (Second Opportunities, Bk 3)
Author: Judith McNaught
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 7/9/2011


This was the first book of McNaught's that I read.

It is more a light romance novel than a detective/mystery type novel and I am not a fan of romance.

It is a story of a small town poor girl falling in love with a rich hunk. There is intrigue and the characters are well defined and the story is not slow or boring.

It is an easy read, not intense.


Occult ABC
Occult ABC
Author: Kurt E. Koch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 0.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/6/2011


I realize this book is supposed to be helpful in avoiding the occult. However, I found most of it reads like something from SNOPES. The author gives anecdotes, but there is really no way to confirm them. Many times the examples say "a man" of "a church"; or the story is from a missionary that heard it from someone else.

I know that dabbling in the occult is dangerous for christians. But, are vampire BATS occult? Is Television occult? I guess it is if you watch Charmed.


The Shrinking Man
The Shrinking Man
Author: Richard Matheson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/21/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I am a fan of science fiction. This was the first book I read by Richard Matheson. I don't think I ever saw the movie. The book goes back and forth from the present to the past. By doing so, you get a good idea as to how things got the way they are. It is interesting to see how some very common objects change their usefulness over time. I really liked the ending.


Watchers
Watchers
Author: Dean R. Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/29/2008


I don't think this is one of Koontz's best; it is probably an early book. Still, it does have some very surprising characters! The good "guy" is actually a dog; the "bad" guy is a malevolent creature. As is usual with Koontz, there is the mixing up of DNA to get these results. Add to that a nice mix of human characters that interact with the "man-made" creatures. The most interesting is what that dog can do! The least interesting is Koontz's preaching...but there isn't enough of it to not read the book. I mean, everyone should read about a dog that thinks like a human. Besides, I really think I would be able to beat him at Scrabble!


What Dreams May Come
What Dreams May Come
Author: Richard Matheson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 111
Review Date: 10/14/2015


It has been a very long time since I have seen the movie, but I think I can honestly say that I liked the movie better than the book. This is a love story of soul mates.

Too often the book had the feel of a lecture...not that the lecture is bad, it is good. It does not read like a regular novel - more like a pleasant text book. It does have very good imagery and the premise itself is wonderful. For many people the story would be uplifting and offer some excellent viewpoints of what happens when we die.

I would certainly recommend this book to anyone that is looking for comfort.


Wizard's First Rule (Sword of Truth, Bk 1)
Wizard's First Rule (Sword of Truth, Bk 1)
Author: Terry Goodkind
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 608
Review Date: 10/30/2013
Helpful Score: 1


If you have read the Wheel of Time series you are going to see lots and lots of similarities. It is as if this author was given the basic plot line of WoT and wrote it his own way.

There are enough differences that I will probably finish the series. It is much more brutal than WoT. It is very graphically brutal in parts.

This author tends to have his characters be kinda dumb. The phrase "I had no choice" is used repeatedly throughout the books, and the story would have been just fine without it.

I have finished the series and I won't read it again.


(SPOILER ALERT)
Although the story is okay, I find it difficult to understand how a society can function for thousands of years without any progress. There was no mention of doctors, scientists or inventors. The world is stuck in a medieval setting and so are the characters. If the time frame had been hundreds of years, this would be much more acceptable.


1 to 10 of 10