Stephanie D. (LovesBooks) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 85 - Page:
The 8th Confession (Womens Murder Club, Bk. 8)
The 8th Confession (Womens Murder Club, Bk. 8)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 444
Review Date: 5/2/2009
Helpful Score: 3


The 8th Confession grabs your attention from page one in a way that James Patterson has perfected. I had a very hard time putting it down and it didn't take me very long to finish. I don't think that this one was my favorite out of the series, but it was still a great read. To me, it seemed that there was less interaction among the Women's Murder Club themselves. Still a great addition to the series and I can't wait for the next one!


All I Want... (Harlequin Blaze, No 221)
All I Want... (Harlequin Blaze, No 221)
Author: Isabel Sharpe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 6/18/2006


Krista Marlow wanted two things for Christmas - a sexy man and a relationship lasting longer than thirty days! (Back Cover) This is a book of somewhat mistaken identity. Krista has a fantasy that she would like to have played out and when it does, she becomes more involved than she thought she would. This book has a very good ending but then again don't most romance novels? It is a Harlequin Blaze so the sex is smokin' hot. It was a very good book.


Artemis Fowl (Artemis Fowl, Bk 1)
Artemis Fowl (Artemis Fowl, Bk 1)
Author: Eoin Colfer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 317
Review Date: 10/13/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Artemis is an extremely intelligent child, and also criminal. This is a hilirous romp with great adventure including fairies, dwarves, and goblins. This is the first book of a series and I plan to revisit it soon. It amazed me and it is a good work of fantasy. This is a young adult book.


The Baby Chronicles (Silhouette Romance, No 1705)
The Baby Chronicles (Silhouette Romance, No 1705)
Author: Lissa Manley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/31/2007


The book had a good premise, but I really got sick of listening to the author TELL me, not show me that both hero and heroine are completly tortured people and neither one thinks they can make the other whole until they themselves are whole. It was really tiring listening to the heroine complain about "her flaw."


Beauty: A Retelling of the Story of Beauty and the Beast
Beauty: A Retelling of the Story of Beauty and the Beast
Author: Robin McKinley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 201
Review Date: 4/18/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Beauty is a wonderful re-telling of a cherished love story: Beauty and the Beast. It is the traditional telling of the fairy tale and my only gripe is that it wasn't long enough and sometimes weeks in the story line would be skipped with just a glossing over of the events that occurred. I am looking forward to reading Rose Daughter though.


Bedded By the Boss  (In Love With Her Boss) (Harlequin Presents, No 2434)
Review Date: 10/13/2007


This was a good, quick read. It had a sweet plot and great sex scenes. I finished it fairly quickly. I love Miranda Lee.


The Chick and the Dead (Pepper Martin, Bk 2)
The Chick and the Dead (Pepper Martin, Bk 2)
Author: Casey Daniels
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 175
Review Date: 4/5/2009
Helpful Score: 3


The Chick and the Dead is a great follow up to The Don of the Dead. This mystery picks up right where the last one left off. Pepper Martin works at Garden View cemetery and has the sometimes annoying ability to see and talk to the dead. Especially those who need her help to move on. This particular mystery involves two sisters and what can happen when greed overcomes morals.

This book was hard to put down. Though the outcome always seemed obvious, I never felt 100% certain of the outcome of the book. I finished this one in a day and it was worth it!


The Christmas Feast (Silhouette Special Edition, No 1577)
The Christmas Feast (Silhouette Special Edition, No 1577)
Author: Peggy Webb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 2/1/2009
Helpful Score: 2


The Christmas Feast is easily the worst book I have read so far this year. The heroine who is supposed to be 29 acts more like a teenager still trying to figure out who they are. Jolie/Kat (depending on which character is talking to/about her) is a 29 year old who is going to turn over a new leaf and start being more like her "adult" 35 year old sister who is perfect.

Lance Estes is a man who is so caught up in the fact that he was orphaned at birth isn't much better. He works for the International Security Force and his partner was recently killed and the press is blaming Lance. Lance is also blaming himself. He only realizes that his partner's death wasn't his fault when some long-lost uncle tells him he's a "brave and honorable man."

How Jolie/Kat and Lance end up together is a complete mystery as both are so wrapped up in themselves that their magical love seems unreal. And not in an euphoric way.

This book was a wall-banger. It was gagtastic and there were plenty of eye-rolling moments to be read. Pass on this one unless you're insanely curious, otherwise it's a complete waste of time.


Christmas Mommy
Christmas Mommy
Author: Terry Tower
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/3/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Christmas Mommy is a wonderful short inspirational for the Christmas season. Julie Dennis has agreed to sit her five nephews and niece while her brother and sister-in-law take a much needed trip to the Holy Land. Being an instant mother to five small children under the age of five is going to be tough. Mari Dennis, Julie's sister-in-law, has left very detailed lists to better help Julie with the responsibility she's taken on.

In defiance of Christmas mommy's list, little 3 year old Luke flushes Julie's life line list done the toilet. Julie spends the next week winging it. Along the way, Julie remembers what Christmas is really about. She also reconnects with the man God temporarly called away. Julie and Noah end up working through their differences and getting married on New Year's Eve.

Christmas Mommy was an easy read which was nice after all the Christmas hub-bub. It brought the real reason for the season home.


Confessions Of A Small-Town Girl  (Going Home, Bk 3)  (Silhouette Special Edition, No 1701)
Review Date: 7/11/2006


The book had a slow start, but once the pace picked up, it was well worth the wait. It was a wonderful story about a pastry chef, Kelsey who decides to fulfill one of her biggest teenage dreams and the man who helps her see her goal accomplished, Sam.


A Connecticut Fashionista In King Arthur's Court
A Connecticut Fashionista In King Arthur's Court
Author: Marianne Mancusi
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 4/5/2009


A Connecticut Fashonista in King Arthur's Court is a light and fun time travel. Fashion report Kat Jones is reporting on a medieval fair when a gypsy casts a spell on her and Kat gets knocked back to King Arthur's reign.

The story is a good one. It kept my interest. The writing style was something I'm not used to, but it didn't prevent me from reading the book. It was a twist on the King Arthur tale that I had not heard before.


The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 3336
Review Date: 5/22/2006


I really enjoyed this book. It is a fiction book and is just that. I don't believe the theories in the book but it was still a good book. The plot and suspense were wonderful. However, I really found the end lacking. Those of you who have read it know what I'm talking about! :)


Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 1)
Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 1)
Author: J. R. Ward
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 245
Review Date: 1/29/2009
Helpful Score: 7


Dark Lover was my first paranormal romance. I had a LOT of reservations and I was positive there was no way vampires could in any sense of the word be sexy or romantic. In fact, my mother had read all the books and loved them. But I stuck to my case, no way was I going to like this book. Well, I can say with no shame, that J.R. Ward proved me wrong. I loved it and can't wait to read the other 5.

Dark Lover is about a woman who is about to go through her transisition and the sexy vampire who is going to help her through it. There is a lot of action as far as the Brotherhood having to protect there species. There is a lot of steamy scenes that will probably knock your socks off too. If you have any reservations about reading this book, just give the first book a try. It may change your mind.


Devil's Bargain (Red Letter Days, Bk 1) (Silhouette Bombshell, No 53)
Devil's Bargain (Red Letter Days, Bk 1) (Silhouette Bombshell, No 53)
Author: Rachel Caine
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 6/9/2006
Helpful Score: 2


This book was awesome! I loved it. I finished over half of it at one time trying to find out what lay behind the next dark corner! I would keep it on my keeper shelf if I could convince myself that no one else would want to read it. :) I just got the sequel today in the mail! I highly suggest this book to anyone.


Devil's Due (Red Letter Days, Bk 2) (Silhouette Bombshell, No 73)
Devil's Due (Red Letter Days, Bk 2) (Silhouette Bombshell, No 73)
Author: Rachel Caine
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 11/12/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This one didn't seem to be as good as it's predecessor, but it was still action-packed and non-stop action! This book gives us this side of Lucia's story. The first book was from Jazz's point of view. I was disappointed because we never do find out about Lucia's past. All in all this was a good follow up to the first book.


Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World
Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World
Author: Vicki Myron
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 1/18/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Dewey was a rescue kitten who was found in the Spencer Public Library book drop. The fact that he survived that freezing cold night in January was a miracle. Soon enough the citizens of Spencer, Iowa would learn just what a fantastic cat Dewey was.

Dewey Readmore Books was a cat who behaved like no other. He loved people. He loved making his rounds in the Spencer Public Library and he took his job seriously. He touched each person he spent time with. He brought a smile to the patrons for nearly 20 years.

In my opinion, Dewey was a little on the dry side. It was a good story about a cat who touched people's lives, but I didn't really connect with the story. I certainly laughed out loud a few times (earning scowls from my husband). I finished Marley & Me before I started this book. It's a good possibility that Marley & Me is just a hard act to follow.

Overall, Dewey was a good read, but something I could have lived without reading.


The Dim Sum of All Things
The Dim Sum of All Things
Author: Kim Wong Keltner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 10/13/2007
Helpful Score: 1


The Dim Sum of All Things was to say the least an educational read. It took me quite awhile to even like the book. At first I really disliked it because race played a major part and it made me uncomfortable. Where I live, there isn't much diversity, so I haven't been exposed to the way things can be. (Yes I realize that makes me sound really naive.) Overall, it was a really good read and I have the sequel "Buddha Baby" on my to be read shelf.


Disney at Dawn (The Kingdom Keepers, Bk 2)
Disney at Dawn (The Kingdom Keepers, Bk 2)
Author: Ridley Pearson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/14/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Imagine that you are in Disney World and it's after closing. It's like a dream come true! Or a nightmare if you're Finn Whitman and his group of DHI (Disney Host Ineractive) friends. After their last episode (Kingdom Keepers: Disney After Dark), the DHIs are returning to the Magic Kingdom. During a parade celebrating their return, Finn notices two girls in the crowd. It's Amanda and Jez. He's happy to see them, but they don't look so happy.

During the middle of the parade, funny things start to happen. It appears that the Overtakers are back and they aren't going down so easily this time. It's a race against time and the kids seem to be on their own for the majority of this adventure. Can they save the park and themselves?

Kingdom Keepers II was a lot better than the first one. The best part is, Mr. Pearson left the ending open for a third book in the series, and I cannot wait to get a copy in my hands. Be forewarned this series needs to be read in order.


Don of the Dead (Pepper Martin, Bk 1)
Don of the Dead (Pepper Martin, Bk 1)
Author: Casey Daniels
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 227
Review Date: 3/21/2009
Helpful Score: 2


"Don of the Dead" is the first book in a series by Casey Daniels. It's in first person, and it's hilarious.

Pepper Martin is the only tour guide at the Garden View cemetary. It is her job to inform tourists all about the "residents" at Garden View. One of the most famous being Gus Scarpetti, a mobster who was gunned down 30 years ago. Pepper hit her head against his mausoleum a week or two ago and now she can see him! And he has a favor to ask.

His murder was never solved and now he wants Pepper to solve the mystery. The whole book is funny and light. There's a lot of mob speak and Gus, despite being a mobster, is a real gentelman and you'll become attached to him! This is a great book and I can't wait to get to the rest of the series!


Dreaming of You (Gamblers, Bk 2)
Dreaming of You (Gamblers, Bk 2)
Author: Lisa Kleypas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 371
Review Date: 8/27/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Dreaming of You is a beautiful romance between a shy "country mouse" and then man who owns London but has never known love. This was the first book that I've read by Lisa Kleypas and it won't be my last!


1 to 20 of 85 - Page: