Brandy H. (RomansGirl) - - Reviews

1 to 12 of 12
Review Date: 2/27/2009


Great book. Quick, easy and fun read. I wss prepared to hate her and the beginning of the book had me heading down that road. But what a nice surprise it was to end up on her side and rooting for her. I laughed out loud so many times reading this book. You won't regret picking this one up.


The Bourne Identity
The Bourne Identity
Author: Robert Ludlum
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 2/27/2009


I hate that I saw the movie before reading this book. I loved the movie (Matt Damon, how could I not?). But I LOVE this book. However, I kept getting confused at first while reading because my head was stuck in the movie. The movie is, at best, a loose representation. If you've seen the movie, try to forget about it while reading this book.

This isn't a one day read, but you definately won't want to put it down. It took me some time to get through it but I was really proud of myself for getting through it. I have read part of The Bourne Supremacy but with 4 kids I haven't been able to devote proper attention to it. I'm waiting for summer to hit so I can read it pool side.


Catching Fire (Hunger Games, Bk 2)
Catching Fire (Hunger Games, Bk 2)
Author: Suzanne Collins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1616
Review Date: 3/3/2011


Excellent continuation of the story. Terrifying and gripping all the way to the end.


Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 1)
Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 1)
Author: J. R. Ward
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1406
Review Date: 2/26/2009


A must for paranormal romance readers. Ward is my favorite author and I've read the entire series numerous times.

Steamy and full of action as well.

You'll be dying to get your hands on the next book as soon as you've finished this one.


Elijah (Nightwalkers, Bk 3)
Elijah (Nightwalkers, Bk 3)
Author: Jacquelyn Frank
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 466
Review Date: 2/23/2009
Helpful Score: 10


This is by far my favorite of the series. I'll admit, Jacob (book 1) didn't blow me away. But it was enough for me to read Gideon (book 2), which I also loved.

I haven't enjoyed a series this much since I discovered the Black Dagger Brotherhood series by JR Ward and the Midnight Breed series by Lara Adrian.

I think JF does an excellent job with the love scenes. They do go on for pages and pages (as mentioned by another member) but I think the author does a great job of keeping them hot and original. You'd think writing about that much sex, she'd run out of ideas.

Anyway, hope this review encourages someone else to give this series a try.


Heat Stroke (Weather Warden, Bk 2)
Heat Stroke (Weather Warden, Bk 2)
Author: Rachel Caine
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 328
Review Date: 7/20/2009


I really am enjoying this series. I liked Heat Stroke even better that Ill Wind. It sucked me in right from the beginning and the drama never stopped. If it were a movie, I would have been on the edge of my seat the whole time. I definately plan on reading more of this series.


Hush, Hush (Hush, Hush, Bk 1)
Hush, Hush (Hush, Hush, Bk 1)
Author: Becca Fitzpatrick
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 176
Review Date: 3/3/2011


Fallen Angels are steadily making their mark in paranormal fiction lately. This is the best fallen angel story I've read so far. It's a bit darker than most and that is probably why I enjoyed it so much.


Kiss of Midnight (Midnight Breed, Bk 1)
Kiss of Midnight (Midnight Breed, Bk 1)
Author: Lara Adrian
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 712
Review Date: 2/27/2009


Already a fan of Ward's BDB series, I decided to give this one a try. Kiss of Midnight is the first of Adrian's Midnight Breed series and it's a treasure all on it's own. While similar in style to the BDB books, this series can stand on it's own. Again, it's the perfect combination of studly warrior vamps and sultry mates. Hot for sure.


Kushiel's Dart (Kushiel's Legacy, Bk 1)
Kushiel's Dart (Kushiel's Legacy, Bk 1)
Author: Jacqueline Carey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 500
Review Date: 4/23/2009
Helpful Score: 15


This book has made it's way on to my favorites list. I've started the 2nd book in this series and the 3rd book is already waiting on my shelf at home.

Do not give up early on this book! It does take about a 1/3 of the way through before it hits that "can't put it down" mode. But the history and background in the beginning are necessary.

I promise if you stick with it you will fall in love with the characters and this story. I laughed, cried and was in the "edge of my seat" during dramatic moments in the story.


Kushiel's Justice (Kushiel's Legacy, Bk 5)
Kushiel's Justice (Kushiel's Legacy, Bk 5)
Author: Jacqueline Carey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 11/29/2011


Not my favorite of the series, but still a favorite on my shelf.

Carey is an epic story teller. I've never been completely swept away into a story, into the characters, the setting, the adventure, like I have been in the Kushiel series.

I have vivid dreams while reading these stories and find myself experiencing every high and every low right along with the characters.

With one more book to read in the series I find that I'm sad to see the journey of these characters end. Perhaps I'll just go back to the beginning and ride the ride again.


The Time Traveler's Wife
The Time Traveler's Wife
Author: Audrey Niffenegger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5248
Review Date: 2/26/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This was a book club read for me. And I absolutely loved it. I found the back and forth / time-traveling a bit confusing at first. But then I just made myself let go and just absorb the story. I actually stayed up until 2 am to finish it. I cried and I laughed and I just thoroughly enjoyed this book. I've never read anything else quite like it.


Wicked (Wicked Years, Bk 1)
Wicked (Wicked Years, Bk 1)
Author: Gregory Maguire
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3584
Review Date: 2/26/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Definately one of the best books I've ever read. I fell in love with Elphaba (aka Wicked Witch of the West). It wasn't an easy book to read. I really had to devote time and attention to it to stay on track. But it was soo worth it. You'll never look at the Wizard of Oz the same way again.

I've not read any other books by this author because this one was so difficult to read and I wanted to wait and find out what people thought about his other books before choosing another title to tackle. I will say that I've heard nothing but terrible things about the sequal to Wicked, Son of a Witch.


1 to 12 of 12