Lenore M. (bookstacks) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 35 - Page:
Aliens Stole My Body (Alien Adventures)
Aliens Stole My Body (Alien Adventures)
Author: Bruce Coville
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 6/26/2006


A great romp through space with a mixed crew of aliens who will make you laugh out loud. Part of a series. Get them all!


Atlas of Islands (First Discovery)
Atlas of Islands (First Discovery)
Author: Donald Grant
Book Type: Spiral-bound
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/28/2006


a neat little book with transparent pages allowing children to see what an island looks like in its natural state and with buildings, with pirates and without; with high tide, without; etc.
not much text. think of it as a geography book for pre-kindergarteners to get them interested


Bard: The Odyssey of the Irish (Celtic World of Morgan Llywelyn)
Bard: The Odyssey of the Irish (Celtic World of Morgan Llywelyn)
Author: Morgan Llywelyn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 2/7/2007
Helpful Score: 5


Ancient history at work in celtic tribes in Spain told mostly from the perspective of a bard who longs to make a trip to an island far away. Political manuevering within the tribe for leadership and battle glory is done with careful attention to characters.


Birthright
Birthright
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 609
Review Date: 2/24/2007


Murder, false adoptions, broken love affairs, sordid love affairs, twisted histories...wow.


The Blonde Theory
The Blonde Theory
Author: Kristin Harmel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 1/20/2008


A day's read.
The blonde isn't dumb, she's a partner in a NYC law firm where she combines her love of chemistry and law as a patent attorney. She's not recovering well from a break up and takes on the girlfriends' challenge to try life in the evenings as a dumb blond. It gets interesting.....and has some laugh out loud parts.

Here's the chapter 14 opening graph:
"That night I met Jack Majors for an early dinner at Bistro 49, thoroughly distracted both by thoughts of Jill's husband Alec; and by embarrassment over my encounter with Matt that day. Emmie was, as promised, hunkered over a double latte at the twnety-four-hour coffee shop across from Jill's apartment, and she had promised to text me if and when she saw Alec leave. Until then, I was to go ahead with my date. I tried unsuccessfully to push Matt's infuriating words from my mind."


Capitol Secrets
Capitol Secrets
Author: Maureen Dean
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 8/27/2006


Short chapters, layers of plot, suspense and great characterizations keep this book moving fast. Originally, I picked it up used because it was available, but it's not my kind of book. I will, however, look for more work by author.
The story unfolds through the eyes of:
a congresswoman who wants to be speaker of the house;
columnists checking into her background;
private investigators checking her past for powerful clients;
and an old lover. Murder, politics, romance and old mysteries are all neatly resolved.
A fun read.


The Cat Who Knew Shakespeare (The Cat Who...Bk 7)
The Cat Who Knew Shakespeare (The Cat Who...Bk 7)
Author: Lilian Jackson Braun
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 212
Review Date: 2/7/2007


An afternoon's entertainment.


Country Living The Illustrated Cottage: A Decorative Fairy Tale Inspired by Provence
Review Date: 11/13/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Anyone who has ever undertaken a decorating project will be stunned by what the author created in this home. A magazine editor, this writer had the resources and connections to start from scratch and completely redo a home in the country. Using a storyline of a French family, she moved from room to room with a tromp l'oil painter who created murals and subtle touches that blend with the fabrics, furnishings and architecture of each room.
This book is well balanced between photographs and writing. The book itself is formatted as a story of the characters she used to create the home decor scheme and the a story of the development of the house. It's great fun.


Dragon's Blood (Pit Dragon Trilogy, Bk 1)
Dragon's Blood (Pit Dragon Trilogy, Bk 1)
Author: Jane Yolen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 1/6/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I have read the entire trilogy and love the adventure of it all. The main character struggles against his impoverished circumstances and plots, plans and acts his way out of it while developing an adventurous and fond relationship with his dragon. Great stuff. A good read for fantasy lovers of any age!


Drawing with Children: A Creative Teaching and Learning Method That Works for Adults Too
Review Date: 6/29/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A very encouraging book that seeks to harness a child's creativity and support it. Real children's drawings are featured throughout the lessons with an appreciation for what a child can accomplish.
Author Mona Brooks writes:
"If you feel confident about your drawing but want a vehicle to teach ohers, approach this method with an open mind. If you don't feel confident about your own drawing or your ability to work with children, let me assure you this can change."
I found the book a great resource as a parent and even used it as a scout leader.


The Eagle and the Raven
The Eagle and the Raven
Author: James A. Michener
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/20/2007


This is a biographical account of the lives of Sam Houston and Santa Anna, contemporaries who fought for the US and Mexico over Texas in 1936. A history lesson. It's not a novel.
Writers will place value on Michener's long in which he talks about his life as a writer.


Every Breath You Take (Second Opportunities, Bk 4)
Every Breath You Take (Second Opportunities, Bk 4)
Author: Judith McNaught
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 234
Review Date: 2/17/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Venture into this story and you'll realize the author is a master of setting the stage for a major story. Characters reveal their depth very quickly, the plot is right there for the taking in the first few pages and the scenes advance with style and at a rapid pace. And yet, the book is long enough for a fast reader to enjoy several sittings. A great read. A romance with lots of trepidation and guilt and fate and a glorious ending after a bit more suspense.
I can't wait to get another one of her books.


The Evolution of the World (Revolving Picture Book)
The Evolution of the World (Revolving Picture Book)
Author: David Saville
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/28/2006


Each set of facing pages presents 3-8 paragraphs of scientific info and has a picture opposite. A handle on the picture allows you to change it into something else. Examples: A small fiery gas ball photo disappears and large gas ball appears at the beginning of the book in the Big Bang page.....in the Mammals and Man page a picture of Monkeys and apes in the forest and plains disappear and cavemen appear around the fire.


The Explosive Child: A New Approach for Understanding and Parenting Easily Frustrated, Chronically Inflexible Children
Review Date: 1/6/2007


We couldn't have made it as a family without this book. Nothing we learned from raising an older sibling prepared us for youngest. Worth reading.


FIRST CAME THE INDIANS (First Came the Indians Mkm)
FIRST CAME THE INDIANS (First Came the Indians Mkm)
Author: Ralph Wheeler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/25/2006


A great reference book for kids. Basic information on the lives of these tribes: Creek; Iriquois; Ojibwa; Sioux; Makah; and Hopi. Pen and Ink drawings in black and rust make this a bedtime reader for parents with kindergarten, first grade children


The Grey Beginning
The Grey Beginning
Author: Barbara Michaels
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 2/10/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Surprisingly unpredictable. I was hooked within pages and quickly found I didn't want to put it down.


I Left My Sneakers in Dimension X (Rod Allbright, Bk 2)
I Left My Sneakers in Dimension X (Rod Allbright, Bk 2)
Author: Bruce Coville
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 6/26/2006


My son and I eagerly read Bruce Coville's series of adventures about aliens who rely on a young earthling for help with a series of exciting adventures. Each book was a treasure for us until we ran out of books to read. We waited for almost a year for this one to be published. And we weren't disappointed. Now 18, he still remembers this series fondly. And so do I. It is warm and humorous, fast paced and fun. To me that's what sharing a book with a child is all about.


Lady of Ch'iao Kuo: Warrior of the South, Southern China, A.D. 531 (The Royal Diaries)
Review Date: 6/10/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Written as a diary, this story is told by a young Hsien girl, a princess of the Kingfisher Hill people who live in the Great Forest where the Chinese have established a colony.
The book was more than I expected. Her day to day story of life in a royal family of a small kingdom progresses as she travels back and forth to the home of a Chinese family. There she is taught to read by an elder who challenges her to think in philosophical terms as both the Chinese and her own people face a nearby tribe of brutal raiders. The Dog Heads, dubbed so because they behead and keep their victim's heads as trophies, eventually attack both the colony and her own community.
Based on the life of the title character, this easily read volume is a great insight into a bit of Eastern history. It carries a surprising amount of documented history with it while focusing on a very short portion of this girl's life. Her descriptions of the Kingfisher birds, her family and that of her Chinese foster family, along with her absolute need to come up with a plan to save them all really make this a great read.


Legend of the Jade Dragon (Chintz 'n China, Bk 2)
Legend of the Jade Dragon (Chintz 'n China, Bk 2)
Author: Yasmine Galenorn
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 96
Review Date: 2/1/2008
Helpful Score: 1


A one-day read with a likeable main character, a touch of occult, too much crime and lots of twists and turns. A very interesting mix of conflicts with unsavory mortals and one spiritual character set against a single mom who owns a tea shop that sells fine china and offers tarot card readings and is a respected member of the community. This was book two; I'm backtracking to book one and off to find books three, four and five. I'm happy that she's got another series, too.
This falls under the category of cozy mystery, but it takes a turn through paranormal on the way.


Lola Carlyle Reveals All
Lola Carlyle Reveals All
Author: Rachel Gibson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 290
Review Date: 7/26/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Frivilous and fast moving, this is a good beach book or rainy day read.


1 to 20 of 35 - Page: