Lori L. (keywestlori) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 34 - Page:
At the Mercy of the River : An Exploration of the Last African Wilderness
Review Date: 10/28/2009


I waited a long time to read this book about adventure in uncharted waterways amongst wild animals, natives and the unknown. I wasn't disappointed!


Bread Alone (Bread Alone, Bk 1)
Bread Alone (Bread Alone, Bk 1)
Author: Judith Ryan Hendricks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 8/11/2009


A really fun book! Easy read, I ended up reading the rest of Judith Hendricks books.


The Cat's Pajamas: Stories
The Cat's Pajamas: Stories
Author: Ray Bradbury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/28/2009


Quirky stories from my favorite, old-time scfi writer. I like his Martian Chronicle series better, but this was fun too.


Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir
Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir
Author: Barbara Robinette Moss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 8/11/2009


A heartbreaking but touching poverty stricken story.


Confessions of a Pagan Nun
Confessions of a Pagan Nun
Author: Kate Horsley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 8/11/2009


After three chapters, I still couldn't get into this book.


The Cruelest Miles: The Heroic Story of Dogs And Men in a Race Against an Epidemic
Review Date: 8/13/2009


A great story of courage and determination, learned a lot about the desolation and isolation of Alaska in the late 1880's to the 1920's.


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4420
Review Date: 8/11/2009


One of my favorite, quirky, must read books for it's originality.


The Englishman's Daughter : A True Story of Love and Betrayal in World War I
Review Date: 8/11/2009


Another great war story


Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close
Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close
Author: Jonathan Safran Foer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 274
Review Date: 8/11/2009


AN incredibly different and insightful book, a must read!


Eye Contact
Eye Contact
Author: Cammie McGovern
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 156
Review Date: 8/31/2009
Helpful Score: 1


One of the best books I've read this year...the story grabs you from the beginning! I learned a lot about how autistic children think and act, what motivates them, the real and imagined fears they face. An incredible murder mystery, the best.


The Gravedigger's Daughter (P.S.)
The Gravedigger's Daughter (P.S.)
Author: Joyce Carol Oates
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 8/11/2009
Helpful Score: 1


A long but interesting story of hardship...I usually like Joyce Carol Oates stories and this one was no exception, but not my favorite


The Ice Master : The Doomed 1913 Voyage of the Karluk
The Ice Master : The Doomed 1913 Voyage of the Karluk
Author: Jennifer Niven
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 8/11/2009
Helpful Score: 1


A fantastic story, I regretted putting this book back in the system and should have kept it for my collection!


In a Village Far from Home: My Years Among the Cora Indians of the Sierra Madre
Review Date: 8/24/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I wanted to learn about the Sierra Madre region of Mexico and about it's people and this was the story that caught my attention. The Cora Indians and mestizos have a very different lifestyle and did make for an interesting story, based upon Catherine Finerty's experiences there.


Isaac's Storm : A Man, a Time, and the Deadliest Hurricane in History
Isaac's Storm : A Man, a Time, and the Deadliest Hurricane in History
Author: Erik Larson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 209
Review Date: 8/11/2009


I live in hurricane territory so this book was especially interesting. Great buildup to the final event.


The Island Of The Colorblind
The Island Of The Colorblind
Author: Oliver Sacks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/11/2010


Fascinating story of little known facts...islands of colorblind peoples and the reason fot it


Land of a Thousand Hills : My Life in Rwanda
Land of a Thousand Hills : My Life in Rwanda
Author: Rosamund Halsey Carr, Ann Howard Halsey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 8/10/2009


This is one of the most revealing, honest books on Rwanda from the perspective of before, during and after the genocide. I would definately recommend this book.


The Lost Mother
The Lost Mother
Author: Mary McGarry Morris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 8/10/2009


One of the best books I've read on broken families. Tender and heartbreaking but well worthwhile.


The Mapmaker's Wife : A True Tale of Love, Murder, and Survival in the Amazon
Review Date: 8/10/2009


A fascinating story all and all, but a little slow in parts.


March
March
Author: Geraldine Brooks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 521
Review Date: 8/11/2009


One of my favorites, the alternate story from the perspective of "Mr. March" and the sorrows of war.


Marrying Mozart
Marrying Mozart
Author: Stephanie Cowell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 8/11/2009
Helpful Score: 1


A cute little ditty about the sisters involved with Mozart in his pre-famous days. Lots of fun and a quick read


1 to 20 of 34 - Page: