Regina M. (ginamig) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 77 - Page:
32AA
32AA
Author: Michelle Cunnah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 162
Review Date: 2/23/2007


Cute, predictable but I ended the book with a smile on my face!


The Accidental Virgin
The Accidental Virgin
Author: Valerie Frankel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 156
Review Date: 8/14/2006


This was cute and light reading. Just what a chick lit book is supposed to be.


Alphabet Weekends: Love on the Road from A to Z
Alphabet Weekends: Love on the Road from A to Z
Author: Elizabeth Noble
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 228
Review Date: 9/25/2008
Helpful Score: 8


This book starts with a great premise. Two best friends. One boy, one girl. Girl gets dumped by scum-bag boyfriend of seven years. Boy is sick of being the one to pick up the pieces. Tells girl he loves her and has a great idea. They will play a game called Alphabet Weekends where each weekend they alternate a letter and choose an activity to eventually get girl to fall in love with him.

Good premise.

Even good book.

It would have even better book if the author just stuck to these two main characters, Natalie and Tom.

Instead she writes about all these other characters and relationships and doesn't elaborate on the true premise of the book, Alphabet Weekends.

I ended up liking the book, and loved the fact that it was British (it's been a while since I read a good British Chick Lit book).


An Angel From Hell
An Angel From Hell
Author: Ryan A. Conklin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/3/2011


So I read this book because I remember watching Ryan Conklin on MTV's reality show "The Real World: Brooklyn" and I, like so many others that watched that show remembered that fateful day when he received the notice he was being called back to Active Duty for another tour of Iraq. I remember my heart going out to him then and my heart certiainly went out to him while reading his memoir.

This is the memoir that every young man wanting to enlist needs to read before signing their signature on the dotted line. Brutally honest would be the first words that come to my head while reading this book. Ryan Conklin has written a book that in no way sugarcoats serving in Iraq. Yes, at times I did laugh out loud and there were times that I shed tears but as a whole it was a fantastic account of his Iraqi tour.

A million "Thank You's" go out to every Veteran currently serving throughout branches and throughout the world.


Angelology (Angelology, Bk 1)
Angelology (Angelology, Bk 1)
Author: Danielle Trussoni
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 10/2/2010


I waited to read this book for quite some time. I wanted to love it but simply put the middle of the book stayed with me clouding my judgement. The beginning of Angelology pulled me in. It was fast paced and interesting. The middle was like the book that would not die. I think it was something like almost 200 pages of nothing but backstory. While I can appreciate a backstory in any book this just dragged on and on with conceivably no end in sight. Once I was able to get through the drone the last third of the book picked up considerably and once again made the reading enjoyable. It was probably the book that took me the longest to read this whole year! I wanted to give it a solid 4 stars but because of that hideous middle I'm holding at a solid 3. It's interesting that the ending of the book was anything but and completely left itself open for a sequel, whether I read it or not is something I will have to think about.


Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 3673
Review Date: 2/12/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I am really having a hard time deciding which one I liked better....Angels & Demons or The Davinci Code. Very much like the Davinci Code with conspiracies, spell binding twists and turns...VERY FAST PACED! I couldn't put it down! If you liked Davinci you will like Angels.


Ape House
Ape House
Author: Sara Gruen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 118
Review Date: 12/30/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Simply fantastic! If you liked Sara Gruen's novel "Water For Elephants" you will like this. I was fascinated & could not put it down. Ms. Gruen is a wonderful storyteller."


Are You in the Mood?
Are You in the Mood?
Author: Stephanie Lehmann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 7/28/2006


Good Chick Lit book. I finished in less than 2 days which is unbelievable considering I don't have much time with twins. Quick read, not a lot of thinking...the perfect chick lit combination


The Beach House
The Beach House
Author: James Patterson, Peter De Jonge
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 504
Review Date: 2/20/2007


Excellent!


Big Boned (Heather Wells, Bk 3)
Big Boned (Heather Wells, Bk 3)
Author: Meg Cabot
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 339
Review Date: 8/29/2008
Helpful Score: 4


The 3rd in the Heather Wells series.

I have to say, not as good as the first two but still a worthwhile read.

Where the first two focus more on Heather solving the crimes, this one seemed to almost put that on the back burner. Characters that were prominently featured in the first two just have a one page or so of interaction.

A little disappointing for the series but I still managed to read it in about 4 hours.


The Blind Side: Evolution of a Game
The Blind Side: Evolution of a Game
Author: Michael Lewis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 1/24/2011


I'll admit after seeing the movie, I became intrigued by Michael Oher. The thing to remember with this book is the title says it all. "The Blind Side: The Evolution of a Game." This is not just the story of Michael Oher but an explanation of the changing game of football which made Micheal Oher such a commodity. It was those chapters that I liked the least. I almost can't imagine going into this book with no football knowledge at all. Luckily, I grew up watching many of the names written about. I feel like that story of Michael Oher deserved a solid 4 stars where the "evolution of a game" part deserved a mere 3 stars.


Brava, Valentine (Valentine, Bk 2) (Larger Print)
Brava, Valentine (Valentine, Bk 2) (Larger Print)
Author: Adriana Trigiani
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/7/2011


I read the first book in this series a couple of weeks ago and I almost didn't continue with the series. I thought it was good but I felt like it was lacking something. Brava, Valentine was so much better. Simply put, I LOVED it! At the end of Very Valentine I wasn't at all interested in Gianluca as Valentine's love interest. That all changed in this book. I laughed out loud in numerous parts and could see my family in this book throughout. I am actually disappointed that I have to wait until next year for the third book to be released.


Breaking Dawn
Breaking Dawn
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 11/28/2008


WOW!

Simply amazing!

I actually wish I could give this more than 5 stars! In the few final chapters I actually had to remind myself to breathe!

I jumped right into this series and ended up reading all 4 books within a week. It was nice to see Breaking Dawn come full circle and end the series perfectly. It was funny to see that in Twilight, Edward saves Bella, in New Moon Alice saves Bella, in Eclipse Edward & Seth save Bella and in Breaking Dawn it is Bella who finally saves everyone!

Stephenie Meyer is a genius for the way this series is written. Defintely on my favorite book list now!


Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 210
Review Date: 11/28/2008
Helpful Score: 2


WOW!

Simply amazing!

I actually wish I could give this more than 5 stars! In the few final chapters I actually had to remind myself to breathe!

I jumped right into this series and ended up reading all 4 books within a week. It was nice to see Breaking Dawn come full circle and end the series perfectly. It was funny to see that in Twilight, Edward saves Bella, in New Moon Alice saves Bella, in Eclipse Edward & Seth save Bella and in Breaking Dawn it is Bella who finally saves everyone!

Stephenie Meyer is a genius for the way this series is written. Defintely on my favorite book list now!


Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3520
Review Date: 11/28/2008


WOW!

Simply amazing!

I actually wish I could give this more than 5 stars! In the few final chapters I actually had to remind myself to breathe!

I jumped right into this series and ended up reading all 4 books within a week. It was nice to see Breaking Dawn come full circle and end the series perfectly. It was funny to see that in Twilight, Edward saves Bella, in New Moon Alice saves Bella, in Eclipse Edward & Seth save Bella and in Breaking Dawn it is Bella who finally saves everyone!

Stephenie Meyer is a genius for the way this series is written. Defintely on my favorite book list now!


Call Waiting
Call Waiting
Author: Michelle Cunnah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 3/26/2007


Literally could not put this down! Finished it in about 2 days. The continuation to 32AA!


Claire Voyant
Claire Voyant
Author: Saralee Rosenberg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 3/3/2007


I REALLY enjoyed this book! It was a great chick lit book!


Confessions of a Serial Dater
Confessions of a Serial Dater
Author: Michelle Cunnah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 7/6/2007


The title is so misleading! If you have read Michelle Cunnah's other titles than you are on the same story & path from before. If you liked her other work you will not be disappointed by this one!


Dead in the Family (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 10)
Dead in the Family (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 10)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 752
Review Date: 5/12/2010
Helpful Score: 6


I've come to expect great things with each book in the Sookie Stackhouse series and simply put Charlaine Harris' latest was a disappointment. Yes, I liked it but at times it was boring and I found myself having to read bits and pieces because I would just simply drift off. This book just fell flat on her usual suspenseful writing style. I must say though, best comment of the book goes to Pam with her, "F**k a zombie!"


Dead to the World (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 4)
Dead to the World (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 4)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2231
Review Date: 8/24/2011


Hmmm it's hard for me to write a review on this today. This was probably my least favorite of the series so far but having said that I still think with each book in the Southern Vampire series it gets better than the last.

Personally, I didn't like the new cursed, nice Eric. I found him boring. The fact that Sookie finally sleeps with him and begins to love him was the only redeeeming quality with Eric. Well that and the fact that the curse was eventually broken and we get the old, smart-ass Eric back constantly trying to get in her pants. My other issue is that Bill is back for all of 1/2 chapter and then there is no mention of where he goes at all (after the battle).

It's disappointing that this one didn't hold my interest quite as much as the others but I still think it's a fantastic series to follow.


1 to 20 of 77 - Page: