Reviews - Shannon C. (Shannon)

1 to 20 of 62 - Page:
Ain't She Sweet?
Ain't She Sweet?
Author: Susan Elizabeth Phillips
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 287
Review Date: 3/14/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"It was cute. I am not normally a reader of romance books, but a friend recommended this one to me. A quick read."


Always the Bridesmaid
Always the Bridesmaid
Author: Whitney Lyles
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 2/14/2006
4 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Easy read. For anyone who has ever been a bridesmaid to the "bridezilla," you will love this book! I was the bride first in my circle of friends, but since then have been the bridesmaid in a number of weddings and I am very thankful that my days as a bridesmaid are almost over! Iteniraries, horrible dresses, ugly shoes you will never wear again, money you will see again... It is all in this book and very easy to relate to! Enjoyable book to read."


Babyville
Babyville
Author: Jane Green
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 144
Review Date: 4/14/2006


"A fun book to read."


Baggage
Baggage
Author: Emily Barr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 5/24/2006


"This book was interesting. I was hooked into the "mystery" of the main character and had to find out what her past was all about."


Bed Rest
Bed Rest
Author: Sarah Bilston
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 9/20/2006


"Fun, quick read."


Best of Friends
Best of Friends
Author: Cathy Kelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 3/21/2007


"Wonderful story of friendship, families, love and hope."


Bet Me
Bet Me
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 865
Review Date: 11/24/2006


"Cute, fun book."


Boy Meets Girl (Boy, Bk 2)
Boy Meets Girl (Boy, Bk 2)
Author: Meg Cabot
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 390
Review Date: 5/13/2006
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This was a fun, easy to read. I liked the format that the book is written in (emails, phone calls, IMs, interoffice memos) -- definitely different from the normal book, but yet still engaging and interesting."


Break No Bones (Temperance Brennan, Bk 9)
Break No Bones (Temperance Brennan, Bk 9)
Author: Kathy Reichs
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 193
Review Date: 11/24/2006


"Another good book by Reichs."


Cane River
Cane River
Author: Lalita Tademy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 5/12/2006


"Very interesting book about Southern history. Good read!"


Chloe Does Yale
Chloe Does Yale
Author: Natalie Krinsky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 6/4/2006


"Interesting and fun. There were times when the book was slow, but for the most part, it was a pretty good book."


Cocktails for Three
Cocktails for Three
Author: Madeleine Wickham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 428
Review Date: 7/8/2006


"I loved this book. Although I am a fan of the "shopaholic" books, I thought that the characters in this book were more "real" than the "shopaholic." Maybe because I am not a shopper. I do enjoy the "shopaholic" books, but I loved this book.

I enjoy reading books that deal with friendships and how these relationships ebb and flow over time and through different circumstances. I especially like books that have "real" characters that face real situations.

The mother character, Maggie, went through many of the same things that I did as a first time mom, so it was great to see that "real" mom versus the "sugary-sweet" characters that gloss over what being a first time mother can really be like. Jennifer Weiner's books are also like this, so add Wickham to the list of authors that can portray real characters. I highly recommend this book!!"


Confessions of a Nervous Shiksa
Confessions of a Nervous Shiksa
Author: Tracy McArdle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 11/4/2006


"Light read. Had its moments."


Crooked Hearts
Crooked Hearts
Author: Patricia Gaffney
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 5/12/2006


"Fun and entertaining!"


The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 3285
Review Date: 5/12/2006


"Excellent book! I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was a great mystery and I loved all of the religious controversy interwoven into the story line. It was very interesting and a definite page-turner!"


Daughter of Fortune
Daughter of Fortune
Author: Isabel Allende
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 345
Review Date: 5/12/2006


"Very interesting read! I enjoyed learning about the culture and lifestyle of the main character. Strong female lead."


Diary of a Mad Bride
Diary of a Mad Bride
Author: Laura Wolf
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 340
Review Date: 5/24/2006


"A definite read for anyone who has been a bride, thinking about becoming a bride or knows someone who is a bride. Told from the perspective of a crazy bride, this book tells of all the craziness that a bride endures as she plans for her special day. I have to say that it makes me glad that I shelled out the extra dollars to hire the wedding coordinator! Money well spent, in my opinion! This book was funny and poignant."


Diary of a Mad Mom-to-Be
Diary of a Mad Mom-to-Be
Author: Laura Wolf
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 6/18/2006


"Fun book to read. Especially if you, or anyone close to you, has been pregnant. I liked the "Diary of a Mad Bride-to-be" better, but sequels usually aren't as good as the originals. I shared a few parts of this book with my book club this evening and we shared several laughs and "too true!" moments. :)"


Diary of a Working Girl
Diary of a Working Girl
Author: Daniella Brodsky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 11/4/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Easy read, but I found the main character to be really superficial and it got to be annoying after awhile."


Did the Earth Move?
Did the Earth Move?
Author: Carmen Reid
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/10/2006


"A fun, light read."


1 to 20 of 62 - Page: