Jean M. (ChiWeenie) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 70 - Page:
16 Lighthouse Road (Cedar Cove, Bk 1)
16 Lighthouse Road (Cedar Cove, Bk 1)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 131
Review Date: 8/5/2014


I've watched this TV series on Hallmark since the first episode so I wasn't sure I'd enjoy the book. If anything, I enjoyed the book more than the series. I've never read Debbie Macomber before but I thoroughly enjoy her writing style. This was a perfect summer read for me and I've requested all the other books in this series.


4th of July (Women's Murder Club, Bk 4) (Large Print)
4th of July (Women's Murder Club, Bk 4) (Large Print)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 8/13/2007
Helpful Score: 1


The Women's Murder Club is at it again and most of this novel centers on Detective Lindsay Boxer. Lindsay is on leave from the San Francisco Police Department and the change of scene leaves behind her "posse". Needless to say where Lindsay goes you find plenty of action. She comes full circle by finding clues to an unsolved murder from her years as a rookie. There are twists and turns a plenty. Just when I thought I'd figured out the case, James Patterson threw me a curve ball. This is a terrific vacation book, the chapters are short (a Patterson trademark).


7th Heaven (Women's Murder Club, Bk 7)
7th Heaven (Women's Murder Club, Bk 7)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 211
Review Date: 12/14/2016


This is a typical Patterson book with a surprise ending. His books are an easy read with short chapters. This one has three cases going at the same time but there's no problem following each case.


Aunt Dimity and the Deep Blue Sea (Aunt Dimity, Bk 11)
Aunt Dimity and the Deep Blue Sea (Aunt Dimity, Bk 11)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 6/13/2012


This is probably my least favorite in the Dimity series. I seems that the author built up the story line with the unseen attacker but she never developed his character which is key to the reader. The actual entry of this "evil" character was far too short and left the author trying to tie up the loose ends during a dialogue section at the end.


Aunt Dimity Digs In  (Aunt Dimity, Bk 4)
Aunt Dimity Digs In (Aunt Dimity, Bk 4)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 1/29/2011


Lori meets a handsome man while under assignment to evaluate a book collection. She falls under a spell - for him or is it something more sinister? A good read for Dimity fans.


Aunt Dimity's Death (Aunt Dimity, Bk 1)
Aunt Dimity's Death (Aunt Dimity, Bk 1)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 243
Review Date: 6/27/2010


Wonderful start to an enjoyable series. This is definitely a "tea and shortbread cookie on a bad weather day" book. I look forward to the second book.


Before I Wake
Before I Wake
Author: Dee Henderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 195
Review Date: 2/8/2007


I believe this is part of a series. The main character is Rae Gabriella picking up the pieces of her life after a traumatic event. This is well written and has made me eager to read the preceeding books.


Birds of Prey (J. P. Beaumont, #15)
Birds of Prey (J. P. Beaumont, #15)
Author: J. A. Jance
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 141
Review Date: 7/24/2007


I don't think I've ever been disappointed with J.A. Jance. This was a great summer vacation book. Well written, moves along smoothly, good story line and had enough clues to keep you guessing.


Born in Fire / Born in Ice / Born in Shame (Born In, Bks 1-3)
Born in Fire / Born in Ice / Born in Shame (Born In, Bks 1-3)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 5/20/2013


I don't think Nora Roberts ever disappoints her readers. This trilogy, based in Ireland, is so good. You care about the characters and you want them to have that happy ending. I love the girls with some fire in their character and how she has to meet one special man to tame her, so I guess I enjoyed the first work the best. But the other two are well worth the time invested in the reading. Take this one on vacation and you are set for many happy hours on the beach!


Breaker's Reef (Cape Refuge,  Bk 4)
Breaker's Reef (Cape Refuge, Bk 4)
Author: Terri Blackstock
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 2/3/2007


A satisfying conclusion to this series. I have become a Terri Blackstock fan.


The Cat Who Talked Turkey  (Jim Qwilleran Feline Whodunnit, Bk 26) (Large Print)
Review Date: 2/16/2007


Is it just me or has Braun wandered too far from the mystery in her books and now it's centering more on Quill's life in Moose County. I've read every one of her books and I tend to really enjoy her earlier works but not so much her last few. There wasn't enough character building of the murderers to make me care who did it.


Classic Whodunits
Classic Whodunits
Author: Stanley Smith, Tom Bullimore, Derrick Niederman, Hy Conrad, Tatjana Mai Wyss
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 8/16/2007


Short scenerios with clues and you guess whodunit.


Cross Bones (Temperance Brennan, Bk 8) (Abridged Audio CD)
Cross Bones (Temperance Brennan, Bk 8) (Abridged Audio CD)
Author: Kathy Reichs
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 5/6/2013


I enjoyed having this on audio book because I could listen to it at work. The story was really interesting with the action based in Isreal. I'd suggest this for anyone who has an interest in the Temperance Brennan series.


Dangerous Sanctuary (Camp Hope #1)
Dangerous Sanctuary (Camp Hope #1)
Author: Lois Richer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 4/17/2007


Terrific second offering in the Cape Hope series. I passed it around in our office and those who read it throughly enjoyed it.


Daughter of the Loom (Bells of Lowell, Bk 1)
Daughter of the Loom (Bells of Lowell, Bk 1)
Author: Judith Miller, Tracie Peterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 8/11/2014


I love Tracie Peterson and this book did not disappoint. I am anxious to read the next in this series.


Discovering God's Purpose for Your Life
Discovering God's Purpose for Your Life
Author: Beth Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 7/27/2016


This is a smaller book so I will include a second Beth Moore "The Promise of Security" / two in one order.

I've done so many Beth Moore studies and I can attest she's made a change in my life.


Distant Shores (Southern Tides, Bk 3)
Distant Shores (Southern Tides, Bk 3)
Author: Gary Parker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/31/2012


I enjoy historical based fiction so this series was really enjoyable for me. The characters are full of life I did care about the outcome of their stories. I lived in South Carolina for six years and became very familiar with the southern attitudes towards the Civil War. I could distinctly relate to the storyline in these books. And Gary Parker can write a good love story for both the women and the men in the books.


A Dog's Purpose A Novel for Humans
A Dog's Purpose A Novel for Humans
Author: W. Bruce Cameron
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/7/2014


Once I got past the idea that this dog lived several lives, I really got caught up in his relationships with the humans in his lives. I have to admit shedding a couple tears and the end brings this story full circle.


Don't Take Any Wooden Nickels (Million Dollar Mysteries, Bk 2)
Don't Take Any Wooden Nickels (Million Dollar Mysteries, Bk 2)
Author: Mindy Starns Clark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 4/24/2012


Clark writes a good Christian novel that builds suspense and yet her characters have an easy manner, more like the folks next door rather than the gritty detective on TV. I wanted to read this from beginning to end and I'm requesting another by this author.


The Eagle Catcher (John O'Malley, Bk 1)
The Eagle Catcher (John O'Malley, Bk 1)
Author: Margaret Coel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 2/16/2016


As a fan of Tony Hillerman and his Navajo mysteries, I thought I would never find another writer of his level who would write Native American mysteries. Now I've discovered Margaret Coel and her Father John O'Malley series. I'm working my way through her works and, to my surprise, I like her work just as much as Hillerman. The series takes place on the Wyoming Wind River Reservation and it gives me a historical view of the Arapaho Nation. These are books that I can't put down, even if I know "who done it". If you like Hillerman, you'll like Coel.


1 to 20 of 70 - Page: