April T. (jakdtipton) - Reviews

1 to 8 of 8
Armageddon: The Cosmic Battle of the Ages (Left Behind, Bk 11)
Review Date: 5/27/2011


I have really enjoyed this entire series. There are other authors out there that write better, but the fact that these books are based on the Bible makes up for that. I love having an image in my head of how the book of Revelation works. This book has been harder to get through than the rest of the series, not because of the writing, but because of the events that happen in this part of Revelation. This is where it gets ugly and you're glad you are saved and will be raptured before any of this happens.


The Best Christmas Pageant Ever
The Best Christmas Pageant Ever
Author: Barbara Robinson, Judith Gwyn Brown (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 12/11/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This is an excellent book for young or old. It's wonderful for teaching the REAL Christmas story in a sneaky and humorous way. It is great for teaching compassion and tolerance.


The Garden of Abdul Gasazi
The Garden of Abdul Gasazi
Author: Chris Van Allsburg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/3/2010


Chris Van Allsburg is an excellent writer and illustrator!


Judy Moody Was In a Mood. Not a Good Mood. A Bad Mood. (Judy Moody, Bk 1)
Review Date: 10/7/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I am a third grade teacher and I read this book to my class. They loved it! It has some really good humor in it, but not a lot of crude humor (which my third graders prefer!) It's a great book to read at the beginning of the school year.


The Stranger
The Stranger
Author: Chris Van Allsburg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 12/19/2009


I love to read this book to my 3rd graders and have them try to figure out who the stranger is. We usually assume that it is Jack Frost or Winter. Chris Van Allsburg is a wonderful author whose stories are refreshing and different and who illustrations offer a new perspective to his stories.


Two Bad Ants
Two Bad Ants
Author: Chris Van Allsburg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 12/31/2011


This is one of my favorite books! The illustrations are amazing! I love how the kids have to figure out where the ants are. It introduces perspective and point of view! Wonderful book!


We the Kids: The Preamble to the Constitution of the United States
We the Kids: The Preamble to the Constitution of the United States
Author: David Catrow
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/19/2012


Great book! I love how it translates the constitution into words kids can understand.


The Widow's Broom
The Widow's Broom
Author: Chris Van Allsburg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/5/2010


Great story for children (and adults who love children's books!) Chris Van Allsburg's book are always off the beaten path and the illustrations are wonderful.


1 to 8 of 8