Shawn L. (MomLog) - Reviews

1 to 15 of 15
23 Minutes in Hell
23 Minutes in Hell
Author: Bill Weise
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 146
Review Date: 3/28/2011


A very thought-provoking book, filled with Bible references and quotations from some very sound, Bible teachers. Recommended reading for both Christians and non-Christians.


The Blessed (The Gifted, Bk 3)
The Blessed (The Gifted, Bk 3)
Author: Lisa T. Bergren
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 10/7/2010


This book is a fitting end to the series. I did not enjoy it as much as the previous two, however; the plot seemed rather forced in places and predictable in others. Throughout the series, I found character development quite thin. The previous books in the series left some untied ends that needed satisfying, and this book tied things up well. I was left wondering about the characters' futures and I'd like to see another series that follows after this one, perhaps with the children from these three novels. I would recommend this series to readers who don't care much about delving into the time period for history's sake, but rather for light reading.


Buffalo Wings
Buffalo Wings
Author: Aaron Reynolds
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/7/2010


My 5-year old daughter gives this two thumbs up, as do I! The humor is edgy and enjoyable for the adult reading the book for the child, and the child finds the humor funny. We haven't yet tried the recipes, but they do sound yummy. This book is in a similar vein as Doreen Cronin's "Duck" series, another of our favorites.


Don't Breathe a Word
Don't Breathe a Word
Author: Jennifer McMahon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 102
Review Date: 3/19/2012
Helpful Score: 1


A well-written story, it grabbed me from the beginning. I had not read any creepy stories for quite a long time before this one, so this story REALLY gave me the creeps! The author knows her craft and this is one of very few novels I have read that effectively alternates between two time periods. However, I don't intend to read any other novels by the author. The revelations and ending stuck with me rather like the odor of chopped garlic on my hands.


Gianna: Aborted... and Lived to Tell About It (Living Books)
Gianna: Aborted... and Lived to Tell About It (Living Books)
Author: Jessica Shaver
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 3/22/2011


This biography is a powerful story of a young woman who lives her life with strength, courage and determination despite some physical limitations. I recommend this book.


The Glass Castle
The Glass Castle
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3401
Review Date: 3/22/2011


I've read this twice now, from different perspectives of what was happening in my life at the time, and got something out of it each time. I think Jeannette Walls is a good writer; she gives just a good amount of description to provide a sense of her experiences without getting bogged down in too much detail. I do question whether all the things she writes about truly happened, or if they are her interpretations of events of the past, colored (as they are for all of us) by a child's understanding of the world. I recommend this book to those who enjoy biographies of unusual people.


The Judge Who Stole Christmas
The Judge Who Stole Christmas
Author: Randy D. Singer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 11/6/2011


I enjoyed this quick-read. It re-visited several characters from a few of Singer's previous novels. It's a story that reminded me that none of us really know the internal thoughts of another, and that others' lives on the outside are often very different in private. Singer is great at creating tension in his reader, leading up to a satisfying conclusion. I greatly appreciate Singer's understanding of current legal-religious-social issues.


The Kindness of Strangers: Penniless Across America
The Kindness of Strangers: Penniless Across America
Author: Mike McIntyre
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/10/2014


Wow! Mike McIntyre's writing is so smooth! I read this on my Kindle and found it difficult to put down (thankfully, I can brush my teeth and hold the Kindle at the same time)! He shows the best of America--that there are true treasures among the people of our nation. But he must be a treasure himself to get such interesting people to open up to him and tell him their stories. He shows that everyone has a story to tell. Just a fascinating read, and one that made me reevaluate how I perceive others.


Literature Guide: Julie of the Wolves (Grades 4-8)
Literature Guide: Julie of the Wolves (Grades 4-8)
Author: Jean Craighead George
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/12/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I used this as a home schooling aid for my 5th grade daughter. I thought it was helpful and had good, creative ideas for responding to JULIE OF THE WOLVES. The map activity was the least helpful--it was recommended after Part 1 of the book, but referenced events the end of the novel, so we did it after my daughter read the entire book. I liked most two activities: a presentation on Eskimo customs, which my daughter researched, and an end-of-book report in a box. I am not a very creative home schooling mom, so this book was good for me to use for my more creative daughter. I will check into other Literature Guides by this publisher, since I enjoyed using this one so much. I intend to save this copy to use with my youngest daughter in a few years.


Little House on the Prairie (Little House, Bk 2)
Review Date: 3/22/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I just read this book to my daughters for their first time. They absolutely loved it! I read the whole series when I was in late elementary school and middle school, and again as an adult, and what I enjoyed then was the descriptions of the Ingalls' family life. My daughters enjoyed that aspect, too. Now as a parent, I have a greater appreciation for the courage of Pa and Ma Ingalls to live the lives of pioneers. My daughters and I have moved on to the next book in the series, "On the Banks of Plum Creek". Our evening reading time is one of the best parts of the day!


Oogy: The Dog Only a Family Could Love
Oogy: The Dog Only a Family Could Love
Author: Larry Levin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 11/21/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed OOGY. It is a positive, uplifting story about the rescue and rehabilitation of a dog. It's also a small peek into the heart of a man, the author, Larry Levin. His compassion and humanity are examples to follow.


Plainsong
Plainsong
Author: Kent Haruf
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 450
Review Date: 3/28/2011


I really enjoyed Kent Haruf's writing style: plain unadorned, nevertheless deeply moving and poetic. The story, set in a small American town, resonates with the desire for belonging to a family.


Sister Eve, Private Eye (Divine Private Detective Agency, Bk 1)
Sister Eve, Private Eye (Divine Private Detective Agency, Bk 1)
Author: Lynne Hinton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 7/5/2016


I neither disliked nor liked this story. Set in north-central New Mexico, my stomping grounds, I was intrigued enough to have it on my PBS wish list for awhile. Character development was pretty good, as was the author's treatment of the relationship between Sister Eve and her dad. The story just seemed lacking in enough details to make me care much about the story's elements and characters. For a more exciting read in the "Nun-Detective-in-New-Mexico" category, I recommend Aimee and David Thurlo's Sister Agatha series.


Spindle's End
Spindle's End
Author: Robin McKinley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 105
Review Date: 5/31/2011


This novel, a retelling of the fairy tale, "Sleeping Beauty," was imaginative but rambling. The story line did not flow well because of the many asides and background information McKinley inserts. I felt it needed a large amount of editing to tighten it up. The characters were well developed, however. But overall, I found myself becoming tired of the rambling background inserts and had to skim over much of it in the last third of the book. A better fairy tale retelling by McKinley is "Beauty".


Though None Go with Me
Though None Go with Me
Author: Jerry B. Jenkins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 2/25/2014


The concept intrigued me--a strong Christian woman's faith. However, this novel was such a downer for me. Sure, Christians absolutely have difficulties in this life, and the Lord provides the strength to persevere. But this poor woman had everything from several lifetimes happen to her! As each event unfolded, I kept waiting for some sort of resolution. I wasn't encouraged by reading it--too depressing.


1 to 15 of 15