Pat C. (PC) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 20
Allen and Mike's Really Cool Backpackin' Book: Traveling  camping skills for a wilderness environment
Review Date: 11/2/2010


For a beginning backpacker there is plenty of information that could save you from an unpleasant trip or even prepare you for that long one. And some may find the book's examples and figures amusing. I haven't done lots of trips but have done a couple of week long ones along with several multiple day and the usual weekend or overnight camp-outs. But for me the book provides very little new much less useful information. I'm biased and like a tent, for light trips I wear tennis/trail shoes and not boots, and find some of the other examples/advice such as a candle in a plastic bag laughable. The best items, which I perhaps should but don't follow, are to wear gaiters when walking in wet and muddy terrain and wear two pairs of shocks with one pair probably being a thin one.


Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 3674
Review Date: 3/8/2011


Dan Brown book. If you like him then you will like this. Enough to hold your attention but nothing great.


The Appeal
The Appeal
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 433
Review Date: 3/8/2011


I like Grisham and find his tales interesting with enough suspense to keep me turning the pages sometimes not paying attention to the time of night or early morning.


Built to Last : Successful Habits of Visionary Companies (Harper Business Essentials)
Review Date: 3/8/2011


There are some interesting items in here about what should/could be done but I found it geared more toward a larger and to me, appeared to be a little dated.


The Cat Who Had 14 Tales (The Cat Who...)
The Cat Who Had 14 Tales (The Cat Who...)
Author: Lilian Jackson Braun
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 129
Review Date: 3/8/2011


I've probably read most/all of these books, sometimes more than once since they are enjoyable and a fast read. Given that, I wouldn't recommend this since it seemed more like something thrown together to make a buck then worthwhile stories. Just my opinion though.


Dragon Fire (Stony Man, No 49)
Dragon Fire (Stony Man, No 49)
Author: Don Pendleton, Mike Linaker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/8/2011


Number 49, any question about what the plot will involve or who will win? A quick read and enjoyable if you like this type of book.


False Memory
False Memory
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 626
Review Date: 1/16/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This is the book that may cause me to NEVER read another Koontz book and I have read many enjoying most a lot. Perhaps I am getting old and don't see the need for graphic sex/violence. My imagination is just fine, thank-you. Also it seems other books have shown that this is not necessary for him to use to provide a scary story. After a couple hundred pages I quit reading this, enough, there are too many other books to read to waste my time on what I consider trash.


Fat Ollie's Book (87th Precinct, Bk 52)
Fat Ollie's Book (87th Precinct, Bk 52)
Author: Ed McBain
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 1/16/2008


Not much to say about this other than it is not one of this best and in my opinion is not worth wasting your time on.


Fudge Cupcake Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 5)
Fudge Cupcake Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 5)
Author: Joanne Fluke
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 8/10/2010


Enjoyable reading not requiring a lot of thinking along with some good recipes. This is a mom-readable book. In other words there is no sex, no swearing, and no explicit violence. This is a bit racier than "The cat who" books but not by much. And perhaps the only reason one might consider it racier is that Hannah dates two guys keeping them on the hook through these books. Not sure if this changes but so far it hasn't. Being male, perhaps this is a bias showing?


Fun Works: Creating Places Where People Love to Work
Fun Works: Creating Places Where People Love to Work
Author: Leslie Yerkes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/3/2008


Perhaps it is my age, 50's, but the examples and the "fun" don't work for me. It may also be my profession - software/hardware quality assurance. Although over the years I've learned it is better to keep things lite when telling someone their baby is ugly. I also did not like her writing style and cannot put a finger on exactly why. Sorry for an incomplete review, just didn't like the book.


Maze: A Riddle in Words and Pictures
Maze: A Riddle in Words and Pictures
Author: Christopher Manson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 11/2/2010


Not amused by it, not interesting enough to me to spend any more time to find out if I would be challenged by it before making it to the end, and perhaps it is just my age that this is boring and not entertaining or interesting. I wouldn't recommend it nor give this as a present to anyone unless they asked for it.


Odd Thomas (Odd Thomas, Bk 1)
Odd Thomas (Odd Thomas, Bk 1)
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1019
Review Date: 7/20/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This is the book that really got me started reading Koontz. The main character is interesting, the other characters are fleshed out and are a part of the story, and of course the premise and follow through maintain your interest. So if you are interested in a well written "ghost" story then this is a good one. Note this is not a ghost story per se, except for Elvis, the evil spirits aren't people. I don't know the timelines on this, did "Dead like me" come first or this. Some of these have a similar theme so who had the original idea and who expanded/improved on it is really something I don't care about since the good ones are just that - good and to be enjoyed.

I do have a problem with authors/movies merely recycling there heroes and not being creative and doing something new. With "Odd Thomas" the second book was readable again while the third killed me off of ever buying another sequel or prequel to this.


Olive Kitteridge
Olive Kitteridge
Author: Elizabeth Strout
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 884
Review Date: 7/14/2010


Sometimes books annoy me when there are blatant grammar and spelling errors. This one did not offend me in that manner. I read the whole thing wondering when I would find why it is so highly rated. I still haven't found out why and have stopped trying to figure it out. Different tastes for different people.


Peach Cobbler Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 7)
Peach Cobbler Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 7)
Author: Joanne Fluke
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 111
Review Date: 11/2/2010


Normal enjoyable cooking murder mystery with a woman who wants to date the same multiple guys and new ones where needed for the plot, but doesn't accept/like them going out with other women. Getting old now so perhaps in one of the later books she settles for one or moves on to others.

At this point I may stop reading them but haven't decided for sure since I do like these type of simple small town stories. Lillian Jackson Braun and the Koko and YumYum are a favorite also. After finishing Anne Rice's "Interview with a Vampire" I can't help myself and need to say that Fluke has Hannah comment on others use of the the English language. There are worse writers and editors out there who don't have major mistakes in their stories but this series is not one of them. I probably won't read another of Anne Rice's novels because I don't really care for the characters and plot but for the pure enjoyment of a well written book this one is highly recommended and assume her others are equally well done. Fluke usually has multiple places where I shiver at her word usage, punctuation, and/or phrasing.

Note: Ding me all you want for my phrasing, punctuation and or word usage but I am merely attempting at conveying my opinion and realize I have many shortcomings when using, or speaking, this convoluted, confusing, and at times very frustrating language that is American English.


The Perfect Storm: A True Story of Men Against the Sea
The Perfect Storm: A True Story of Men Against the Sea
Author: Sebastian Junger
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 388
Review Date: 1/16/2008


If you have seen the movie and want to be entertained then this is probably not the book for you. This goes into aspects of the weather, background of the area, and other facts that aren't covered by the movie. Guess you could call it character development for the ocean, weather, and wind that came into making the perfect storm.


The Richest Man in Babylon
The Richest Man in Babylon
Author: George S. Clason
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 3/8/2011


Not sure why this is rated so high. Most is common sense and guess the story is an easy way to get it across. Also perhaps considering when it was written gives it a higher rating, who knows. I'd say look to get it from the library since you won't want to keep it. Just my opinion again.


The Spice Box (Spice Box, Bk 1)
The Spice Box (Spice Box, Bk 1)
Author: Lou Jane Temple
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 8/10/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Enjoyable reading not requiring a lot of thinking along with some good recipes. This is a mom-readable book. In other words there is no sex, no swearing, and no explicit violence. This is a bit racier than "The cat who" books but not by much.


The Walking Deck: 50 Ways To Walk Yourself Healthy
The Walking Deck: 50 Ways To Walk Yourself Healthy
Author: Shirley Archer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 0.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/20/2010


For a beginning walker this would provide some information and offer a variety of techniques and exercises to try out which may help in both getting into better shape as well as keep you from getting bored with the same old thing every time. If you are already knowledgeable about exercise concerning walking and happy with what you are doing then this offers very little as is the case for me and why I rated it so low. As a beginner I may have gone to 3 stars on it.


Wicked (Wicked Years, Bk 1)
Wicked (Wicked Years, Bk 1)
Author: Gregory Maguire
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3587
Review Date: 7/14/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Not the best thing to give a poor review to a book you are trying to swap but that is unfortunately the case again. Liking the original as well as the musical along with the feeling that this could be an interesting read, didn't turn out that way. I have a bad habit of continuing to read a book until the end even though there is no reason to. For me the characters weren't all that interesting (the possibility was there but unfulfilled) and I really didn't care about them. Mainly wished for the book to end. It was well written (words and grammar) but who cares about that if it is the only good thing to say about it in a work of fiction.


Words That Work: It's Not What You Say, It's What People Hear
Words That Work: It's Not What You Say, It's What People Hear
Author: Frank Luntz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 1.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/10/2010


I am biased totally against this guy who to my reading is proud of the fact that he helped Bush and others cause probably the worst financial collapse in decades. He is a conservative but for money he has helped Dems also. So he is a lowlife who has great skill with words. My bias against him is preventing me from finishing the book. If one can swallow this lowlife then his writing ability is evident and he may be able to help you become one also.


1 to 20 of 20