Vicki H. - Reviews

1 to 17 of 17
Ace of Spades: A Memoir
Ace of Spades: A Memoir
Author: David Matthews
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/8/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I loved this book, which I read in one sitting. This is a gripping and heartbreaking memoir of growing up biracial in a very racially divided inner city Baltimore of the 1980s. David was the son of a Jewish woman and a well-known black nationalist and journalist of the civil rights movement. His mother abandoned him when he was a baby, and he was raised by his father and his father's succession of girlfriends (some affectionate, others brutally abusive to David). A personal and take-no-prisoners history of child abuse, abandonment, racial identity confusion, passing for white and living to tell the tale. 5 stars, an excellent read that will stay with you for weeks (if not longer). An excellent selection for book clubs too.


The Cat Who Saw Stars (Cat Who...Bk 21) (Audio Cassette) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 9/23/2008


I ordered this book from PBS and received an abridgement. Please, if you are selling this book on cassette, make sure you are listing the UNABRIDGED version under this ISBN, not an abridged version. This will alleviate a lot of frustration for many members on PBS.


Don Quixote: The Ormsby Translation, Revised Backgrounds and Sources Criticism (Norton Critical Edition)
Review Date: 5/25/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is one of the best English translations available to anyone unable to read this beautiful novel in the original Spanish. Dr. Jones was one of my professors in college, and his revision of the Ormsby translation brings the English text much closer to its Spanish original. I have read the Quijote a couple of times in the original Spanish (for class - and it made me decide to major in Spanish, that is how powerful this book is). This is the only English translation of it that I ever recommend.


English Grammar for Students of German
English Grammar for Students of German
Author: Cecile Zorach
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/19/2006


Good condition; title page stamped "desk copy" and has bookplate stamp inside. No water damage, and is not an ARC.


His Dark Kiss (Dark Gothic, Bk 2)
His Dark Kiss (Dark Gothic, Bk 2)
Author: Eve Silver
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 115
Review Date: 2/3/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This dark and suspenseful historical romance will leave you on the edge of your seat! This book is by the author of Dark Desires. I look forward to more novels from this author.


Love Will Find You: 9 Magnets to Bring You and Your Soulmate Together
Review Date: 3/14/2015


This is Kathryn Alice's print book from a few years ago, and she has since published several other ebooks on the same topic. I have purchased and read all her books and ebooks and they all provide very solid information and encouragement. This book explores the way in which you can use the law of attraction and raise your vibration to soulmate level to attract your ideal mate. The examples of clients she has worked with are peppered throughout her work, and are very entertaining and encouraging. Five stars!


Manifesting Love: Call Forth Your Soulmate
Manifesting Love: Call Forth Your Soulmate
Author: Kathryn Alice
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/14/2015


Kathryn Alice has published several books/ebooks, audio CDs and online courses on how to find your soulmate. I have purchased and read all her books and ebooks and they all provide very solid information and encouragement. This CD explores the way in which you can use the law of attraction and raise your vibration to soulmate level to attract your ideal mate. Five stars!


Million-Dollar Love-Child (Uncut) (Harlequin Presents, No 2582)
Million-Dollar Love-Child (Uncut) (Harlequin Presents, No 2582)
Author: Sarah Morgan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 2/3/2007
Helpful Score: 1


More sizzling than the traditional Harlequin Presents novel. A definite addition to your "keeper" pile.


My Only Love
My Only Love
Author: Cheryl Holt
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 2/3/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Cheryl Holt writes sensual and provocative romances. This historical romance will be a definite addition to your "keeper" pile.


One Is the Sun
One Is the Sun
Author: Patricia N. Warren
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 2/4/2007


A historical novel of Indian spiritual teaching and of women dedicated to goddess Earth. The author grew up on a Montana ranch. She was an editor of Readers Digest for 22 years, and also published 8 books. One Is the Sun took 8 years to research and write, and challenged Patch Warren to re-think "traditional" views of Native American and immigrant experience.


Reluctant Mistress, Blackmailed Wife (Greek Tycoons) (Harlequin Presents, No 2580)
Reluctant Mistress, Blackmailed Wife (Greek Tycoons) (Harlequin Presents, No 2580)
Author: Lynne Graham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 2/3/2007


One of Harlequin Presents' Greek Tycoon series. A wonderful book, for all who love glamorous international settings.


Stone Kiss (Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus, Bk 14)
Stone Kiss (Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus, Bk 14)
Author: Faye Kellerman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 144
Review Date: 2/3/2007


I haven't read this book in the series yet, but I have read the first two in Faye Kellerman's Rina Lazarus and Peter Decker series and they are very absorbing books. You won't regret this purchase!


Tame Me (Silhouette Desire)
Tame Me (Silhouette Desire)
Author: Caroline Cross
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 2/3/2007


Bestselling author and winner of numerous awards, including the RITA award from Romance Writers of America, Caroline Cross never disappoints, and this book is no exception.


The Tycoon's Hidden Heir (New Zealand Knights, Bk 3) (Silhouette Desire, No 1788)
The Tycoon's Hidden Heir (New Zealand Knights, Bk 3) (Silhouette Desire, No 1788)
Author: Yvonne Lindsay
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 2/3/2007


Powerful, passionate and provocative!


Veronica (Vintage Contemporaries)
Veronica (Vintage Contemporaries)
Author: Mary Gaitskill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 2/3/2007


Excellent contemporary literary novel, set in the fashion world of 1980s New York. Finalist for the National Book Award. Excellent choice for book groups, or for anyone who just loves a good read.


Viva Las Bad Boys
Viva Las Bad Boys
Author: Helenkay Dimon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 2/3/2007


3 sizzling contemporary romance novels set in Las Vegas. A fun read for your next casino vacation!


The Year of Yes
The Year of Yes
Author: Maria Dahvana Headley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 5/8/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I got to hear the author speak and get my book signed at a recent book festival. She is as engaging and funny in person as she is in her book. I had no idea she was in her 20s until I read the book, she seems more mature (maybe that is why she married a man so much older than herself? Maybe I should put *spoilers* here...). Her book is very funny and engaging, and sounds like all the dating mistakes most people make in their 20s. I am in my 30s, and still single, but maybe if I had been more of a risk-taker like Ms. Headley I wouldn't still be alone! 5 stars for humor, entertainment value, and nostalgia for my lost youth *sob* (just kidding).


1 to 17 of 17