Jeanne G. (IlliniAlum83) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 156 - Page:
11th Hour (Women's Murder Club, Bk 11)
11th Hour (Women's Murder Club, Bk 11)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 7/15/2012
Helpful Score: 1


2 big cases stress Lindsay as she deals with her first pregnancy and Joe's increased trips away. The "girls" are all into the serial killer mystery when unearthed remains are discovered on the back porch of a well-known Hollywood star's San Francisco mansion. Acquitted years ago of his missing wife's murder, the star now resides with his new fiancé on a yacht, but refuses to sell the historic mansion in case Cecily ever reappears and comes looking for him. A search of the rear gardens leads to more gruesome discoveries and the SFPD can only suspect Harry Chandler whom they still believe got away with murder when Cecily disappeared.
While Lindsay and Rich interview potential serials, their boss, Lt Brady, insists they stay on top of another front-page case---that of the vigilante shooter who's been killing drug dealers using 22 caliber guns stolen from the police evidence locker. Brady fears a member of the force is behind this crime spree and Boxer and Conklin have to consider if someone they've worked closely with could be responsible.

Though 2 good cases are presented to solve, the unrealistic set-up of Lindsay dealing with so multiple personal issues at the same time just doesn't ring true.


12th of Never (Women's Murder Club, Bk 12)
12th of Never (Women's Murder Club, Bk 12)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 10/16/2014


disappointing! SPOILERS follow--
The gang is back, each of the 4 women dealing with their own crisis, either at work or at home. As always, this was a quick read with Patterson's infamous short chapters.......sometimes only 2-3 pages.
Very unrealistic situation surrounding Lindsay's recovery from the birth of her first child following a birth at home with the help of firemen. Apparently she returns to work after just 3 weeks!
A new female character is introduced who is interning at the homicide dept with Conklin and Lindsay. Makes for an interesting twist.

But book just ends with an unresolved case..........you want to immediately read #13, which of course is a WL wait !


Against Medical Advice
Against Medical Advice
Author: James Patterson, Hal Friedman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 8/19/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This book really called out to me to read it, but I kept putting it off with almost 300 books in my TBR. But it was such a fast read, I'm sorry I waited so long.

Typical Patterson with many, many chapters, some only 2-3 pages, written with the help of Mrs Friedman's journals on the many treatments they tried to help their son.

This book tells the terrrifying true story of one family's saga of 13 years of dealing with their son's out-of -control Tourette's syndrome and OCD which spirals into nictotine and alcohol addiction which turns out to be the only "drug" that seems to give him some relief and let him sleep.
Any family that has been thru years of doctoring for a child's chronic illness will recognize the fear and torment they go through as the doctors and specialists try one drug cocktail after another to try to reduce the tics and OC repetitive motions that plague this intelligent young man.
Their final solution should astound you and make you question our loyalty to the medical profession.

Why did I not rate this book higher?
I found the chronology to be out of whack so that near the beginning they are discussing taking 17 yo Cory to alcohol rehab, then jump back to where he is much younger. Then story seems to flow in proper time sequence til he hits Jr and Sr High School then bounces around again without proper date references for you to go by.

Also there were vague references to Cory being home-schooled at times when his behavior was too disruptive to be in a classroom, but there is never any mention of him actually doing school work at home except for some college-level courses he takes online as a teenager. He repeatedly says his mom is his hero, she gave up writing and her job to stay with him, he says she was always sticking up for him, but there are almost no examples of that til his critical Jr year in HS and NO mention of her teaching him at home at all til the shool conference that year. I find it commendable that she recorded his long litany of medications with outcomes and side effects, but for any medical mystery this is what you should do......and she is a writer.
So it just left me as a good story that could have been written in a much better way.


Against Medical Advice: A True Story (Large Print)
Against Medical Advice: A True Story (Large Print)
Author: James Patterson, Hal Friedman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/18/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This book really called out to me to read it, but I kept putting it off with almost 300 books in my TBR. But it was such a fast read, I'm sorry I waited so long.

Typical Patterson with many, many chapters, some only 2-3 pages, written with the help of Mrs Friedman's journals on the many treatments they tried to help their son.

This book tells the terrrifying true story of one family's saga of 13 years of dealing with their son's out-of -control Tourette's syndrome and OCD which spirals into nictotine and alcohol addiction which turns out to be the only "drug" that seems to give him some relief and let him sleep.
Any family that has been thru years of doctoring for a child's chronic illness will recognize the fear and torment they go through as the doctors and specialists try one drug cocktail after another to try to reduce the tics and OC repetitive motions that plague this intelligent young man.
Their final solution should astound you and make you question our loyalty to the medical profession.

Why did I not rate this book higher?
I found the chronology to be out of whack so that near the beginning they are discussing taking 17 yo Cory to alcohol rehab, then jump back to where he is much younger. Then story seems to flow in proper time sequence til he hits Jr and Sr High School then bounces around again without proper date references for you to go by.

Also there were vague references to Cory being home-schooled at times when his behavior was too disruptive to be in a classroom, but there is never any mention of him actually doing school work at home except for some college-level courses he takes online as a teenager. He repeatedly says his mom is his hero, she gave up writing and her job to stay with him, he says she was always sticking up for him, but there are almost no examples of that til his critical Jr year in HS and NO mention of her teaching him at home at all til the shool conference that year. I find it commendable that she recorded his long litany of medications with outcomes and side effects, but for any medical mystery this is what you should do......and she is a writer.
So it just left me as a good story that could have been written in a much better way.


Against Medical Advice (Large Print)
Against Medical Advice (Large Print)
Author: James Patterson, Hal Freidman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/18/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This book really called out to me to read it, but I kept putting it off with almost 300 books in my TBR. But it was such a fast read, I'm sorry I waited so long.

Typical Patterson with many, many chapters, some only 2-3 pages, written with the help of Mrs Friedman's journals on the many treatments they tried to help their son.

This book tells the terrrifying true story of one family's saga of 13 years of dealing with their son's out-of -control Tourette's syndrome and OCD which spirals into nictotine and alcohol addiction which turns out to be the only "drug" that seems to give him some relief and let him sleep.
Any family that has been thru years of doctoring for a child's chronic illness will recognize the fear and torment they go through as the doctors and specialists try one drug cocktail after another to try to reduce the tics and OC repetitive motions that plague this intelligent young man.
Their final solution should astound you and make you question our loyalty to the medical profession.

Why did I not rate this book higher?
I found the chronology to be out of whack so that near the beginning they are discussing taking 17 yo Cory to alcohol rehab, then jump back to where he is much younger. Then story seems to flow in proper time sequence til he hits Jr and Sr High School then bounces around again without proper date references for you to go by.

Also there were vague references to Cory being home-schooled at times when his behavior was too disruptive to be in a classroom, but there is never any mention of him actually doing school work at home except for some college-level courses he takes online as a teenager. He repeatedly says his mom is his hero, she gave up writing and her job to stay with him, he says she was always sticking up for him, but there are almost no examples of that til his critical Jr year in HS and NO mention of her teaching him at home at all til the shool conference that year. I find it commendable that she recorded his long litany of medications with outcomes and side effects, but for any medical mystery this is what you should do......and she is a writer.
So it just left me as a good story that could have been written in a much better way.


The Alehouse Murders (Templar Knight, Bk 1)
The Alehouse Murders (Templar Knight, Bk 1)
Author: Maureen Ash
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 5/27/2009
Helpful Score: 4


I'd been reading a lot of historical fiction after a long period of only mysteries and thrillers, but had studied the Templars for a class so was fascinated to discover 2 series of mysteries from different authors that combined all these themes/genres. This was the first I've read, but will search out more by her and her compatriot, Michael Jenks. Loved the blending of my faves.


The Alice Behind Wonderland
The Alice Behind Wonderland
Author: Simon Winchester
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/11/2016


Disappointing 'bio' of Charles Dodgson, pen name Lewis Carroll, famous for writing the 2 'Alice' books which have spawned a plethora of cartoons and movies, including the upcoming sequel "Through the Looking Glass'.
The book keeps teasing you, making you think it's going to thoroughly investigate the rumors that Dodgson had 'feelings' for little girls-- with most evidence based upon all the time he spent with young children, including much time photographing them. But the book turns into a complete history of the 'new' hobby or career of photography. It even details who or what appeared in Dodgson's numbered photos but fails to share any of them but the provokingly revealing one of a young Alice Liddell.
For those looking for a good read about the Liddell family or Alice who inspired the Wonderland stories, look elsewhere.


The Alienist
The Alienist
Author: Caleb Carr
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 543
Review Date: 3/2/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Another good historical detective novel by Carr in which the birth of "forensics" is again explored.
Placed in "sin city", the NY of the late 1890's, a team appointed by chief of police, Theodore Roosevelt (before he becomes President) is made up of 2 Jewish detectives who happen to be brothers, a gun-toting female police secretary, a playboy crime reporter, and the good doctor ( the alientist-- the old fashioned name for therapist/psychologist/psychiatrist) and his servants.
They track a serial killer whose victim profile and killing methodology helps them form a profile of the suspect they are looking for. As they deduce probable careers for the rooftop seeking monster, they discover how his unhappy childhood led him to kill the way he does.
A great read for anyone who enjoys the TV series "Criminal Minds".


The Angel of Darkness
The Angel of Darkness
Author: Caleb Carr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/22/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Enjoyable though Looooong (over 700 pages) story of historical crime fighting in late 1800's NYC. Team led by a psychologist (alienist) works to solve a kidnapping that soon leads them to the discovery that a serial killer of children is on the loose. An interesting look at how psychology was viewed by law enforcement, the courts, etc in the early days of the science. Introduces "forensics" as a way to help solve crime, though the courts did not consider it to prove "beyond reasonable doubt".
Though it bogged down in the middle, the last 3rd of the story had me reading faster to see if justice would be served.


Another Monster at the End of This Book (Jellybean Books) (Sesame Street)
Review Date: 7/9/2012
Helpful Score: 1


not as good as the original, but has the added treat of little Elmo joining Grover in the search for the monster at the end of the book. another great book for the reader to make the character voices come to life.


Bag of Bones
Bag of Bones
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 810
Review Date: 9/4/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Couldn't believe over 700 pages for a non-serial fiction story, but it was needed to cover all the details of this haunted mystery. I didn't think eveything could be explained as I neared the end, but it all tied together neatly without giving the answer away early. I really liked it and quickly read it in 3 days. More ghostly doings than gore which I appreciated.


Beach Road
Beach Road
Author: James Patterson, Peter de Jonge
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 487
Review Date: 8/25/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I re-read this due to increased interest in it again by other readers and just as I remembered, it was a great who done it and legal drama. It has everything-- romance, murder, police corruption, drug dealing, celebrities, and small town attitudes-- and it all takes place in the Hamptons and NYC where my sister lives and works so it gave me a personal tie-in to the locale described! A fast read with very short "chapters" from different characters' viewpoints.


Between Shades of Gray
Between Shades of Gray
Author: Ruta Sepetys
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 10/30/2013
Helpful Score: 1


A disappointing YA book of historical fiction that tells the story of the Russian occupation of Eastern Europe before the Nazis took over and the imprisonment of 'intellectuals' and others considered enemies of the state by the Stalin regime.

I assume becasue it is YA much of the more intense torture and any rapes that would have occurred in reality were left out of this novel. But the sense of degradation and horror come through in the mistreatment of the dead, random shootings, and poor care of the 'inmates' as they are transported cross-continent to Siberia by truck and train.

A relatively unstudied area of history for many years, this book at least makes a start to let young people know of the Russian slaughter of 20 million people under Stalin while the Nazis were annihilating Jews and others in Europe. Survivors kept silent for DECADES after their release because they were still under the control of the USSR, and only felt comfortable speaking about their experiences once their countries were free again.


Beyond the Body Farm: A Legendary Bone Detective Explores Murders, Mysteries, and the Revolution in Forensic Science
Review Date: 3/13/2013
Helpful Score: 2


Good non-fiction book that reads like a fiction mystery/thriller. Fans of the TV shows CSI and Bones will enjoy this book where each chapter is like a lesson in a different forensic technique or tool (such as DNA, using sonar to search for a body underwater, etc) Yet it's not like a tech manual for scientists, very easy reading.


Black Notice (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 10)
Black Notice (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 10)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 148
Review Date: 9/19/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Not up to Cornwell's usual standards. Good detective story throws in an unneeded romp between the sheets that contributes nothing to the story.
Marino's slovenly ways and unprofessional behavior are getting old and tiresome--too much just to have a "colorful character" helping Kay solve crime. Would have been nice to see him take the rookie detective under his wing and guide her.
And again, Lucy's abuse of force in reaction to crisis is unrealistic and her juvenile disappearing acts and refusal to communicate with those who care about her would disqualify her from the security clearance needed to do the jobs she's assigned, whether undercover or to carry weapons-- any law enforcement officer who did what she does over and over again would be out on paid medical leave for psych treatment.
Sadly, I'm taking a break from the "Dr Kay" series.


Blair Witch: The Secret Confession of Rustin Parr
Blair Witch: The Secret Confession of Rustin Parr
Author: D.A. Stern
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 11/9/2010
Helpful Score: 1


A good start to researching the Blair Witch story after seeing the film. Book involves primary players surrounding the disappearance of 8 children, 7 of whom are discovered murdered and buried, the confessor the accused murderer tells the truth to the night before his execution, and the novelist who has penned books on the subject. Partly told thru journal entries that lead up to the confessor's death ( a former priest who marries, but whose interest in the evil doings in the Maryland hills continues).

The end of the book is somewhat disappointing as the mystery of the serial killings remains, leaving only hints as to who really tortured and killed the Burkittsville 7.


Blood and Chocolate
Blood and Chocolate
Author: Annette Curtis Klause
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 5/8/2009


Fans of the Twilight vampire series should like this too! Read the book and avoid the movie.


The Boleyn Inheritance (Tudor Court, Bk 2) (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 5/7/2009


Interesting format with the 3 girls taking turns telling the story. Not as gripping as The Other Boleyn Girl, but a nice one to read after it.


Bones of the Lost (Temperance Brennan, Bk 16)
Bones of the Lost (Temperance Brennan, Bk 16)
Author: Kathy Reichs
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 6/26/2014


A good story with a focus on one of Reichs' social justice issues.
Includes a trip to Afghanistan with hazardous duty for Tempe so she can evaluate whether the shooting deaths of 2 Afghan civilians was justified or not.......a Jr officer's career hangs in the balance.
Plus Tempe and Pete's daughter has enlisted and is one of the first female combatants approved by the US military. So we get a small peek at what the mother of a soldier in combat goes through when her child is deployed.
Tempe continues her battle with Slidell of the homicide squad at Charlotte PD....one of the characterizations I'm not happy with in the Bones series of novels. But they do solve the case so it is a sucessful partnership.
The love triangle continues with Pete and Ryan, but takes an interesting turn.....'nuff said.


Bones to Ashes (Temperance Brennan, Bk 10)
Bones to Ashes (Temperance Brennan, Bk 10)
Author: Kathy Reichs
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 323
Review Date: 5/11/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Another "Bones" story set in Canada, but tied to Tempe's fond childhood memories of summers with grandma at Pawley's Island in the Carolinas. Less forensics and more good ole' detective work without too much of the relationship garbage that ruins some of Reichs' other books for me. Tempe's sister Harry plays a major role in this who-done-it and she's an interesting character. Poetry analysis adds a new twist. But I could do with less French (or MORE translation)!


1 to 20 of 156 - Page: