Janet H. (tranquility) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 26 - Page:
50% Off Murder (Good Buy Girls, Bk 1)
50% Off Murder (Good Buy Girls, Bk 1)
Author: Josie Belle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 102
Review Date: 6/13/2016


Enjoying the cozy mystery story this spring. It is a fun read about some neighborhood gals that enjoy shopping and each others company. There are always a few not so friendly neighbors in the small town, and mysteries are to be found. A good read for mystery fans for light reading this summer.


All He Ever Wanted
All He Ever Wanted
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 320
Review Date: 6/2/2011


This book was very interesting to read...I really can see how a marriage can go very wrong when two people have such different outlooks on their union and such deception can lead no where but trouble for all involved.
I felt it was worth reading and always enjoy this authors stories.


The Art of Mending
The Art of Mending
Author: Elizabeth Berg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 7/8/2011


Good book to read in the summer.
Likeable characters and good story line.


A Better Yesterday: Living Life After Abuse
Review Date: 6/2/2011


I am familiar with this fellow's writings, as he wrote often on an email site I subscribe to. It was interesting to hear his personal story in his own words on his life and how he overcame such a sad childhood.


Bingo Night at the Fire Hall: Rediscovering Life in an American Village
Review Date: 6/2/2011


This was an interesting, but different book and I enjoyed this persons story on her life when she moved to a new neighborhood and how it changed through the years.


Butter Safe Than Sorry (Pennsylvania Dutch Mystery with Recipes, Bk 18)
Review Date: 5/6/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This book was interesting, a light read with some interesting recipes scattered throughout. The author has
a wacky sense of humor, and the heroine is running an inn
in Amish country. She has an odd assortment of relatives
she interacts with that keep her busy and diverted from
her mission. A comedic mystery and I found it a good
change from the usual serious mysteries out there.


Cold Sassy Tree
Cold Sassy Tree
Author: Olive Ann Burns
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 111
Review Date: 6/2/2011
Helpful Score: 1


A good book with old time characters, it was also made into a Hallmark movie, but the book is well worth reading.


Eden Close
Eden Close
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 251
Review Date: 5/5/2012


Excellent book as usual, from the first page to the last.


Espresso Tales (44 Scotland Street, Bk 2)
Espresso Tales (44 Scotland Street, Bk 2)
Author: Alexander McCall Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 7/8/2011


Good book to read, makes you want to meet the people in the story and find out more when you are finished.
It is a good interesting series with likeable characters and I would recommend reading the books in order.


Finding Ian
Finding Ian
Author: Stella Cameron
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 1/12/2012


Enjoyed the book. Well written and interesting storyline and subjects. Would recommend it as a good read for cold winter's days. Takes place in Great Britain and the characters were interesting, especially in their reaction to "yanks" as they defend their way of life in small villages.


Firefly Summer
Firefly Summer
Author: Maeve Binchy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 228
Review Date: 9/19/2014


This book was really interesting, although I enjoy all Maeve Binchy books...she wrote a fascinating story about a group of young people and how they all related to their families and the small community they grew up in there in Ireland. It had a surprising conclusion and although the story is lengthy, it is well worth your time spent reading this book.


Friends, Lovers, Chocolate (Isabel Dalhousie, Bk 2)
Friends, Lovers, Chocolate (Isabel Dalhousie, Bk 2)
Author: Alexander McCall Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 6/2/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Good book in the series, it should be read in order with the others, I liked the main character and her life in a Scottish village and how she lives her life.


The Hiding Place
The Hiding Place
Author: Trezza Azzopardi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 10/14/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I read the book and was really glad the children survived their terrible childhood, what a sad family and how they were all affected by their upbringing! So many of their siblings were in denial of what had really happened as their treatment by their parents was so shocking and they were unable to handle the memories...it was a well written book but a disturbing subject.


Jane Austen Ruined My Life (Jane Austen, Bk 1)
Jane Austen Ruined My Life (Jane Austen, Bk 1)
Author: Beth Pattillo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 9/7/2012


It was an interesting book, mild romance,enjoyed it for a light read.


Joy School
Joy School
Author: Elizabeth Berg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 193
Review Date: 7/19/2011


Good book. Interesting for young readers.


Little
Little
Author: David Treuer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 6/2/2011


An interesting book on life on the "Rez" and how the people relate to one another. It is amazing how the author pictures the life of native Americans in Minnesota. Well worth reading.


Mother of Pearl
Mother of Pearl
Author: Melinda Haynes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 6/2/2011


This book takes place down south, and was an interesting book that my book club read one month, it features the growing up years of the girl "Pearl" and how she lived her life, and her many adventures.


No! I Don't Want to Join a Book Club: Diary of a Sixtieth Year
No! I Don't Want to Join a Book Club: Diary of a Sixtieth Year
Author: Virginia Ironside
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 1/17/2012
Helpful Score: 1


A funny book,very interesting if you like diaries.
I liked the character mostly although her view of life is
alot different from mine, rural vs. British city-dweller.
I would recommend it for a fun read and liked the characters she has for neighbors and friends.


The Pull of the Moon
The Pull of the Moon
Author: Elizabeth Berg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 138
Review Date: 7/8/2011


Good book for summer reading, liked the story and the characters and how they handled their problems.


The Secret of Lost Things
The Secret of Lost Things
Author: Sheridan Hay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 4/24/2014


Interesting book about a young girl who comes to New York to begin her life after her mother passed away. She has never experienced life on her own and it was good to see her give travel and new experiences a chance. I would recommend this story as it is a good read.


1 to 20 of 26 - Page: