Debbie B. (debs) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 390 - Page:
24 Hours (aka Trapped) (Mississippi, Bk 2)
24 Hours (aka Trapped) (Mississippi, Bk 2)
Author: Greg Iles
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 346
Review Date: 7/2/2011


Engrossing story. Excellent character development. There was a movie based on this book called "Trapped" with Kevin Bacon (Joe Hickey), Courtney Love (Cheryl), Charlize Theron (Karen), Stuart Townsend (Will), and Dakota Fanning (Abby).


311 Pelican Court (Cedar Cove, Bk 3)
311 Pelican Court (Cedar Cove, Bk 3)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 478
Review Date: 7/31/2006


Engrossing tale in the "Cedar Cove" series. Precedes her "44 Cranberry Point" novel. Better to read this one first and then cranberry point.


44 Cranberry Point (Cedar Cove, Bk 4)
44 Cranberry Point (Cedar Cove, Bk 4)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 6/29/2006


I enjoyed reading the book - it kept my interest. One thing I did NOT like about it was that it left you with a 'cliffhanger' - a storyline that was completely unresolved. This forces you to buy the next book in her "series". Hate when authors do this!


4th of July (Women's Murder Club, Bk 4)
4th of July (Women's Murder Club, Bk 4)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 9/15/2006


Excellent page-turner - couldn't put this book down.


61 Hours (Reacher, Bk 14)
61 Hours (Reacher, Bk 14)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 299
Review Date: 10/17/2010


Another great Reacher story. (SO much better than the last one, "Nothing to Lose", which imho was the one blight on the series). This was fast-paced and engrossing and kept me up till the wee hours because I just couldn't put it down. Shocking ending that had me shouting "What just happened??" and going back and re-reading the last 5 pages. The clock ticking down the 61 Hours increased the the suspense; kept you guessing.


99 More Unuseless Japanese Inventions: The Art of Chindogu
99 More Unuseless Japanese Inventions: The Art of Chindogu
Author: Kenji Kawakami, Dan Papia
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/23/2007


As I was reading this book, I kept saying to myself "HOW did someone come up with this??" Some of these 'inventions' are jaw-dropping, others make you laugh. All are surely very entertaining.


Abandoned (Smoky Barrett, Bk 4)
Abandoned (Smoky Barrett, Bk 4)
Author: Cody McFadyen
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 5/22/2011


Continuation of the Smoky Barrett series. Gripping, suspenseful, can't-put-it-down excellent thriller.


Abduction
Abduction
Author: Robin Cook
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 12/22/2007


This is one of my all-time favorite books. I have the paperback on my shelf and have read it 4 times! (I know - "loser", right? lol) It is an engrossing account of what the lost city of Atlantis might be like if we ever were to find it, with great character development, and such detailed descriptions that you feel like you are right there with the characters. Has just the right amount of science fiction to keep scifi fans interested too. True, it's not typical Robin Cook (whose other books I love as well). Fantastic, shocking ending.

I am dying to see a movie made out of this book.


Abduction
Abduction
Author: Robin Cook
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 171
Review Date: 12/22/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This is one of my all-time favorite books. I have the paperback on my shelf and have read it 4 times! (I know - "loser", right? lol) It is a great story of what the lost city of Atlantis might be like if we ever were to find it, with great character development, and such detailed descriptions that you feel like you are right there with the characters. Has just the right amount of science fiction to keep scifi fans interested too. True, it's not typical Robin Cook (whose other books I love as well). Fantastic, shocking ending.

I am dying to see a movie made out of this book.


Abduction
Abduction
Author: Robin Cook
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 12/22/2007


This is one of my all-time favorite books. I have the paperback on my shelf and have read it 4 times! (I know - "loser", right? lol) It is a great story of what the lost city of Atlantis might be like if we ever were to find it, with great character development, and such detailed descriptions that you feel like you are right there with the characters. Has just the right amount of science fiction to keep scifi fans interested too. True, it's not typical Robin Cook (whose other books I love as well). Fantastic, shocking ending.

I am dying to see a movie made out of this book.


Absolute Fear (New Orleans, Bk 4)
Absolute Fear (New Orleans, Bk 4)
Author: Lisa Jackson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 332
Review Date: 12/26/2012


this book keeps you on your toes from start to finish. Some interesting, unexpected twists.


Absolute Power
Absolute Power
Author: David Baldacci
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 375
Review Date: 5/25/2011


Loved it! A real page turner.


The Accident: A Thriller
The Accident: A Thriller
Author: Linwood Barclay
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 6/9/2016


Excellent page-turner with some unexpected twists.


An Accidental Woman (Blake Sisters, Bk 2)
An Accidental Woman (Blake Sisters, Bk 2)
Author: Barbara Delinsky
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 4/11/2008


really enjoyed this story. The characters are well-developed and her style of writing really draws you into the story and makes you care what happens to each of them. (Unfortunately didn't read "Lake News" first, but liked this one so much that I have ordered it from pbs!)


Acts of Mercy (Mercy Street, Bk 3)
Acts of Mercy (Mercy Street, Bk 3)
Author: Mariah Stewart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 6/10/2010


Excellent addition to the Mercy Street series; a page-turner for sure. Some really good twists and I like that they continued the secondary story of Robert's search for his family. Definitely read Mercy Street (book 1) first, as it will give you a complete background of the main characters as well as the Mercy Street Foundation. Yes, this book 3 will stand on its own, but it will enrich the reading experience to read book 1 first.

Don't know if the other ISBN's of this book have the epilogue at the end; this one does. There's a short blurb from the author at the end addressed to "Dear Walmart Reader" explaining why she wrote it, and then she includes the 10-page epilogue.


The Affair (Jack Reacher, Bk 16)
The Affair (Jack Reacher, Bk 16)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 154
Review Date: 2/24/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This story takes place in 1997 -- before most (if not all) of the rest of the Reacher series takes place. He's still very much immersed in the Army as a Major/MP (military police) and is doing undercover investigative work. The story unfolds at just the right pace, revealing each piece of the puzzle methodically without being over-plodding. Not my absolute favorite in the series (I've read them all) but a solid 3.5*. Once I was into the story, I couldn't put it down.


Alert (Michael Bennett, Bk 8)
Alert (Michael Bennett, Bk 8)
Author: Michael Ledwidge, James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 7/20/2016


Good page-turner, keeps your interest from the first page. Family side-storyline keeps it grounded.


All Dressed in White (Under Suspicion, Bk 2)
All Dressed in White (Under Suspicion, Bk 2)
Author: Mary Higgins Clark, Alafair Burke
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 11/5/2016


enjoyed this story, good page-turner. Interesting twists keep you guessing.


All the Way Home
All the Way Home
Author: Wendy Corsi Staub
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 11/13/2009


Good story, never drags - some very surprising twists!


Alone (D. D. Warren, Bk 1)
Alone (D. D. Warren, Bk 1)
Author: Lisa Gardner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 650
Review Date: 10/22/2010


Story had suspense from page one, all the way through. Couldn't put it down because I HAD to know what was going to happen next. Ending could have been a bit more drawn-out, but it too had a good level of suspense.


1 to 20 of 390 - Page: