Tamara P. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 23 - Page:
All Around the Town
All Around the Town
Author: Mary Higgins Clark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 356
Review Date: 4/8/2007
Helpful Score: 2


A fast-paced and exciting read about a young girl who is kidnapped, returned, and later develops multiple personalities from her ordeal and is accused of murder.


Bodymind
Bodymind
Author: Ken Dychtwald
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/8/2007


Interesting book I read for my Theatre Movement class concerning the mind/body connection and relationship.


Bread Alone (Bread Alone, Bk 1)
Bread Alone (Bread Alone, Bk 1)
Author: Judith Ryan Hendricks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 2/11/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I LOVE this book! One of my favorite books for a rainy day, it tells the story of a woman starting over after her divorce. She moves west, works in a bakery, remembers her summer in France learning the art of bread-making, and finds herself again. A wonderful read, well-written, and a real page-turner.


Chocolat
Chocolat
Author: Joanne Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 233
Review Date: 2/24/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed "Chocolat" - the author's descriptions and imagery are fantastic! It is set in a French village, and Harris take you there.


Dandelion Wine
Dandelion Wine
Author: Ray Bradbury
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 2/24/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I love this book! I actually have several copies on hand to loan to friends. The prose is fresh and Bradbury-esque, and reading it makes me feel like I'm ten years old again at the start of my summer vacation.


Gathering Blue (Giver, Bk 2)
Gathering Blue (Giver, Bk 2)
Author: Lois Lowry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 303
Review Date: 2/24/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I read this book because it was the sequel to Lois Lowry's "The Giver." While it didn't affect me as much as "The Giver," I still found it to be an interesting read, and one that could appeal to a variety of ages.


Hannibal (Hannibal Lecter, Bk 3)
Hannibal (Hannibal Lecter, Bk 3)
Author: Thomas Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 714
Review Date: 4/8/2007


I liked "Silence of the Lambs" and "Red Dragon" better, but this continuation of the story was still thrilling and unpredictable.


Hinds' Feet on High Places
Hinds' Feet on High Places
Author: Hannah Hurnard
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 150
Review Date: 4/8/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This was a good read and reminded me of "Pilgrim's Progress" the childrens version.


I Know This Much Is True
I Know This Much Is True
Author: Wally Lamb
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 179
Review Date: 2/6/2009


This is an incredible book - well written, mulit-dimensional characters, and a real heartbreaker. Do yourself a favor and READ THIS BOOK!


The Jane Austen Book Club
The Jane Austen Book Club
Author: Karen Joy Fowler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 506
Review Date: 2/24/2007


I think any Jane Austen fan would get something out of this book. It was an enjoyable, light read.


Little Children
Little Children
Author: Tom Perrotta
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 431
Review Date: 2/24/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I thought "Little Children" was an above-average read about interesting characters with real, but humorous, wants and needs.


Loves Music, Loves to Dance
Loves Music, Loves to Dance
Author: Mary Higgins Clark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 362
Review Date: 4/8/2007


Great story and edge of your seat action! I've read this book several times.


Memoirs of a Geisha
Memoirs of a Geisha
Author: Arthur Golden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2680
Review Date: 2/24/2007


Wonderful book.


Never Let Me Go
Never Let Me Go
Author: Kazuo Ishiguro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 590
Review Date: 4/17/2007


Strange and sad story of children who grow up for a specific scientific "purpose."


October Sky: A Memoir
October Sky: A Memoir
Author: Homer Hickam
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 142
Review Date: 4/8/2007


A wonderful, uplifting, and true story of a boy from a coal-mining town in West Virginia with an aptitude for science and an inspirational teacher who one day becomes a US astronaut.


Passion and Purity (Rules for Christian Singles!)
Passion and Purity (Rules for Christian Singles!)
Author: Elisabeth Elliot
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 4/8/2007
Helpful Score: 3


I found this book somewhat out of date, but it had some good advice concerning Christian relationships.


A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man
A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man
Author: James Joyce
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 4/8/2007


James Joyce's classic story of Stephen Dedalus, an Irish Catholic youth who rebels against his family, education, and country in pursuit of the artistic life.


Running with Scissors
Running with Scissors
Author: Augusten Burroughs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 2412
Review Date: 2/24/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I wanted to read "Running with Scissors" for a long time, and when I actually did ... big disappointment.


Sideways
Sideways
Author: Rex Pickett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 2/24/2007


I read this in preparation for the movie, and thought it was definitely better than the film, but neither quite lived up to my expectations.


Something Borrowed (Darcy & Rachel, Bk 1)
Something Borrowed (Darcy & Rachel, Bk 1)
Author: Emily Giffin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2207
Review Date: 2/10/2009
Helpful Score: 1


One of my all-time favorite novels. Easy to read, a page turner, but well-written and smart. Rachel will feel like an old friend who you want nothing but happiness for.


1 to 20 of 23 - Page: