Bethany M. (psuchick402) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 28 - Page:
Be Intolerant : Because Some Things Are Just Stupid
Be Intolerant : Because Some Things Are Just Stupid
Author: Ryan Dobson, Jefferson Scott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 7/21/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I thought this was an amazing book. Everything makes sense and Dobson has many good arguments. Plus, he is very straightforward in his talk, which is very good for his arguments.


Between the Covers: The Book Babes' Guide to a Woman's Reading Pleasures
Review Date: 2/8/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I haven't realized this was a book ABOUT books. It has many lists of books that you should consider reading. It was definitely an eye-opener. I really enjoyed reading it, as I used sticky notes to mark what books intrigued me and then created a reminder list on PaperbackSwap. If you are a book junkie like me, it's a definite must-have. But if you already have a long list, I would put this book off, unless you want to dig yourself a deeper hole like me!


Blessed Are the Bored in Spirit: A Young Catholic's Search for Meaning
Blessed Are the Bored in Spirit: A Young Catholic's Search for Meaning
Author: Mark Hart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/23/2012


I really enjoyed this book. I was convinced this book was for high school and college students; I bought it for my brother for that reason. Well, he didn't want it and it is only 127 pages so I figured I would read it. Wow! Amazingly written, really pulls you in and makes you think. I HAD to write down the questions, amazing quotes and Bible references to look up later. It really helps you take stock of your spirituality, in a good way.


Review Date: 9/6/2010


This was so, so funny! I loved this book and was an easy read. This girl has a lot to say!
Do not read if you can't handle vulgar words or a blunt woman.


Conquering Your Quarterlife Crisis: Advice from Twentysomethings Who Have Been There and Survived (Perigee Book)
Review Date: 5/19/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I think this was a book that all soon-to-be adults or new adults should read, from right after college to age 30. It explores many of the things that were never thought of after college: Am I doing the right thing? Why am I so unhappy? Why am I so lonely? Why is finding friends so hard? What about "the one"?
It really gave me a lot of advice, but what's more it made me think of ideas myself. All the tips are just that -- tips to lead you to your own thinking, your own strategy.
I hope I can get all my college friends to read this book, that's how good it is.


The Courage to Be Catholic: Crisis, Reform and the Future of the Church
Review Date: 2/19/2012


I'm not sure how I feel about this book. It seems factual heavy, which is why I skimmed it. I often felt like he was criticizing the Catholic Church, despite being a Catholic himself. I did like the final chapter and the paperback afterward, which seemed more hopeful for the Church and the actual "action" of the novel, as opposed to the regurgitation of facts.


Dancing in Red Shoes Will Kill You
Dancing in Red Shoes Will Kill You
Author: Dorian Cirrone
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/7/2009


Cute story, definitely something to pick up and read.


Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World
Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World
Author: Vicki Myron
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 542
Review Date: 12/14/2009
Helpful Score: 2


"Dewey" is an amazing book! I listened to it on CD and it was so heart-warming. It makes me want to get a kitty of my own!


Don't You Forget About Me (Gossip Girl #11)
Don't You Forget About Me (Gossip Girl #11)
Author: Cecily von Ziegesar
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 7/16/2008


Excellent book, as usual!


Eli
Eli
Author: Bill Myers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 9/27/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Amazing book. I really loved it. It takes a different look at what if Jesus came today, and that gives an inspirational spin for all Christians.


Farewell, My Subaru: An Epic Adventure in Local Living
Farewell, My Subaru: An Epic Adventure in Local Living
Author: Doug Fine
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 6/10/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book. It gives an almost realistic viewpoint to living off the grid, and how hard it can be to achieve something like that. It was a light-hearted and funny account, while throwing in some real facts. While not all of us can get a vegetable oil-fueled ROAT, buy a farm or solar panels, it gives us insight that we can reduce our carbon footprint in some way.


Go Green, Live Rich: 50 Simple Ways to Save the Earth and Get Rich Trying
Review Date: 5/6/2012


I think this an excellent book. It was written in 2008, when green stuff was compiled in books. Most of this stuff is online, but it did offer me other starting points for websites to check out.
The format is great, very easy to read and find materials and resources.
Though I do question his "live rich" motto (he is talking about money,) I did notice it is a lot of simple living habits, or "hippie habits" that lots of people shun. The author formats it in a way that makes it seem "cool," which I think is great. It is just a shame that it took this to get some to step away and help the earth. All in all, by helping the earth and living simply, we live "richer" with what we have and our relationships.
Again, it is a good resource worth picking up and skimming through if you already heard the "go green" spiel before.


The Handmaid's Tale
The Handmaid's Tale
Author: Margaret Atwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 759
Review Date: 5/5/2012


This book knocked me off my feet. The horror that the world could turn into that in a blink of an eye. This book was written in the 1950s, but if the events of September 11 happened how it was "supposed" to go, we might be here. Who knows? The prologue was confusing, but otherwise I was captured by this book and its style. You have to keep up with it, but it isn't terribly difficult. This should be mandatory high school reading or college. (There are some curses and sexual suggestions.) As a woman, I am PROUD to say I make my own money, support myself and can make decisions. This book shows what prejudice and racism can lead to.


The Lazy Environmentalist on a Budget: Save Money. Save Time. Save the Planet.
Review Date: 12/15/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Do you want to save the planet, but just lazy? This is a great guide! I don't like the lazy part in the title, but it definitely gives great tips and lots of resources. I love the structure of the book. Though, I think it needs an update because some information is no longer relevant (the economy isn't as good, like the book states) and some links no longer exist.


Let Me Be a Woman
Let Me Be a Woman
Author: Elisabeth Elliot
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 10/1/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Well written but I didn't like the style. It is advertised for all women, from single to married, but I feel like it focuses more on engagement and married life. The single person aspect was few.


Lies Women Believe: And the Truth that Sets Them Free
Review Date: 11/15/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I thought the lies that were given in this book was the ones the author tried to feed to readers. To say it's a lie for some of the feminist movement is ridiculous. Some of the lies also are common sense, which makes me think the author is using the Bible and the precious word of God to manipulate it to her thoughts. As a young woman, I have every right to want the fulfill my longings (and not through a romance novel or cruise), to work to support myself, and not to stay in a marriage if I am abused (another "lie" was about divorce and the thought to never get one. Sometimes women get in abusive relationships and have to, so it's wrong to give advice to grin and bear it.)

God wants my prosperity, but not in the way this author describes.


Mama Gena's Marriage Manual: Stop Being a Good Wife, Start Being a Sister Goddess
Review Date: 3/26/2014


Do not read this book if you truly want to save your marriage. Mama Gena is proof that her method doesn't work.


Nice Girls Don't Get the Corner Office: 101 Unconscious Mistakes Women Make That Sabotage Their Careers
Review Date: 5/5/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I really liked this book. It helped me gain some confidence and stop doing some of the habits I have developed. Some mistakes didn't "apply" or can't necessarily be "fixed" because of the work force I am in, but it got me thinking of how I could make situations better and how not let some mistakes lower my self-esteem. As a woman newly emerged in the work force, coming face-to-face with stereotypes and old ways shocked me sometimes, and now I know some tips on how to be me and still succeed.


Other People's Love Letters: 150 Letters You Were Never Meant to See
Other People's Love Letters: 150 Letters You Were Never Meant to See
Author: Bill Shapiro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 9/28/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed this book! It was a quick read and I loved how it wasn't just typical love letters but also breakup letters and the variety that relationships bring out in people.
It really had me thinking of the modes of communication nowadays, and how much I love written letters and expressed feelings.
I also loved the variety of methods people used to get their point across.


The Prayer of Jabez: Breaking Through to the Blessed Life
The Prayer of Jabez: Breaking Through to the Blessed Life
Author: Bruce Wilkinson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 422
Review Date: 5/6/2012


I thought this was quite enlightening. It definitely is a starting point, not a do-all, be-all like the author seems to suggest. I think this is a good thing to incorporate into daily prayer. Like a few other reviewers, the author's demand for numbers of people is a bit extreme and possibly vain. But I think that at least he is asking and hoping. Again, I think this is a starting point, because I think God will provide, we just need to respond. It is definitely a template for structuring prayers and asking for God's grace.


1 to 20 of 28 - Page: