Reviews - Bethany P. (badbadkitty)

1 to 20 of 85 - Page:
Advanced French for Exceptional Cats
Advanced French for Exceptional Cats
Author: Henry Beard
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 4/6/2007


"very cute"


The Almost Moon
The Almost Moon
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 454
Review Date: 4/28/2008
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I didn't set out to compare this book to The Lovely Bones, because the stories are not similar at all. But, I really really really disliked this book. The protagonist Helen is unsympathetic, non-sensical, and never delves any deeper into her mother's problems. In fact, in almost 300 paged, it seems that the author never gets beyond "Mother crazy, Daughter kills her, Father stressed out." I was also insulted by the acknowledgements. The sense that there is an "inner santum" for Ms. Sebold absolutely excludes the reader. I don't expect a thank you for reading her book, but perhaps the end of your second novel is not the best place to suddenly start speaking in code."


Along Came a Spider (Alex Cross, Bk 1)
Along Came a Spider (Alex Cross, Bk 1)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1014
Review Date: 7/17/2006


"Pretty good suspense novel. As always, better than the film."


Annie Freeman's Fabulous Traveling Funeral
Annie Freeman's Fabulous Traveling Funeral
Author: Kris Radish
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 290
Review Date: 9/22/2007
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I really wanted to love this book. But, the author keeps going overboard with the sentimentality, to the point of nausea. She is waxing rhapsodic all through the book, to the point where you can't love or relate to the characters, because they seem so much more feeling and deep and not-real than yourself."


Armageddon: The Cosmic Battle of the Ages (Left Behind, Bk 11)
Review Date: 3/26/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"No dust jacket. Good condition. Engrossing books."


Assassins: Assignment -- Jerusalem, Target -- Antichrist (Left Behind, Bk 6)
Review Date: 3/26/2007


"No dust jacket. Good condition. Engrossing books."


Beloved
Beloved
Author: Toni Morrison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 479
Review Date: 8/1/2008
6 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Reading Toni Morrison's books is not something for the faint of heart. Her literature requires the reader to work for it, to struggle through sometimes uncomfortable prose or through gut-wrenching scenarios within the larger story. But, at the end, you have earned that story...you have achieved something. And, I've found that people either can't stand her books, or they love her books. There isn't any real middle-ground. I am part of the latter group. And especially for this book. I re-read it every year, and it is still new and gripping and passionate and brilliant every time."


Big Fish
Big Fish
Author: Daniel Wallace
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 115
Review Date: 8/1/2008
4 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I loved this book. And here's why: because the author is posing a question throughout the book, which he makes the reader answer for themselves. The question is, if a man tells a tall tale over a period of time and he believes that tale is how he lived his life, then does the tale become the truth? What is the measure of a man's life: the minute technical events of his daily life, OR how he saw his life as a series of wondrous adventures?"


Bite
Bite
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton, Vickie Taylor, Charlaine Harris, MaryJanice Davidson, Angela Knight
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 779
Review Date: 12/11/2006


"some of my favorite authors. quick read."


Blood Is the New Black
Blood Is the New Black
Author: Valerie Stivers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 5/28/2008
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I actually quite enjoyed this book. Kind of if Bram Stoker wrote "The Devil Wears Prada." Very quick read, and while it was not realistic, I don't read vampire novels for their realism anyway! Definitely on the lookout for a second book. 4 Stars."


Bookends
Bookends
Author: Jane Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 601
Review Date: 12/11/2006


"okay"


The Boy Next Door (Boy, Bk 1)
The Boy Next Door (Boy, Bk 1)
Author: Meg Cabot
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 269
Review Date: 12/11/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Fantastic. Finished it and turned around to read it all over again."


Calendar Girl
Calendar Girl
Author: Tricia Stewart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 7/17/2006


"True story of the British housewives who posed nude in a calendar to raise money for a Cancer hospital. Very good, made me cry in places."


Carpe Demon: Adventures of Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom (Kate Connor, Bk 1)
Review Date: 12/11/2006


"wonderful book for fellow "Buffy" fans"


The CEO of the Sofa
The CEO of the Sofa
Author: P.J. O'Rourke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/17/2006


"Short essays wrttien about life at home with a family."


The Country Under My Skin : A Memoir of Love and War
The Country Under My Skin : A Memoir of Love and War
Author: Gioconda Belli
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/17/2006


"Memoir by Ms. Belli, who ws a Sandanista in Nicaragua. Politically very interesting, offers some insight into that country during the 60-80's."


Dating Amy : 50 True Confessions of a Serial Dater
Dating Amy : 50 True Confessions of a Serial Dater
Author: Amy DeZellar
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/20/2006


"Interesting and funny, makes you either feel like dating more or becoming a nun."


Dating Dead Men (Wollie Shelley, Bk 1)
Dating Dead Men (Wollie Shelley, Bk 1)
Author: Harley Jane Kozak
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 12/11/2006


"pretty good"


Dead Over Heels ( Wyndham Werewolves, / Queen Betsy, Bk 6)
Dead Over Heels ( Wyndham Werewolves, / Queen Betsy, Bk 6)
Author: MaryJanice Davidson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 235
Review Date: 8/12/2008
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I cannot stress how much I LOVE MJD's books. I have read every single one, and love each, almost more than the last. And this one is no exception. With the three novellas from three of her best series, it's kind of like a snack to tide you over until the next book comes out. One of the few authors that makes me laugh out loud, repeatedly. Long live Queen Betsy! Bring on the shoes!!"


Demons are Forever: Confessions of a Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom (Kate Connor, Bk 3)
Review Date: 5/27/2008
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Not quite as good as the second in the series, but still a good book. Elements of the plot feel kind of dragged out, and as always, there is just not enough of Cutter to satisfy me! Does leave me waiting for the 4th book in the series, great job on fleshing out the character of her daughter."


1 to 20 of 85 - Page: