Marla R. (skeetergirl) - , - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
All Emergencies, Ring Super (Dead Letter Mysteries)
All Emergencies, Ring Super (Dead Letter Mysteries)
Author: Ellen E. White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 4/2/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Wasn't expecting much from this, but throughly enjoyed it. Light, funny, something different in a cozy and I loved the main character. Sorry there aren't any more in the series.


Ancient Enemy (Howard Moon Deer, Bk 4)
Ancient Enemy (Howard Moon Deer, Bk 4)
Author: Robert Westbrook
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 11/2/2011


Sorry see this series end. I enjoyed all of them and loved the two main characters, especially Howie. Good mystery with some humerous bits here and there.


Caroline Minuscule (William Dougal, Bk 1)
Caroline Minuscule (William Dougal, Bk 1)
Author: Andrew Taylor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/1/2008


This book really didn't do it for me. I know it won some awards and it sounded fun, but I couldn't get past the main character murdering people with little or no remorse in order to further his aims. For some reason, that bothered me. I don't know that I will try any more in the series.


First Avenue
First Avenue
Author: Lowen Clausen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 7/15/2011


Not usually my sort of book, but picked this up at a UBS going out of business sale and it just sat on my TBR pile. Finally read it and was very quickly hooked!!! Very good book...promptly ordered the next two! Great characters and story.


Letter from Home
Letter from Home
Author: Carolyn Hart
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 5/1/2009


Having read her other series, I ordered this just on a whim. It is an excellent book. I had a "feeling" about two of the characters about half way through. When I reached the end, I realized all of the clues were there...just so subtle I had missed them. If she had lived in that era, she would certainly have been a member of the Detection Club! A definite winner.


Little Face (Culver Valley Crime, Bk 1)
Little Face (Culver Valley Crime, Bk 1)
Author: Sophie Hannah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 8/2/2011


For me, this was one of those "I'm not going to bed until I finish it" books!!! Not sure why, but I got totally hooked on it. The detectives were a bit weird, and didn't seem to play a major role...but didn't irritate me all that much. Read the second one and basically had to "plod" through it...again, not sure why...in the wrong mood, maybe. Still thinking about reading the 3rd one!!!


Naked Once More (Jacqueline Kirby, Bk 4)
Naked Once More (Jacqueline Kirby, Bk 4)
Author: Elizabeth Peters
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 9/26/2008


My favorite of all Elizabeth Peter's books! I kept hoping she would write more with this character.


Second Watch
Second Watch
Author: Lowen Clausen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 1/6/2012


This whole series is underated, I think. Loved all three of them. If you like American police procedurals, you will definitely like these.


The Summer of the Royal Visit
The Summer of the Royal Visit
Author: Isabel Colegate
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 1.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/13/2008
Helpful Score: 3


I found this book rather dry. The author has won some awards and the reviews from the UK were quite effusive. It may be more my fault than the book's fault. From the blurb, I was expecting some similar to E.F. Benson, Angela Thirkell or even Barbara Pym writing about the impact of the Queen's visit on a small village. It was really nothing similar to that. I finished it and it wasn't awful...I just got rather bored!


Victoria's Daughters
Victoria's Daughters
Author: Jerrold M. Packard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 2/9/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed this book. The autor doesn't get bogged down as so many biographers seem to do. I learned a lot about Victoria's daughters...along with a lot of fascinating trivia. If a biography can be said to keep you turning pages, this one does. If you are interested in this period in history, I definitely recommend it.


1 to 10 of 10