Samantha L. (sleach329) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 22 - Page:
And Then There Were None
And Then There Were None
Author: Agatha Christie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 12/17/2012


This was a great mystery. I'm usually pretty good at figuring out "who-done-it" but this time I was not at all on the right track. It was a quick moving page turner. Though I will admit that the language that it's written in took a bit to get used too.
I've only read one other Christie novel and after this one I'm hooked. It's no wonder that she's such a popular author.


Artemis Fowl The Opal Deception
Artemis Fowl The Opal Deception
Author: Eoin Colfer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/31/2014


Good quick read.


Blood Rites (Dresden Files, Bk 6)
Blood Rites (Dresden Files, Bk 6)
Author: Jim Butcher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 495
Review Date: 11/14/2012


I enjoyed this book, but I'd like to see some different things that go bump in the night so to speak. Although I understand with a "war" going on that's what your going to be dealing with.
I feel like Harry has been through so much, and I was so glad to see him finally catch a break in the way of who he gets to have around him. Now if he could just get the girl!
This series is very well written in my opinion, and I have already recommended it to several friends. Now having read only six books in the series I'm even more upset about the fact that the TV show only lasted one season. There's so much that could have been done with it. That's TV for you these days. The shows with great story and great promise get canceled, and we're left with crap reality shows. Unrelated on this site I guess, but still annoying.


By the Light of the Moon: A Novel
By the Light of the Moon: A Novel
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/7/2012


Though the book kept me interested I felt that the ending was a bit rushed compared to how detailed everything else had been. Still a fan of Dean Koontz and this will not be my last of his novels to read.


Cinder (Lunar Chronicles, Bk 1)
Cinder (Lunar Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Marissa Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 10/7/2012
Helpful Score: 3


I really like the idea behind this book, a new take on the classics sign me up. Also, I think having the lines from the Cinderella story on the breaks between sections was a great touch.
I'm giving this book 4 stars.
As I said I really liked the idea, and as good as I think the book was, there were somethings I didn't like. Although some of my complains with the story could very well be explained in the next book. The Lunars, for example, I would have liked to know more about them. Honestly I saw the ending coming, but it really didn't take away from the book too much. It was a good book and I'm excited to see what's to come of the characters in the next book.


The Day After Tomorrow
The Day After Tomorrow
Author: Whitley Strieber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 5/5/2014


It wasn't awful, but it wasn't much better than the movie either. I gave it a shot...


Deadline (Newsflesh, Bk 2)
Deadline (Newsflesh, Bk 2)
Author: Mira Grant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/23/2013


I loved this one as much as the first! On to the final book in the trilogy!!


Death Masks (Dresden Files, Bk 5)
Death Masks (Dresden Files, Bk 5)
Author: Jim Butcher
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 482
Review Date: 10/26/2012


This is getting four stars from me. I love the series, love Harry, and his little gang. Just a little bummed that Susan comes back into play and they still can't make it work. By the end though it seems more like closure for them, but even Harry, in narrative, hints that maybe not.
Poor guy just can't catch a break...


A Discovery of Witches
A Discovery of Witches
Author: Deborah Harkness
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 2/11/2016


I really enjoyed this book. I can't wait to read the next one.
There were parts that probably didn't need to make the final cut, but the good outweighs the bad here IMO. The ending felt a little rushed, but I know it's book one of a trilogy, with that in mind it's forgivable. Things need to be left unfinished or as a reader I wouldn't be as interested in the rest of the series. I'm hopeful that the second book will be as good as the first and move the story along.


Enigma (Last Chance, Bk 2)
Enigma (Last Chance, Bk 2)
Author: Dee Davis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 3/23/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Didn't seem as there was as much action in this book as the first. Romance is not my genre of choice at all to be fair. I honestly only read this book because I had read the first one a few years ago and recently found out it was a trilogy.


Feed (Newsflesh, Bk 1)
Feed (Newsflesh, Bk 1)
Author: Mira Grant
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 120
Review Date: 7/7/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This book was amazing! The story was great and even with all the tech in the story I never felt lost. The author did an amazing job at creating the world in which the story takes place. I couldn't put this one down, and cannot wait to get my hands on the other two books in the series!! I highly suggest reading this book. There's a little something for everyone: politics, zombies(don't let that turn you away), mystery, ect. Go read it!


Fool Moon (Dresden Files, Bk 2)
Fool Moon (Dresden Files, Bk 2)
Author: Jim Butcher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 755
Review Date: 9/4/2012


I really enjoyed this book.
A little bit of it all in here, including a very tasteful sex scene. I'm also coming to enjoy the neat little wrap ups at the very end. Letting you know what happened to everyone after the big climax. I think this series is very well written.


Grave Peril (Dresden Files, Bk 3)
Grave Peril (Dresden Files, Bk 3)
Author: Jim Butcher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 589
Review Date: 9/4/2012


I have to say that this was my favorite Dresden book so far.
There was a lot going on in this story, but it flowed well together and wasn't hard to follow.
I feel bad for Harry. He's such, in my opinion a likable guy with the worst luck. I love him as a character, he's becoming my favorite.


The Help
The Help
Author: Kathryn Stockett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 660
Review Date: 8/4/2012


This is the fastest I have made it through a book since I had my daughter. It held my attention and I felt like I couldn't put it down, but in the end I felt, like many others based on other reviews I've read, that something was missing.
I feel like this story did have its moments. Parts that hit close to home for me and I couldn't put it down. I'm honestly not sure why I didn't like it as much as I feel I should have. It is an easy read. I'll be honest I only picked it up because a friend of mine recommended the movie, this might have been some of the problem. I prefer to read the book before ever seeing the movie.


The Hunger Games (Hunger Games, Bk 1)
The Hunger Games (Hunger Games, Bk 1)
Author: Suzanne Collins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2292
Review Date: 10/20/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Finally decided to check this one out. I saw the movie with my husband and everyone just keeps talking about the books. It seemed to me that the movie was right on with the book. There were something's that were added to the movie, like seeing bits of what was going on outside of the Games that made it more whole.
I feel like the book was not as bloody as some other reviews have made it sound. Don't get me wrong I don't think that's a bad thing, it is a YA book after all. As for if it is or isn't realistic, I could very easily see us getting to a "show" like this with the crap they put on TV these days.
I felt like I got to know the main character in her time in the Games. Her choice to volunteer in the first place and then her relationship with Rue. I also have a younger sister and understand the drive to protect family. The "relationship" with Peeta, who by the way I could easily see was not pretending about his feelings.
I will be reading the other two books and actually am excited to see what happens!


Inferno (Robert Langdon, Bk 4)
Inferno (Robert Langdon, Bk 4)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 197
Review Date: 12/13/2014


I love the Robert Langdon books and this one didn't fail to disappoint!


The Mysterious Affair at Styles (Hercule Poirot, Bk 1)
The Mysterious Affair at Styles (Hercule Poirot, Bk 1)
Author: Agatha Christie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/28/2013


Great story.


Pride and Prejudice and Zombies
Pride and Prejudice and Zombies
Author: Jane Austen, Seth Grahame-Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 509
Review Date: 1/19/2016


This book sat on my TBR pile for a long time. This one was a little hard for me to get into, at first it was the language it's written in, then the pace of the plot. Without giving anything away, the ending IMO was a rip off.


Storm Front  (Dresden Files, Bk 1)
Storm Front (Dresden Files, Bk 1)
Author: Jim Butcher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1158
Review Date: 8/29/2012


Fantastic book!
I had watched the TV series and never knew about the books, until about a month ago.
This was a really great read and I cannot wait to get my hands on the rest of the series!!


Summer Knight (Dresden Files, Bk 4)
Summer Knight (Dresden Files, Bk 4)
Author: Jim Butcher
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 525
Review Date: 9/27/2012


This is my favorite of the series so far. I love reading good faerie books and having Dresden getting really involved with them in this story was awesome for me. The faerie setup in this story flowed well with other books I've read, which was a huge plus too.
I like how Billy and the Alphas are still around, helping Harry out. I also enjoyed the fact that, while Murphy was still in the story, this book wasn't heavily involved with the police.


1 to 20 of 22 - Page: