Nicole G. (nyteacher) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 138 - Page:
After You (Me Before You, Bk 2)
After You (Me Before You, Bk 2)
Author: Jojo Moyes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 11/6/2016


I loved Me Before You, but was hesitant about After You. I didn't think I would enjoy it without Will. I was pleasantly surprised. Moyes addresses the hole left in everyone's lives without Will and the aftermath of how he died sensitively, while keeping the humor.


All Together Dead (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 7)
All Together Dead (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 7)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 1753
Review Date: 9/12/2010


Book 7 of the Sookie Stackhouse Series. Sookie is summoned to a vampire summit by the Queen of Louisiana in order to read the humans' minds. Not surprising, things do not run smoothly. I really liked this book better than a lot of the books in the series. I appreciated the way Charlaine Harris tied in Hurricane Katrina with the plot. The mystery in this book is the best in the series, so far.


Alphabet Weekends: Love on the Road from A to Z
Alphabet Weekends: Love on the Road from A to Z
Author: Elizabeth Noble
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 227
Review Date: 11/22/2008
Helpful Score: 5


I thought this was a very creative idea for a love story. Two people who have been friends most of their lives decide to test their relationship by engaging in different activities together starting with different letters of the alphabet. I loved watching how this relationship developed. But, there's more than the love story between Natalie and Tom to this book. There's also a cast of family and friends that have their own problems to contend with. At times the number of characters became distracting, but it did add depth to the book.


Always
Always
Author: Sarah Jio
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 10/22/2017


Kailey had finally put her life back together after being crushed by the disappearance of her ex-boyfriend Cade. She and her fiance are planning a life together when she is shocked to find that the homeless man begging outside a restaurant is Cade. She can't stop thinking about it and feels compelled to help him. Its a thought provoking story that asks questions about the power of love, forgiveness and second chances. While there are parts of the story that truly shine, there are definite holes in the plot. Many things are never explained and parts get wrapped up way to easily. While I enjoyed the book, I was left with many questions.


An Amish Christmas: December in Lancaster County
Review Date: 12/29/2010


A great collection of heartwarming holiday stories. Although the stories are written by three different authors, the characters overlap within the stories and you get a real sense of the Amish community. My favorite was the first story, A Miracle for Miriam. It seemed to be the most true to life.


Angels Fall
Angels Fall
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 11/4/2008


I loved this book! I've liked everything I've read by Nora Roberts, but this is my favorite. It's a perfect blend of suspense and romance.


Anyone But You
Anyone But You
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 466
Review Date: 3/15/2017


Jennifer Crusie is the master of humorous romance. Nina is 40 year old divorced woman who wanted a lovable puppy to bring up a spirits. Instead, she ends up with Fred, a depressed hound. When he accidentally wonders into the wrong apartment, Nina meets her gorgeous neighbor, Doctor Alex Moore. They are immediately attracted to one another; problem is Alex is ten years younger. This leads to misconceptions on both sides as to what the other is looking for in a partner. As they try to find their way to true love these two, along with Fred, find themselves in many humorous situations in this sweet romance. I highly recommend this book if you're looking for a quick, fun read.


Armed  &  Magical (Raine Benares, Bk 2)
Armed & Magical (Raine Benares, Bk 2)
Author: Lisa Shearin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 8/24/2012


Book 2 in the Raine Benares series. I really like this series. Raine is great, strong female character and the love triangle with Tam and Mychael heats up in the book. My only complaint is that the magical system is so complex, that at times it is difficult to follow.


Austentatious
Austentatious
Author: Alyssa Goodnight
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/5/2013


This book was so much fun! Nicola James is a engineer with a plan she's had since she was a teen, who happens to be obsessed with Jane Austen. So, when she stumbles across a journal that was a gift from Austen to her niece, she can't resist buying it. She soon starts having second thoughts when the journal starts writing back to her and encouraging her to ignore the plan and engage in romance. When she meets sexy musician Sean MacInnes it's clear he is the HIM "Fairy Jane" is referring to, even though he clearly does not fit into the plan. To make matters worse, all of her friends agree with "Fairy Jane". How can she resist such forces?
The book is filled with Jane Austen quotes that are sure to please any Janeite.


Beastly (Beastly, Bk 1)
Beastly (Beastly, Bk 1)
Author: Alex Flinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 8/17/2012


Great retelling of Beauty and the Beast set in modern day NYC. Kyle is a shallow teenager who has no idea the homely girl he humiliates at a school dance is really a witch. She casts a spell on him sentencing him to life as a beast if he can't experience true love's kiss in the next two years. I really liked this version. Since the beast was the narrator, you really got to see how he evolved. One of my favorite parts was the excerpts from a chat room support group for people who have been transformed by magic.


The Best American Short Stories 1997
Review Date: 11/4/2008


Great collection of stories on a variety of topics.


Beyond The Veil (Volume 1)
Beyond The Veil (Volume 1)
Author: Pippa DaCosta
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/6/2017


Half demon Muse/Charlie Henderson has made her escape and has managed to live a normal life when a hot assassin enters her life forcing her back to a Prince of Hell for protection. There are so many twists and turns, you don't know who to trust from page to page. While I wasn't wowed, the story kept me engaged and I intend to read the next book in the series.


Big Sky Mountain (Parable, Montana, Bk 2)
Big Sky Mountain (Parable, Montana, Bk 2)
Author: Linda Lael Miller
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 97
Review Date: 11/6/2016


After reading Big Sky Country, I really didn't like Hutch Carmody, so I wasn't sure how I'd feel with him as the romantic lead. I loved him. The book opens with him breaking things off with his fiance in the middle of the wedding ceremony. It soon becomes clear that this was the right decision, because there are still sparks between him and his old love, Kendra Shepherd. Hutch is the fantasy rough and rugged cowboy who can endear himself to all creatures great and small. It is very sweet, seeing the way he interacts with Kendra's daughter. Kendra is a strong woman, who has a newly adopted daughter. Despite many misunderstandings, it is clear the two care about each other from the beginning. Great love story.


Bitterblue (Seven Kingdoms, Bk 3)
Bitterblue (Seven Kingdoms, Bk 3)
Author: Kristin Cashore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 5/24/2016


I really liked this book, but not as well as the first two books in the series. I admit, that while I loved both Graceling and Fire, when I first read them it wasn't clear to me how they were related. Bitterblue brings them together nicely. Once again Cashore has created engaging characters with an exciting plot. The romance is not as strong in this one and there are pieces that could be explained more clearly. But, as a whole it's a great read and a good ending to the series.


Black Creek Burning (The Black Creek Series, Book 1) (Volume 1)
Black Creek Burning (The Black Creek Series, Book 1) (Volume 1)
Author: R.T. Wolfe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/8/2015


Brianna Chapman is an elementary teacher who witnessed her parents murdered in an arson attempt meant for her. Years later, the crime is still unsolved and she still appears to be a target. Nathan Reed is a wealthy woodworking artists who moves in next door with his young sons. The attraction is immediate and as the threats to Brianna escalate, Nathan seeks to protect her.

I have mixed feelings about this book. As a romance I loved it. Brianna and Nathan are both likable characters. There's good chemistry and the relationship really develops over time. However, I didn't like the non-romance aspects of the plot. As a teacher, I found the unprofessional manner in which Brianna's co-workers were portrayed as almost offensive. Also, once the culprit was revealed, I just didn't think enough background was given for the motive to be believable. So, I would rate it a 4.5 for romance, but 2.5 for plot.


Blood Brothers (Sign of Seven, Bk 1)
Blood Brothers (Sign of Seven, Bk 1)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1414
Review Date: 2/5/2010


On their tenth birthday Cal, Fox and Gage accidentally unleashed a demon on Hawkins Hollow. Since then, every seven years people and animals go crazy and commit unspeakable acts. When writer Quinn Black decides to write about the phenomenon it is soon discovered that she, along with two other women, are connected and necessary to the destruction of the demon. In the midst of all this horror, Cal and Quinn manage to find love. I found the story intriguing and have already started book two. I didn't think the romance part was up to Roberts' usual standards.


The Bone Season (Bone Season, Bk 1)
The Bone Season (Bone Season, Bk 1)
Author: Samantha Shannon
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 3/14/2018


I would give the first half of this book two stars and the second half 4.5. I found it difficult to get into the book because the world was unclear and many things I only understood by using the reference at the back of the book because there were so many made up terms. However, by the end of the book when I had figured out what was going on, I couldn't put the book down.


The Book Thief
The Book Thief
Author: Markus Zusak
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 296
Review Date: 8/3/2009


I cannot say enough about this book. Everybody should read it! There have been hundreds of books written about WWII Germany, yet this book still manages to be original. The idea of having Death be the narrator is brilliant. It gives a unique look at both the best and worst of humanity and the amazing power of words. The book is listed as young adult literature because the protagonist is a young girl. Even if you're not someone who usually reads young adult literature you will appreciate this story.


Can You Keep a Secret?
Can You Keep a Secret?
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 799
Review Date: 9/1/2009


Can You Keep a Secret is a fun, quick read. While on a turbulent flight, Emma confides all her deepest secrets to the handsome stranger in the next seat. She thinks she'll never see the stranger again. That's until she shows up to work on Monday only to discover he owns the company! Embarrassment, confusion and romance all follow.


A Charming Crime (Magical Cures, Bk 1)
A Charming Crime (Magical Cures, Bk 1)
Author: Tonya Kappes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 2/17/2013
Helpful Score: 2


Overall, I really like the story and it was a fun read. However, the editing was poor, making it confusing at times.


1 to 20 of 138 - Page: