Krista (berries674) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 93 - Page:
All the Numbers
All the Numbers
Author: Judy Merrill Larsen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 8/29/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This was such a good book. I read it in under 2 days. It was so "real-life" and emotional. None of the unnecessary fluff or fillers, it moved right along bringing you through the year following Ellen's horrible tragedy. I absolutely can't say enough about this book, execpt it's one of VERY FEW that made me cry. The ending left me feeling so complete, which is also a rarity when reading!!! Please read this one!


American Psycho
American Psycho
Author: Bret Easton Ellis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 298
Review Date: 2/19/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I read this book because I was curious about it after seeing so many people say it was "the most disturbing book" they've read. I saw some of the movie back in the 90's staring Christian Bale. This book is quite possible the most gruesome look at a narcissistic, self absorbed and disturbed serial killer. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone that is easlily faint-of-heart. It is BRUTALLY graphic (i am not put off very easily, and it left me cringing). It does dwell on the lifestyle of the young and rich and importance of wealth, fashion and status, but i believe it is to get you into the thoughts and obsessions of Patrick Bateman. Overall, i think it takes a vivid imagination to even WRITE this book, making me think twice about the author. The ending left me kind of hanging, and i will now see the movie again to compare. If you are intrigued by gore, murder, obsession, and extremes, read this book BUT PROCEED WITH CAUTION.


Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 350
Review Date: 5/19/2009


As much as I loved the DaVinci Code, Angels & Demons is even better. This book was a true page turner with a fascinating look at Church v. Science. Twists and turns galore. Dan Brown in a genius of an author.
Can't wait to see the movie.


The Art of Racing in the Rain
The Art of Racing in the Rain
Author: Garth Stein
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 994
Review Date: 12/30/2009


This was an absolutetly awesome book. I've read books about pets and thier humans and I've read books narrated by said pet...this book is one of the best I've read of it's kind. The author really gets you to feel like you're in the head of Enzo the dog as he relays the life, love, losses and triuphs of his humans-- all while being an honorable and insighful soul himself. I would recommend this book to anyone!


The Beach House
The Beach House
Author: Jane Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 215
Review Date: 4/3/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Cute book, sort of like a Lifetime movie...holds your interest even though it's something you wouldn't normally find extraordinary.
Liked the character development and few twists that were added, however everything happened to "fall into place" a little too much for reality. And I agree with another reviewer who mentioned the over-usage of phrases such as "coming home" "finding peace" "living in one's own skin" a little annoying. The point was clear without throwing it down your throat.
That being said, this was definately a light and breezy read that I would definately recommend to anyone looking for such!


Beautiful Lies (Ridley Jones, Bk 1)
Beautiful Lies (Ridley Jones, Bk 1)
Author: Lisa Unger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 146
Review Date: 3/18/2010


Some of the reviews here made me weary of the plot, in that they said it was predictable. For me, it wasn't; even if you find it so, it was nontheless intriguing and suspensful. Beautiful Lies was an tighly written, action and twist-packed book that I just couldn't put down. I have Unger's second book Sliver of Truth that I look very much forward to reading, as it feature's the character Ridley Jones as well. Much recommended.


Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3520
Review Date: 2/1/2009


I have mixed feelings about this book. I think the series got a little drawn out after book 2 (New Moon). I read this book super fast both because I was really itching to be done with it and ,of course, because Stephanie Meyers makes for easy reading. Overall, Twilight was my favorite. I can't take anthing away from the series as a whole, but this installment could surely have been cut down by a few hundred pages. I do look forward to reading Meyer's The Host.


The Butterfly Farm
The Butterfly Farm
Author: Diane Noble
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 11/16/2008
Helpful Score: 5


The first time i considered this book, was because of the title. I love butterflies, and of course the cover was attractive. I gave it a once-over and put it down, not quite sure that i wanted to read part of a "mystery series" with a slueth who was really a travel writer, not an actual detective. The second time i went to the bookstore, it caught my eye again, and, I decided to give it a try. I checked other reviews, one actually comparing the main character to Jessica Fletcher (Murder, she wrote). HAHAHA!! That was somewhat an accurate description....the main char. is an older woman embarking on a new career of travel writing...but don't be fooled..this book is fast moving, intriguing, with a suspenseful plot...i read it in under 2 days...I grew up loving Nancy Drew mysteries and i actually was reminded of this while reading this book! Again it was fast-paced and interesting with a great modern medical twist to it. I would recommend to young adults also, being that it takes place on a college-cruise ship. My only gripe is, this is book #1 and book #2 was scheduled for print in 2007, and i havent seen it anywhere....can't even google it...oh well, i wrote to the author's website, perhaps we'll see.....In the meantime, read this one!


Cage of Stars
Cage of Stars
Author: Jacquelyn Mitchard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 3/30/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I loved this book! I loved the characters and totally felt thier pain and thoughts. Mitchard wrote like a genius. I seriously could not put this book down. This book was so thought provoking and emotional, and I even liked learning about the Mormon background. I honestly don't know what else to say, this work just intertwined everything it means to be human and I was so moved while reading it! A MUST READ!!!!


Case Histories (Jackson Brodie, Bk 1)
Case Histories (Jackson Brodie, Bk 1)
Author: Kate Atkinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 548
Review Date: 2/28/2010


Very unique style. A litlte tedious to follow at first, but I got used to it and it became quite the page-turner. After a while I accepted feeling confused, knowing it would all eventualy make sense! Challenged my normal train of thought, kept the brain working. Good mystery of 3 intertwined tales!


Come Back: A Mother and Daughter's Journey Through Hell and Back
Review Date: 10/25/2008


eh, found this a little boring and undescriptive...some of the dialogue got redundant and run-on-ish...otherwise a good book, i guess for mothers that may want to relate to the loss of a child to drugs.


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4420
Review Date: 11/8/2008
Helpful Score: 3


Written in the narrative of an Autistic 15yr old's voice...this very well may have been the oddest, uniquely written book i've read. It was not at all what i expected. It was a VERY quick read, i read it in less than a day. I would have to say that the premise of the book was not really the main idea, here. It was an interesting story of the murder of a dog, and the mystery of the boy's mother...but all-in-all i think it was a very "curiously" written character study of the boy's perception of the world and how he survives in it. I am NOT very familiar with Autism, however, but this book lent me a sensitive insight to what the boy endures and achieves in everyday life and this is truly where the story lies. A VERY INTERESTING AND RECOMMENDED READ! YOU'LL NEVER READ A BOOK LIKE THIS, I BET!


The Day Donny Herbert Woke Up: A True Story
The Day Donny Herbert Woke Up: A True Story
Author: Rich Blake
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/9/2010


Great heart-wrenching story of hope, faith, love, perseverance and miracles. Quick read, would highly recommend.


Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2417
Review Date: 3/2/2009
Helpful Score: 16


After reading Twilight, I felt the need to purchase this boxed set. Sookie Stackhouse is a likeable character who can read minds and falls for a vampire. I do feel some of the events in her life are taken lightly (i.e. deaths, threats, etc.). Also, it was strange to see that being a vampire within the community was recognized and accomodated in this book. This was definately a quickly paced, fast read and i DO look forward to reading the rest of the series, however I do hope it takes on a less "frilly" feel as it progresses.


Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World
Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World
Author: Vicki Myron
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 542
Review Date: 10/11/2008
Helpful Score: 5


I absolutely loved this book...as a cat owner, i would recommed this to anyone who has pets, or just wants a truly heartfelt book about an animal and its impact on humankind!!! ADORABLE!


A Dirty Job
A Dirty Job
Author: Christopher Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 3/25/2010


Completely original, unique, quirky, absurd and totally unrealistic...yet one of the most entertaining books I've read. I love Moore's sense of humor and style, I laughed out loud on many occasion. Talent of a gifted writer paired with a crazy-a** imagination and superb sarcasm...this book is one-of-a-kind... Just ordered his other book "Fluke"...can't wait!


The Doctor's Wife
The Doctor's Wife
Author: Elizabeth Brundage
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 666
Review Date: 2/21/2010
Helpful Score: 5


Wow! What a great, entanlging phychological suspense. I COULD NOT put this book down! From the very beginning (which is actually an un-spoiling glimpse of the end) I was hooked. My obsession with watching this story unfold was almost as thick and haunting as the plot!! It was dark, dangerous and deplorable. There was not a paragraph I didn't hang onto for dear life.


Dog On It (Chet and Bernie, Bk 1)
Dog On It (Chet and Bernie, Bk 1)
Author: Spencer Quinn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 143
Review Date: 6/18/2009


Quick, cute, creative!! This was a refreshing read with a cozie mystery told from the laugh-out-loud narrative of Chet the dog. If you love dogs, and a light mystery...this book is for you! Chet's personality is adorable and Quinn truly captures the ideal of what dogs think and how they view us humans!


Dog Years: A Memoir
Dog Years: A Memoir
Author: Mark Doty
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 5/11/2009
Helpful Score: 7


This book was not what I expected. As a lover of animals, pets, and books on the topic, I guess I wasn't expecting this book to be so... philisophical??? Although still a great read, I was looking for something lighter, more like "Marley" or "Dewey". I also feel as though it was hard to follow the timeline, as the author jumped around alot. Definately a good book, but not one of my favorite furry stories.


The Dogs of Babel
The Dogs of Babel
Author: Carolyn Parkhurst
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 401
Review Date: 10/18/2008


Great book...strange, but fathomable for animal lovers. Great main character development (esp. Lexy's) and homage to the intelligence of the family pet. This was suspenseful and intriguing, a quick read...


1 to 20 of 93 - Page: