Jessica H. (jessjoy) - Reviews

21 to 35 of 35 - Page:
Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe (At the Cupcake Cafe, Bk 1)
Meet Me at the Cupcake Cafe (At the Cupcake Cafe, Bk 1)
Author: Jenny Colgan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/18/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This was a great book. I loved the characters and the setting. I am obsessed with books about people starting over and either starting a new business or fixing up a house. Issy, our heroine in this story, works in an office and is having a relationship with one of the higher ups in the company. Their relationship is to be kept a secret from all those in her company and Issy reluctantly abides by this request. Then when she finds out she's being made redundant and that he could have told her, she kinda flips out a bit (as she should). At first she's a bit depressed, but then the idea of starting her own cupcake shop is formed and things turn around for her.
Of course it's a story where there are definitely struggles, it shares with us a little of the hardships she endures and one doesn't think about when starting a new business.
The characters are lovely and the setting in a small village is truly idyllic. You will be rooting for this girl the whole time!


Minding Ben
Minding Ben
Author: Victoria Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/14/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This isn't the typical book I like reading, I prefer fluff that doesn't take much thought, but I checked it out from the library and read it in about 12 hours, sleeping perhaps 6 hours. I couldn't put it down, it's a sad look at what immigrants face when moving to "the promise land "., it's a story about a 16 yo girl who comes to America hoping to create a life for herself, right when she steps off the plane she encounters trouble, her cousin who is supposed to be letting her come stay with her had decided that's not such a great idea, so she arrives in new York city with nowhere to go! Yet, through all the struggles that she encounters she manages to turn it around. It's a truly inspiring tale!


Mrs. Perfect
Mrs. Perfect
Author: Jane Porter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 5/14/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This was a really good book. I liked the character development throughout the book. I think that the character went through all the stages appropriate for the situation that she was in. It didn't leave you hanging or thinking it was ridiculous. It had a nice flow. The only thing that I regret is that I have not read Odd Mom Out which is the first book in this "series" so, if you are considering this book and have not read "odd Mom Out", first, then I would recommend donig so. I wasn't aware that there was any connection, but the mom from Odd Mom Out is a pretty essential part to this story.


Open House
Open House
Author: Jill Mansell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 6/20/2011


I am an absolute Jill Mansell fanatic! I found her on Amazon and have read every book digitally available in the US. I was so disappointed to see all the books that aren't available in the US, so I ordered this book from the UK. I have to say it was a bit of a disappointment. I now wish, I would have chosen one of her other books to spend my hard earned dollars! If you have read her other books, you will no doubt love her quirky characters. I honestly, I can't tell you what it was, it just didn't grab me the way that her other books did. It took me a few days of trying to read it to actually make it past the first chapter, and under normal circumstances I would have just given up, but I wanted to like it. Once I got into about two or three chapters, I enjoyed it a bit more, but it still wasn't my favorite mansell novel!


The Other Side Of The Story
The Other Side Of The Story
Author: Marian Keyes
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 270
Review Date: 6/12/2011


I rarely write bad reviews. I feel like I rate everything a five! This could have been a great book! BUT... it really was slow starting and then once I got into the book and things were kinda making sense and picking up the end comes and it takes FOREVER! It was the most drawn out ending and then it just doesn't end at all in the way you would like. It was an utter disappointment. This was my first Keyes book, I suppose that I will have to give her another chance. I seriously hope that her other books are better than this one!


Remember Me?
Remember Me?
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 481
Review Date: 5/14/2011


This was a good book, just not really a favorite for myself. The husband was too out of touch and there wasn't anything remotely good about his character. I know we weren't supposed to like him, but his character was just ridiculous. Which made the main character and the fact taht she had married him a little less likable. This of course, is my opinion. Not my favorite Kinsella and I've read almost everyone of her books.


Schooled
Schooled
Author: Anisha Lakhani
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 4/11/2011


Really interesting book! I really enjoyed it! it is scary to think that the rich who inherit the world would seriously be this dumb! The rich paying for tutors tomDO kids work, ridiculous!


Set Up in Soho (Matchmaker Chronicles, Bk 2)
Set Up in Soho (Matchmaker Chronicles, Bk 2)
Author: Dee Davis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/20/2011


I really enjoyed this book! I had started to read it several times, and was distracted by other books. When I finally sat down and read it, I couldn't put it down. I had all ready read A Match made on Madison. This book isn't necessarily a sequel, but it involves some of the same characters. It really is a fun book. I throughly enjoyed it!


Sleeping Arrangements
Sleeping Arrangements
Author: Madeleine Wickham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 5/21/2011


I first want to say that I adores Wickham! I have read all of her Kinsella books and adored them! The Shopaholic series wasn't my favorites that she's done, but I still enjoyed them. I've also read a good big of her Wickham books, I'm lacking three, I believe. This was the only book that I didn't like. It just didn't really make me smile, didn't make me feel any emotion except, What the crap was she thinking? From the beginning of the book you know that it's a book about two ex's who are thrown together on holiday. I knew I wasn't going to like it when I realized that both had families of their own, with small children. So, for a chick lit book it just didn't feel right. I don't mind reading heavier stuff, but I want my chick lit, to be funny, uplifting a little naughty. The premise just didn't feel right. I don't believe that it was a full circle story. There were some ok moments, thank God for the nanny that was hired because there would have been absolutely zilch comic highlights to the story. It wasn't a humorous tale at all. It wasn't what I expect to read from Wickham. Perhaps with the name change she wants to delve deeper into the human psyche, but it lacks on both being serious enough to be a "novel", but is too heavy to be chick lit. I think she needs to not try so hard to be literary and just enjoy mass appeal. There's a reason that the masses love it :)


Staying at Daisy's
Staying at Daisy's
Author: Jill Mansell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 6/20/2011


This was about the third Mansell book I read and I loved it. It's chick lit to the max with the added bonus of being British chick lit. The characters in mansell's books are quirky and fun. Warning, after too much reading you will start saying Brit sayings and people will look at you like you've lost your mind!


The Undomestic Goddess
The Undomestic Goddess
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 485
Review Date: 5/14/2011


This is definitely one of my favorite's from kinsella. It was a little different than she's usually known for but it was a great read. I absolutely love this author and genre. If you like fun reading but without all the vivid adult scenes then, you ought to look at Kinsella, Wickham, and Jill Mansell to name a few!


The Undomestic Goddess
The Undomestic Goddess
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 733
Review Date: 4/21/2011


I love Sophie Kinsella and I truly loved this book. It did start off a bit slow, well not slow, but it took me awhile to really reel me in good. I like to read a book and NOT want to put it down. I have ADD and that's the way I judge if a book is good if I can sit for hours without losing my patience! Other than it taking me a lil' longer then usual to get wrapped by the story it was really delightful. The romance is a bit typical,but it's hard to find good books that have some romance without all the XXX action going on! That's what I love about Kinsella and Jill Mansell. BTW there is no XXX stuff in here, I just reread what I wrote and thought it might be misconstrued! It's a definite must read for chick lit luvers everywhere :)


Uptown Girl
Uptown Girl
Author: Olivia Goldsmith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/4/2011


I did a search for the description for this book: I haven't read it personally, just putting this on here for members to see description. From the bestselling author of The First Wives' Club and Young Wives, a sparkling New York comedy about making plans for other people -- and then tripping yourself up in them. There's something magical about Brooklyn's Billy Nolan. It's not just that he's wickedly attractive, it's that any woman he dates and dumps (and he dates and dumps them all) immediately goes on to marry someone else. Sassy, uptown New Yorker Kate is immune to Billy's charms - she left Brooklyn behind a long time ago, and she's not about to fall under the spell of a handsome waster from the old neighbourhood. Besides, she's dating the eminently suitable Michael. But perhaps the 'Billy effect' will work for Kate's friend, Bina, who has fallen apart because her almost-fiance, Jack, is going away to 'explore his singleness'. All Kate has to do is get Billy to date Bina and dump her - and then await Jack's return and watch the magic happen. It's a great plan and at first it seems to be working. But the one thing Kate hasn't considered is how Billy feels about it all...


The Wedding Girl
The Wedding Girl
Author: Madeleine Wickham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 5/4/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed this book! I tired of waiting for it on here and went to Amazon and paid like four dollars for it and it was definitely worth it! It was a bit different then what you would expect in this type of story. I thought the characters were delightful. I love British chic lit! Kinsella and Jill Mansell are definitely my favorites!


Working Wonders
Working Wonders
Author: Jenny Colgan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/31/2013
Helpful Score: 1


My favorite by Jenny Colgan so far! It was such a delightful little read. It has a kinda fairytale spin on the whole thing. Our main character is Arthur, who is a middle aged man who doesn't really have any ambition or any excitement in his life. It's definitely a twist on a modern day Arthur and the Knight's of the Round Table. Complete with a Lancelot and Guinevere. I am glad I took a chance to pick this book up!


21 to 35 of 35 - Page: