Anita E. (qwillter) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 26 - Page:
11/22/63
11/22/63
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 270
Review Date: 4/14/2012
Helpful Score: 2


Having lived through 11/22/63 - I really enjoyed this book. King is sometimes too way out there for me, but this was well written, covering a lot of the facts, adding a fictional story along the way. I highly recommend it!


Beach Girls (Hubbard's Point, Bk 5)
Beach Girls (Hubbard's Point, Bk 5)
Author: Luanne Rice
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 312
Review Date: 4/17/2007
Helpful Score: 1


An easy read, an enjoyable story of coming to terms with loss and love and disappointment.


Christmas Letters
Christmas Letters
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 218
Review Date: 1/12/2007


I enjoyed this nice romantic comedy during the stressfull holiday season. An easy read.


The Conversation Piece
The Conversation Piece
Author: Bret Nicholaus ; Paul Lwrie
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/9/2007


I love this little book! I have used the questions in it to get conversations started with my grandchildren. I have them each pick a number and we go to that question. Even people who think they don't want to "play" are soon drawn in to the circle. Good with friends, families and for icebreakers.


Driving Lessons (Valentine, Bk 2)
Driving Lessons (Valentine, Bk 2)
Author: Curtiss Ann Matlock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 11/3/2006


I enjoyed this book. Mostly realistic romance - and believable people. I plan to read the rest of her books.


Endings
Endings
Author: Barbara Bergin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/19/2008


I enjoyed this story right up until the last two chapters. The author left me wondering just what did happen? I had hoped for more.


For My Friends
For My Friends
Author: Gerry Kimmel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/28/2008


This book has wonderful Native American and Southwestern quilt patterns. I've never seen anything this well done before.


Frosty Folks
Frosty Folks
Author: Debbie Mumm
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/10/2007


If you love country style, you will enjoy these easy to make holiday ideas! Great for decorating your own home, or gift giving!


The Glass Castle
The Glass Castle
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3390
Review Date: 3/11/2011


Incredible story of child neglect and emotional abuse. That the three children survived this is amazing. I wanted to just shake both these parents and then put them in jail. No child should have to live like this.


Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2854
Review Date: 1/22/2007


This is the first book I have read by this Author. I really enjoyed it, not complex, but touching. The main character is a normal sized woman with a fat woman complex. I enjoyed it!


The Ha-Ha
The Ha-Ha
Author: Dave King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 6/1/2007
Helpful Score: 4


This was a wonderful book, recommended by a librarian friend. Howard, due to a war injury can not speak, however there is nothing wrong with his intelligence. He is put in the position of caring for a former girlfriend's child and during the process, he finds love, friendship, disappointment and dispair. Very interesting idea of having one's brain function, but be unable to communicate.


The Help
The Help
Author: Kathryn Stockett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2439
Review Date: 5/31/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I could not put this book down. What a wonderful first novel. I have never lived in the south, but I did live through the 1960's, and this book is very eye-opening. Though completely fiction, the events that take place, are very believeable. A young white woman,Skeeter, comes home from college and sees the people in her social circle for the first time. Through the brave black maids who work for the women in that circle, a book is written, in their own words. The backlash and fears and yes, even humor and sadness kept me from putting the book down except to sleep. I loved it.


The Innocent Man:  Murder and Injustice in a Small Town
The Innocent Man: Murder and Injustice in a Small Town
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 537
Review Date: 2/16/2007


This is an incredible true story of justice gone very wrong - a good old boy network that railroaded more than one man in Oklahoma.


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5701
Review Date: 2/7/2007


I thought this was a very touching story of a friendship between two boys, and a father son relationship.


Major Pettigrew's Last Stand
Major Pettigrew's Last Stand
Author: Helen Simonson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 202
Review Date: 3/11/2011


Although I was amused by some of the dialogue, I found this book slow and actually stopped reading about half way through.


Mixed Media Mosaics: Techniques & Projects Using Polymer Clay Tiles Beads & Other Embellishments
Review Date: 4/30/2010


I got this book just before taking a class from the author. The book is her class in a nutshell, very detailed, great directions for a sucessful project. Loved it!


Nature's Christmas
Nature's Christmas
Author: Debbie Mumm
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/10/2007


More adorable decorating ideas from Debbie Mumm. Even if you aren't a country decorator, you know someone who is - and there are plenty of great ideas for making gifts, craft show items and decor for your home.


Nineteen Minutes
Nineteen Minutes
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 734
Review Date: 3/13/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I was hooked at the beginning. Having a law enforcement background much of what happens is believable. A good look at all sides of this story. First of her books I have read, and I will read more.


Oh My Stars
Oh My Stars
Author: Lorna Landvik
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 8/7/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I absolutely loved this book! Landvik walks you through the hard life and times of the characters during the depression years. Wonderfully written.


The Pact : A Love Story
The Pact : A Love Story
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 8/11/2007


Another thought provoking book by Jodi Picoult. She has become one of my favorite authors. This is a story of two teens, raised as neighbors, and nearly brother and sister for years. What happens when one of them wants to commit suicide? Picoult brings out the personalities of all the characters involved in this tale. I could not stop reading!


1 to 20 of 26 - Page: