Lori S. (GroovyGlitterGirl) - - Reviews

21 to 40 of 46 - Page:
Inventing the Abbotts and Oher Stories
Inventing the Abbotts and Oher Stories
Author: Sue Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/17/2008
Helpful Score: 1


A great collection of introspective stories.


Love Songs
Love Songs
Author: Lawrence Sanders
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 6/5/2009


Disturbing and dark, but highly readable. I needed a shower after I read it to wash off the lingering feeling of being tainted just by reading it. But, as with all thing dark and dirty, I couldn't put it down :)


Lovely in Her Bones (Elizabeth MacPherson, Bk 2)
Lovely in Her Bones (Elizabeth MacPherson, Bk 2)
Author: Sharyn McCrumb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 11/30/2007


Another great quick read from Sharyn McCrumb. Witty quips and zany dialogue. This one focuses on a research project surrounding some not so well known Indians from Appalachia :)


Lucky
Lucky
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1358
Review Date: 2/17/2008


A dark and often humourous look at a woman's true account of being a rape victim. An insightful look at what one woman goes through from the rape to the conviction of her rapist.


MacPherson's Lament (Elizabeth MacPherson, Bk 7)
MacPherson's Lament (Elizabeth MacPherson, Bk 7)
Author: Sharyn McCrumb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 11/30/2007
Helpful Score: 1


After you start getting to know all the zany characters in this book, you'll wish you really did know them. Quirky, crazy southern belles gone bad. You will chuckle as you read this book, I promise :)


The Man in My Basement
The Man in My Basement
Author: Walter Mosley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 2/17/2008


An interesting look at morals and secrets and the strange bond that develops between a wealthy white man and a black man who becomes his captor. Deep and sometimes dark, but highly insightful.


Marley and Me : Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog
Marley and Me : Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog
Author: John Grogan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1404
Review Date: 11/17/2007
Helpful Score: 1


One of the funniest, yet saddest books I have ever read. If you own a dog, you must read this one. If you ever thought about owning a dog, you must read this. If you know a dog, you'll recognize it in this book!


The Mercy of Thin Air
The Mercy of Thin Air
Author: Ronlyn Domingue
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 152
Review Date: 9/15/2007
Helpful Score: 2


One of the most beautifully written love stories. A great first novel that stayed in my thoughts for days after.


The Millionaires
The Millionaires
Author: Brad Meltzer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 197
Review Date: 5/25/2008


You cannot beat Brad Meltzer for a great page turning political thriller. He has become one of my favorite authors and he never fails to deliver a great read! This one involves 2 brothers and a conspiracy within the government. Don't want to tell you too much, just trust me and read it!


Missing Susan (Elizabeth MacPherson, Bk 6)
Missing Susan (Elizabeth MacPherson, Bk 6)
Author: Sharyn McCrumb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 12/5/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Everyone wants to kill her, I did and she was just a character in a book :) Sharyn McCrumb's books make me laugh out loud and yet it still has a good mystery for you to figure out. I highly recommend all of her books!


A Paper Life
A Paper Life
Author: Tatum O'Neal
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 9/7/2007
Helpful Score: 5


What a tortured life she led, how bizarre a childhood... who would have thought that the "poor little rich girl" would have struggled so hard. A great read that also makes you madas hell at her parents.


Pillars of the Earth
Pillars of the Earth
Author: Ken Follett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 10/6/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Of all the books that I have read... this must be my favorite:)


The PMS Outlaws (Elizabeth MacPherson, Bk 9)
The PMS Outlaws (Elizabeth MacPherson, Bk 9)
Author: Sharyn McCrumb
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 11/30/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Side splitting prose, incredibly well done series. Sharyn Crumb's ability to weave a good tale makes you laugh out loud while you are getting your "who dun it" fix.


A Prayer for Owen Meany
A Prayer for Owen Meany
Author: John Irving
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 741
Review Date: 12/11/2007


What happens when your best friend thinks that he is an instrument of God adn speaks in all capital letters? Read this very well written book to find out. It is a truly a must read and keeps you wondering what will happen to all the people in the book. This is set mainly in the 1960's during the Vietnam War, and then later during the Iran-Contra Reagan era. The novel is still relative today depsite it's setting.


Raptor
Raptor
Author: Gary Jennings
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/15/2007


WOW, what a weird journey this book takes you on. One of the strangest trips that I have taken in my world of reading. Interesting lands in another time with an unimaginable character.


The Reader
The Reader
Author: Bernhard Schlink, Carol Brown Janeway (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 1254
Review Date: 2/17/2008


Wow, a powerfully compelling novel about relationships and moral judgements. A very quick read that stays with you for quite sometime.


Remodeled to Death (Susan Henshaw, Bk 9)
Remodeled to Death (Susan Henshaw, Bk 9)
Author: Valerie Wolzien
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 2/28/2008


Since I live & breathe construction I loved it, great quick mystery with a ton of wit :)


The Road
The Road
Author: Cormac McCarthy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 5/1/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Dark...mesmerizing...I could not put it down. I read it in about 2 hours and I imagine this book will stay with me for a while. Very disturbing premise and the visuals that you will collect while reading this may haunt you. Although it is a very dark book, I am glad that I read it.


State Of Fear
State Of Fear
Author: Michael Crichton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 348
Review Date: 9/7/2007
Helpful Score: 1


So much for global warming. A very mesmerizing account of the fallacies concerning the myth of global warming. Read it and try to still beleive in what the media is feeding you.


The Survivors
The Survivors
Author: Dinah McCall
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 189
Review Date: 6/5/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Wow, good book, pages keep flipping and the plot thickens. A plane crash, a murder, a psychic, a family of hot men... the book was great at the half way mark, even better at the end :)


21 to 40 of 46 - Page: