Suzanne S. (schwip) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 50 - Page:
All Families are Psychotic
All Families are Psychotic
Author: Douglas Coupland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 8/28/2011


Funny and entertaining story about how one family faces crisis after crisis...much to their own doings.


All Things Unforgiven, A Novel
All Things Unforgiven, A Novel
Author: Raj Karamchedu
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/18/2014


This book was a tad confusing at times because of the number of characters. Although the author quickly played the relationships into context. The relationship between Arya and his parents did confuse me. Hatred and extreme love but the aftermath never seemed to be explained. I think I am just missing some of the cultural differences. All in all though, I was spellbound by the book and read it very quickly. It did keep my attention and was a very interesting read.


Angela's Ashes
Angela's Ashes
Author: Frank McCourt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 784
Review Date: 5/31/2013


Excellent story told by a preteen boy in a poor town in Ireland. He talks about his poor family, how they live and get food, he talks about the church and the presence they have in Ireland, he talks about his odd jobs. It is an honest memoir of a young boy who is lost and trying to figure out life and what to do with his. I liked learning about the reality of the culture of a small Ireland town. This book is definately worth reading.


Angelas Ashes
Angelas Ashes
Author: Frank McCourt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 5/31/2013


Excellent story told by a preteen boy in a poor town in Ireland. He talks about his poor family, how they live and get food, he talks about the church and the presence they have in Ireland, he talks about his odd jobs. It is an honest memoir of a young boy who is lost and trying to figure out life and what to do with his. I liked learning about the reality of the culture of a small Ireland town. This book is definately worth reading.


Anja The Liar
Anja The Liar
Author: Thomas Moran
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/9/2015


Awesome book, kept me captivated. It is one of the few books I have read about live after WWII.


As Seen on TV (Red Dress Ink)
As Seen on TV (Red Dress Ink)
Author: Sarah Mlynowski
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 196
Review Date: 7/23/2015


This is a light, comedic read about a career woman who moves to New York with her boyfriend and while looking for a job gets pursued to join a reality show with 3 other women. I found I couldn't put it down.


Bag of Bones
Bag of Bones
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 386
Review Date: 5/19/2012
Helpful Score: 1


As the cover says 'A haunted love story' and it certainly is all of that. In true Stephen King fashion, this book keeps you sort of confused until the end. Everytime you think you have the story figured out, the story twists and you are left wondering again. It takes some commitment as it is 526 pages, but is WELL worth it.


Bedlam: A Novel of Love and Madness
Bedlam: A Novel of Love and Madness
Author: Greg Hollingshead
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/3/2016


If you are at all interested in mental health and the history of how treatment and institutionalization evolved, then this is the book for you. I found it so incredibly interesting. One of the best books I've read.


The Brief History of the Dead
The Brief History of the Dead
Author: Kevin Brockmeier
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 10/30/2014


It was an unwelcome coincidence that I started reading this book just before the Ebola outbreak because this book's premise is a virus that wipes out everyone on earth. Once a person passes they live in another world as long as someone alive still remembers them. A dual story line is about a group of researchers in Antarctica. I will not tell any more but I would definately recommend this book. The end was a little bizarre but it eventually made sense.


Confessions of a Bi-Polar Mardi Gras Queen
Confessions of a Bi-Polar Mardi Gras Queen
Author: Marie Etienne, Marie Etienne
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/25/2012


Easy read with short chapters. Witty take on life of a bipolar single mother's struggles. Very worth reading.


Crazy Aunt Purl's Drunk, Divorced, and Covered in Cat Hair: The True-Life Misadventures of a 30-Something Who Learned to Knit After He Split
Review Date: 10/3/2016


This book is cute, funny and a feel good easy read.


The Crazy School (Madeline Dare, Bk 2)
The Crazy School (Madeline Dare, Bk 2)
Author: Cornelia Read
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 4/2/2008


Excellent book! It reads quick and is hard to put down.


Designing and Implementing the Microsoft Internet Information Server
Review Date: 3/1/2008


Book includes CD that never been opened.


Devil in the Details : Scenes from an Obsessive Girlhood
Devil in the Details : Scenes from an Obsessive Girlhood
Author: Jennifer Traig
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 4/10/2015


Even though this book covers a serious topic it is written light-heartedly. It is an easy and enjoyable read.


Dope
Dope
Author: Sara Gran
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 10/1/2013


Very good book which explores the drug underworld. The story has a very unexpected twist at the end, I never saw it coming. A quick read.


The First Patient
The First Patient
Author: Michael Palmer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 10/3/2016


I will definately be reading Michael Palmer again! This story was so masterly told from both a political spectrum and the medical spectrum. Every detail was impeccable. He is able to create very strong characters and you can picture them right away. The plot was suspensful and at times read like an action movie. I think I found my new favorite author.


Girlbomb: A Halfway Homeless Memoir
Girlbomb: A Halfway Homeless Memoir
Author: Janice Erlbaum
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 8/17/2014


entertaining read about a not so entertaining subject. Janice is frank and unapologetic about her struggles in and out of her home with her violent stepdad, her stay at a homeless shelter nor her outward rebellion to the word in the form of addiction, boyfriends and bad choices. It gives you a very raw insight into what the home life can lead to and troubled teens in general. Worth the read!


The Glass Castle
The Glass Castle
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3373
Review Date: 2/9/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Absolutely fantastic book!! The author can evoke emotions so precisely that you feel you are there. The tenacity of the little girl makes me envious. Deep, moving, emotional...a must read!

I gave my copy to my 24 yr old Daughter in law. I would love to share it but I carried it with me EVERYWHERE and it got pretty beat up.


Gone to Soldiers
Gone to Soldiers
Author: Marge Piercy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 4/19/2011


This book is split into chapters following 8 peoples lives during WWII. The characters are vast, from an intelligence officer to the families left at home to "carry on" and a Jewish resistance fighter. The book is authentically somber and spares no detail. It is a must for anyone interested in the time of war. Even though it is a long book, the chapter transitions make it an easier read.


Grand Opening
Grand Opening
Author: Jon Hassler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 8/17/2012
Helpful Score: 2


Wow, what an incredible study of human character. This book had me glued to it and finished it in one day, which is unlike me. What drew me to this book at first was the fact that it was written and takes place in MN where I live. Once started, the author caught me with an easily readable style but more than that, his truthful interpretaion of small town MN live and his astutement in developing his characters. This book offers lessons in grief, despair, the bad and the good of the human spirit. It leaves you with a heartfelt message that leaves a lingering impression.


1 to 20 of 50 - Page: