Judi T. (jjt001) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 28 - Page:
The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 3340
Review Date: 3/27/2006


Great thriller, a real page-turner.


Dark Side of the Street
Dark Side of the Street
Author: Jack Higgins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 4/26/2006


Excellent Jack Higgins book. Full of twists and unexpected conclusions.


Face Down Beneath the Eleanor Cross (Susanna, Lady Appleton, Bk 4)
Face Down Beneath the Eleanor Cross (Susanna, Lady Appleton, Bk 4)
Author: Kathy Lynn Emerson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 1/9/2007


Another fun mystery set in Old England. I enjoyed the author's many insights into the time, as well as the clever mystery she set up.


Face Down Under the Wych Elm (Susanna, Lady Appleton, Bk 5)
Face Down Under the Wych Elm (Susanna, Lady Appleton, Bk 5)
Author: Kathy Lynn Emerson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 1/8/2007


A fun mystery set in Old England. This is one in a series that I've enjoyed by Kathy Emerson. She seems to have done a lot of research and the fun facts enhance the story.


Founding Brothers: The Revolutionary Generation
Founding Brothers: The Revolutionary Generation
Author: Joseph J. Ellis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 6/9/2008
Helpful Score: 4


Loved the subject matter, but the writing was a little over the top. He could have said things more succinctly, but I liked the research and organization. Definitely worth the read.


The Four Loves
The Four Loves
Author: C. S. Lewis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 3/27/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A little hard to get into, but once you're engaged there are some really useful and thought-provoking ideas.


Gone for Good
Gone for Good
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 501
Review Date: 3/4/2007


Just like other Coben books, this one is hard to put down! I read it in two days, and enjoyed the many twists and turns. It's a great read.


Hope (Bernard Samson, Bk 8)
Hope (Bernard Samson, Bk 8)
Author: Len Deighton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 3/27/2006


I love Len Deighton, and this one does not disappoint. It's book two of Deighton's third trilogy (after "Berlin Game", "Mexico Set" and "London Match" & "Spy Hook", "Spy Line" and "Spy Sinker") about Master Spy Bernard Sampson and his wife Fiona. (The other two in this second trilogy are, or course, "Faith" and "Charity"). If you like spy books that have engaging characters while keeping you guessing, no one is better than Len Deighton!


Letter from Home
Letter from Home
Author: Carolyn Hart
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 8/3/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A departure for Carolyn Hart, this is set in the past and doesn't involve her usual characters, but I enjoyed it.


Locked Rooms (Mary Russell, Bk 8)
Locked Rooms (Mary Russell, Bk 8)
Author: Laurie R. King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 107
Review Date: 4/12/2007


Loved it! I love this series in general, with it's often far-flung locales. But this time the setting was almost right at home, in San Francisco, and I still found it riveting. I hated to read that last page! I'd strongly recommend this series, I may even go back and read some "real" Sherlock Holmes!


Murder At the Pentagon (Capital Crimes, Bk 11)
Murder At the Pentagon (Capital Crimes, Bk 11)
Author: Margaret Truman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/26/2006


An enjoyable, suspenseful read written with an insider's view.


My Name Is Lucy Barton
My Name Is Lucy Barton
Author: Elizabeth Strout
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 11/8/2017


This was a quick and easy read, and provided much food for thought about relationships and taking a "time out" to look at life. It would have been a fun book club book, but there was just enough undesireable language to make me somewhat uncomfortable sharing. Nothing that most people wouldn't be okay with, just a bit too much for me.


Not a Girl Detective (Cece Caruso, Bk 2)
Not a Girl Detective (Cece Caruso, Bk 2)
Author: Susan Kandel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 11/27/2006


Lots of fun, for Nancy Drew fans and those who don't know the "Girl Detective." Made me want to pull out all my old Nancy Drew mysteries!


Now
Now
Author: Lauren Bacall
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/26/2006


I thoroughly enjoyed this candid autobiography. If you're a Bacall fan, you'll love it!


One False Move (Myron Bolitar, Bk 5)
One False Move (Myron Bolitar, Bk 5)
Author: Harlan Coben
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 224
Review Date: 6/9/2008


I just can't find any redeeming qualities in this book. Even the "good" guys are bad, very bad. The story is depressing, nobody really wins and there's just nothing uplifting at all about it. I should state that I am a fan of Harlan Coben, but not the Myron Bolitar books, and this one proved to be no exception. It's almost like they're written by a different author, or perhaps the author is just writing to a different audience. Or, in this case, perhaps the author was just really depressed? In any case, I'll read more Harlen Coban, but definitely no more Myron Bolitar stories. It certainly keeps your interest and is a quick read, but that's about all the positive I can give it. Goodbye Myron!


A Question of Guilt (West & Bailey, Bk 1)
A Question of Guilt (West & Bailey, Bk 1)
Author: Frances Fyfield
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/26/2006


Great first novel by Frances Fyfield, who is London solicitor specializing in criminal law. Very authentic.


Shamus in the Green Room (Cece Caruso, Bk 3)
Shamus in the Green Room (Cece Caruso, Bk 3)
Author: Susan Kandel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 12/10/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I really, really want to like these books (this one along with "I Dreamed I Married Perry Mason", "Not a Girl Detective"). I think the premise is terrific -- modern writer in LA obsessed with all the old classics (as well as old classic clothes). I think the books are succesful, in varying degrees, in bringing some of the period settings alive, but I'd like to see more. I'm a huge fan of Perry, Nancy Drew and Dashiel Hammett, but they don't always come through as I'd like them to (don't worry, I know that two of these people are fictional, but if you are a fan perhaps you'll know what I mean!). When reading this latest book I kept having to flip back to clarify something about some obscure character or a more major character who wasn't defined very clearly. Unlike Perry and Nancy, the detective star of this book, Cece, doesn't wrap things up very tightly, strings are left hanging. And I'm pretty sure that Sam Spade (Hammett's hard-boiled detective in The Maltese Falcon) would have been disappointed. However, I can't say that there aren't a lot of fun scenes thrown in, with the info about Dashiell Hammet's life and the heroine's musings about clothing choices. So, I'm sure I'll read the next Cece Caruso book (Christietown) and hope for the best. Like the spunky Nancy Drew, and indeed the spunky Cece Caruso, I have a hard time giving up on a case.


Shoot Don't Shoot  (Joanna Brady, Bk 3)
Shoot Don't Shoot (Joanna Brady, Bk 3)
Author: J. A. Jance
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 141
Review Date: 9/1/2006


Good Joanna Brady mystery.


The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference
The Tipping Point: How Little Things Can Make a Big Difference
Author: Malcolm Gladwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 712
Review Date: 4/12/2007
Helpful Score: 11


Excellent book. I really enjoyed the author's writing, and his research and analysis was fascinating. If you want to understand things about society, whether you're doing it for business or just for knowledge, this is a great book.


To Kill a Mockingbird
To Kill a Mockingbird
Author: Harper Lee
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2946
Review Date: 4/12/2007


Phenomenal book. I can't believe I never read it before reaching adulthood, but I'm glad to say I've read it now. Harper Lee is an amazing writer.


1 to 20 of 28 - Page: