Reviews - Jennifer S. (Rowan)

1 to 20 of 45 - Page:
Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye (Psychic Eye, Bk 1)
Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye (Psychic Eye, Bk 1)
Author: Victoria Laurie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 523
Review Date: 3/16/2006


"Pretty cute story. This author shows a lot of promise."


All Families Are Psychotic
All Families Are Psychotic
Author: Douglas Coupland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 9/11/2006


"Fabulous! I always enjoy Douglas Coupland, but this is his absolute best. Deeply flawed and seemingly unlikeable characters, but after just a bit, you realize that you don't just like them. You love them. Just like our (psychotic) families."


American Psycho
American Psycho
Author: Bret Easton Ellis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 285
Review Date: 1/24/2006
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This was a fabulous piece of writing, and I feel 100% positive that it will stay with me the rest of my days. But then again, I'm not so sure that's a good thing. This is the most macabre, gruesome story that I've ever laid eyes upon. Wonderfully glib and funny in places, with the overblown and exaggerated self-absorption of the 1980's, there is virtually no warning when Patrick decides to go on a murderous, torturous, explicit rampage. Not for the faint of heart."


Batman's Guide to Crime  Detection (DK Readers: JLA)
Batman's Guide to Crime Detection (DK Readers: JLA)
Author: Michael Teitelbaum
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/3/2005


"From the back cover:

Find out how police forces combat crime and catch criminals with Batman, the Dark Knight of Gotham City.

Stunning photographs combine with lively illustrations and engaging age-appropriate stories in DK READERS, a multilevel reading program guaranteed to capture children's interest while develoiping their reading skills and general knowledge."


Bitten & Smitten (Immortality Bites, Bk 1)
Bitten & Smitten (Immortality Bites, Bk 1)
Author: Michelle Rowen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 3/25/2006
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"What a fun book! I was so pleasantly surprised with this story, and the author. I look forward to lots more from Michelle Rowen."


Bloodsucking Fiends: A Love Story (Vampire, Bk 1)
Bloodsucking Fiends: A Love Story (Vampire, Bk 1)
Author: Christopher Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 105
Review Date: 1/27/2006


"I loved this book! Very funny."


Cell
Cell
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 758
Review Date: 3/3/2006


"I was very impressed with this story. I really didn't expect to care for it as I have no love for any sort of zombie tale, but as per usual, King put a very human spin on outlandish, (hopefully) impossible events."


City of Bones (Harry Bosch, Bk 8)
City of Bones (Harry Bosch, Bk 8)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 305
Review Date: 11/25/2005


"Good character development and very interesting story."


Company
Company
Author: Max Barry
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 9/26/2006


"For anyone who has ever worked in a large corporate environment, and spent sleepless nights pondering upper management's seemingly meaningless decisions and the heartless treatment of their employees. Oh, and it's really funny too."


DELTA OF VENUS
DELTA OF VENUS
Author: Nin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/12/2005
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Very interesting erotica from Anais Nin. I say "interesting" because at times it is a bit over the top, even disgusting, but overall very hot."


The Door to December
The Door to December
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 229
Review Date: 11/4/2005


"Dean delivers yet again."


Fear Itself (Paris Minton, Bk 2)
Fear Itself (Paris Minton, Bk 2)
Author: Walter Mosley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 10/12/2005


"Very real, gritty dialogue from Walter Mosley. An enjoyable period read of 1950's Los Angeles."


Fear Nothing (Moonlight Bay, Bk 1)
Fear Nothing (Moonlight Bay, Bk 1)
Author: Dean R. Koontz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 452
Review Date: 11/4/2005


"Exciting, terrifying and highly humorous rolled into one. There is some deadpan dialogue in this book that had me on the floor."


Finnegan's Week (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Finnegan's Week (Audio Cassette) (Abridged)
Author: Joseph Wambaugh, David Colacci (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/3/2006


"From the back:

San Diego police detective Finbar Finnegan is forty-something, an aspiring but frustrated actor and-after that third divorce-a committed bachelor. Just when he thinks he's seen it all, he faces a killer more deadly than any psychopath: a 55 gallon drum of the toxic chemical Guthion. That's what two disgruntled truckers are hauling for a waste disposal company. But when they steal some Navy goods to sell on the black market, their scheme goes haywire. Fin joins forces with two impressive female cops on this case-Nell Salter, with whom he has a past; and Bad Dog, with whom he may have a future-if the killing can be stopped."


Getting Mother's Body
Getting Mother's Body
Author: Suzan-Lori Parks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 2/5/2006
6 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Based on things that I had heard, I went into reading this book with the idea that it was going to be a madcap comedy of sorts. While that notion was incorrect, this story does have it's deliciously funny moments. But more than that, this author has a flair for period settings and strong, believable dialogue that make this an unforgettable story."


Ghost of a Chance (Chintz 'n China, Bk 1)
Ghost of a Chance (Chintz 'n China, Bk 1)
Author: Yasmine Galenorn
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 191
Review Date: 4/17/2006
9 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Don't be fooled by the cutesy blurb on the back of the book, or the kitschy cover. This is not really a cozy mystery, although at times the author tries for that. Overall, it's a pretty good story, but much scarier than I expected. Also, some of the dialogue is downright laughable. But overall, it is a solid first book from this author, and I'll give others in the series a chance."


Ghost Walk (Harrison Investigations, Bk 2)
Ghost Walk (Harrison Investigations, Bk 2)
Author: Heather Graham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 462
Review Date: 3/22/2006


"Having heard good things about this author for a long time now, I finally checked out one of her books. And quite honestly, I couldn't figure out what all the fuss was about. A fairly decent plot felt bogged down by lackluster dialogue and repetitive prose."


Good Omens
Good Omens
Author: Neil Gaiman, Terry Pratchett
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 571
Review Date: 3/29/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book made me laugh so loud, and so unexpectedly, and in so many public places... the general public probably thinks that I am as off-kilter as the characters in the book. Wonderful, wonderful story. I can't imagine anyone not loving Good Omens."


Greenwich Killing Time (Kinky Friedman, Bk 1)
Greenwich Killing Time (Kinky Friedman, Bk 1)
Author: Kinky Friedman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 5/18/2006


"I laughed all the way through this book. It reminded me of a funnier, happier, more lighthearted Elmore Leonard story."


Hideaway
Hideaway
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 260
Review Date: 11/4/2005


"More gruesome and macabre than Dean Koontz usually writes, but overall a thrilling and suspenseful story."


1 to 20 of 45 - Page: