Reviews - Shelley (mrschef)

1 to 9 of 9
Another Piece of My Heart
Another Piece of My Heart
Author: Jane Green
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 12/12/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This was my first Jane Green book and I devoured it in two days. The book deals with touch subjects like teen pregnancy, alcoholism and divorce and ask the question of what it really means to be a mom. The drama felt real and not over the top like some chick-lit books can be. If this is typical of Jane Green's writing, I look forward to reading more from her."


Barrel Fever: Stories and Essays
Barrel Fever: Stories and Essays
Author: David Sedaris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 389
Review Date: 3/1/2012
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Nowhere near as funny as his other collections. If you haven't read any David Sedaris before, do not start with Barrel Fever. The two entries that made their way into Holidays on Ice are the only two entries worth reading."


A Dog Named Slugger
A Dog Named Slugger
Author: Leigh Brill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 12/14/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I absolutely loved this book even though it made me cry oceans of tears. It's a heartwarming tribute to Leigh Brill's first service dog. Anyone dealing with a mobility issue will identify with the story as will dog lovers. If you liked Marley and Me, you'll like this story."


Everything Changes
Everything Changes
Author: Jonathan Tropper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 5/14/2012
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Jonathan Tropper is genius plain and simple. He writes three dimensional characters and then puts them through the wringer. He will make you laugh and break your heart and touch deep inside your soul all in the same book. This is a much sweeter story than This Is Where I Leave You, but it is still easily recognizable as a Tropper title. Highly recommended!"


The Fates Will Find Their Way
The Fates Will Find Their Way
Author: Hannah Pittard
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 12/1/2011
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is one of my favorite books from 2011 and one that I've re-read a few times. This is a book about Nora, a 16 year old girl who goes missing and her effect on the community. It's told from the first person plural POV from the boys who attended school with Nora. What happened to Nora is not fully defined which is why I love this book as much as I do. The what if's are left up to the reader. Each time I read this I imagine something different happening. Fans of Jeffrey Eugenides will enjoy this."


The Hunger Games (Hunger Games, Bk 1)
The Hunger Games (Hunger Games, Bk 1)
Author: Suzanne Collins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 2135
Review Date: 4/28/2012


"I found this book incredibly derivative. The characters are cliche and 2 dimensional. Katniss is no stronger of a character than Bella Swan; both girls are wimps. This was so disappointing and nowhere near worthy of all its hype."


My Sister's Keeper
My Sister's Keeper
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 3961
Review Date: 12/7/2011


"This was the first Jodi Picoult book I read and oh boy was it a real stinker! I can't think of any other books that I hate as much as this one. The writing is trite and predictable. The characters are stereotypical and flat, for example you have a firefighter dad and of course he has to have an arsonist son (insert eye roll). The ending was ridiculous and a complete cop out! Honestly the only reason I finished the book was because I wanted to know why the lawyer had a service dog. What could have been an excellent story in the hands of a more capable author is butchered by Jodi Picoult. Why she has such a rabid lemming following is beyond me."


This Is Where I Leave You
This Is Where I Leave You
Author: Jonathan Tropper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 12/5/2011


"This is one of my top 5 books that I'd take with to a deserted island. Hilarious and heartbreaking, Jonathan Tropper is hard on his characters and some of them totally deserve everything they get and then some. You can't go wrong with a Rabbi named Boner, and a wayward training potty, not to mention the cheesecake scene. The humor is not for the easily offended, lots of fart jokes, penis jokes and a lot of foul language. No book has made me laugh this hard since Augusten Burrough's Running With Scissors. Highly recommended!"


Wicked (Wicked Years, Bk 1)
Wicked (Wicked Years, Bk 1)
Author: Gregory Maguire
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3540
Review Date: 12/7/2011


"To me Wicked was fabulous. The musical version sucked out loud! The book is NOTHING like the musical, it's so much darker and deeper. If you've ever felt like the little weird green girl, this is a book for you."


1 to 9 of 9