Michelle D. (realneat) - Reviews

1 to 14 of 14
Down Came the Rain : My Journey Through Postpartum Depression
Down Came the Rain : My Journey Through Postpartum Depression
Author: Brooke Shields
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 5/18/2008


So not what I expected... I was rather disappointed with this memoir. Brooke Shields' experience with postpartum psychosis seemed to be glossed over, with no sense of realism. Definitely not an enlightening book by any means. I was hoping that Brooke Shields would leverage her celebrity with her book to address some of the truly tragic issues that many new mothers face in order to better educate the general public about postpartum mood disorders, as well as offer encouragement to those who need it most. Unfortunately, this book did not deliver... Bummer.


Down Came the Rain : My Journey Through Postpartum Depression
Down Came the Rain : My Journey Through Postpartum Depression
Author: Brooke Shields
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 160
Review Date: 5/18/2008


So not what I expected... I was rather disappointed with this memoir. Brooke Shields' experience with postpartum psychosis seemed to be glossed over, with no sense of realism. Definitely not an enlightening book by any means. I was hoping that Brooke Shields would leverage her celebrity with her book to address some of the truly tragic issues that many new mothers face in order to better educate the general public about postpartum mood disorders, as well as offer encouragement to those who need it most. Unfortunately, this book did not deliver... Bummer.


Feed
Feed
Author: M. T. Anderson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 5/15/2008


Excellent satirical sci-fi read. Author successfully captured the true essence of what teen life and conversation may be like in the future.


The Girlfriends' Guide to Pregnancy Or Everything Your Doctor Won't Tell You
Review Date: 5/18/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Great humor mixed with insight and wisdom about what it's really like to be pregnant! Excellent read! (Perfect baby shower gift!)


The Girlfriends' Guide to Surviving the First Year of Motherhood
The Girlfriends' Guide to Surviving the First Year of Motherhood
Author: Vicki Iovine
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 207
Review Date: 5/18/2008


Great humor mixed with insight and wisdom about what really goes on during the first year of motherhood! Excellent read!


I Know an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Fly
I Know an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Fly
Author: Nadine Bernard Westcott
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 9/6/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Loved the illustrations in this board book! This was one of my daughter's favorites. We read (well, sang) it over and over again for years...


The Mom Book: 4278 of Mom Central's Tips. . .For Moms from Moms
The Mom Book: 4278 of Mom Central's Tips. . .For Moms from Moms
Author: Stacy M. DeBroff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 5/15/2008


Great resource full of tips and ideas on practially any subject geared toward moms! You'll find yourself referring to it again and again. Definitely a keeper!


Sams Teach Yourself Html 4 in 24 Hours
Sams Teach Yourself Html 4 in 24 Hours
Author: Dick Oliver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/15/2008


Fabulous resource for anyone interested in learning HTML. Quick and easy read. Excellent learn-as-you-go mini coding projects put your skills to the test!


The Second Summer of the Sisterhood
The Second Summer of the Sisterhood
Author: Ann Brashares
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 220
Review Date: 5/15/2008
Helpful Score: 1


What a fabulous book! Couldn't put it down! Sequel book not only met, but also exceeded expectations!


The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants
The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants
Author: Ann Brashares
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 832
Review Date: 5/15/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Wow! Great read! The girlfriends in the Sisterhood are wonderfully complex characters, and the author draws you right in... The girls' experiences easily feel as though they are your personal experiences!


Speak
Speak
Author: Laurie Halse Anderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 525
Review Date: 5/15/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Absolutely wonderful read! Truly captures the essence of life as a teenager.


This Isn't What I Expected : Overcoming Postpartum Depression
Review Date: 5/18/2008


Fabulous resource for any woman experiencing postpartum depression or other mood disorders after her child's birth! Karen Kleiman is extremely thorough in her research, from the causes of PPD to treatment options to how families can provide support along the way. A MUST READ for any new mom, especially anyone suffering from PPD!


Trashproof Resumes (The Princeton Review)
Trashproof Resumes (The Princeton Review)
Author: Timothy Haft
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/15/2008


Great resource with insightful and practical recommendations for writing resumes. Appendix is an excellent resource in itself, with an extensive variety of well-written and visually-appealing sample resumes for any job searcher seeking practically any career path imaginable.


What Is Maggie Wearing? (Tom and Maggie)
What Is Maggie Wearing? (Tom and Maggie)
Author: Lieve Baeten
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/6/2013


Adorable lift-the-flap board book. This was one of my daughter's favorites!


1 to 14 of 14