Edward C. S. (ed) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 93 - Page:
Abraham : A Journey to the Heart of Three Faiths (P. S.)
Abraham : A Journey to the Heart of Three Faiths (P. S.)
Author: Bruce Feiler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 9/2/2006


"Bruce Feiler uncovers the defining yet divisive role that Abraham plays for half the believers" (book jacket)


Act of Mercy (Sister Fidelma, Bk 8)
Act of Mercy (Sister Fidelma, Bk 8)
Author: Peter Tremayne
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 1/24/2007
Helpful Score: 2


liked it fairly well. Very interesting mystery in historical setting - early Ireland 600 AD & early celts. Author Peter [Tremayne] Ellis is cited as an authority on early celts. I plan to read some others when I get thru the load I have on my bookshelf.


Alternate Realities: Port Eternity / Voyager in Night / Wave Without a Shore
Alternate Realities: Port Eternity / Voyager in Night / Wave Without a Shore
Author: C. J. Cherryh
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 12/27/2006
Helpful Score: 1


some of cherryh's early novels. I particvlarly liked "Port Eternity" ( a takeoff on Arturian legend) and "wave without a shore" in which you can see the beginnings of humans and alien cultures interacting in her work.


An Eye of the Fleet (Nathaniel Drinkwater, No 1)
An Eye of the Fleet (Nathaniel Drinkwater, No 1)
Author: Richard Woodman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 10/29/2006


good naval story. the rest of the series should be fun


Anabasis: A Journey to the Interior
Anabasis: A Journey to the Interior
Author: Ellen Gilchrist
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/20/2007


This NOT the march of the 10,000 and xenophon. "A slave girl named Auria begins her ascension to freedom and self discovery. She rescues a child that has been put out to die, and the flee to the mountains." Set in Ancient Greece o/a 500 B.C.


Because of Winn-Dixie
Because of Winn-Dixie
Author: Kate DiCamillo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 203
Review Date: 9/30/2006


really a great book, especially for 9-11 year olds. One of my all time favorites along with charlottes web and where the red fern grows


The Berets (Brotherhood of War, Bk 5)
The Berets (Brotherhood of War, Bk 5)
Author: W. E. B. Griffin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 6/9/2006


I read these while my wife shops. They are easy to put down and start up again. I'm retired army and it's fun to to see his take on events I knew about (1955-75).


The Best of C.S. Lewis
The Best of C.S. Lewis
Author: C.S. Lewis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/2/2006


this 1969 edition contains -the screwtape letters, the great divorce, miracles, the case for christianity, and christian behavior.


Black and Blue (Inspector Rebus, Bk 8)
Black and Blue (Inspector Rebus, Bk 8)
Author: Ian Rankin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 7/8/2006


Great !!!!


The Black Book / Mortal Causes (Inspector Rebus, Bks 5 & 6)
The Black Book / Mortal Causes (Inspector Rebus, Bks 5 & 6)
Author: Ian Rankin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/11/2006


This is a great series. inspector Rebus is a Scottish dective. All sorts of good info along with a fast paced mystery. Another super british detective joins Morse and Cadefal


Blacklist (V. I. Warshawski, Bk 11)
Blacklist (V. I. Warshawski, Bk 11)
Author: Sara Paretsky
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 184
Review Date: 3/22/2007


V.I. Warshawski investigates night lights, which turns into a murder investigation and in conflict with the Feds and the Patriot Act. Her usual assorted cast of characters and friends make for a good read


Blood Hunt
Blood Hunt
Author: Ian Rankin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 4/19/2007


not a"rebus" novel, but just as good!!


Brothers of Earth
Brothers of Earth
Author: C. J. Cherryh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/3/2006


this is a 1976 first printing of cherryh's early novels. A good story and well written. two human enemies in a world of humanoid aliens.


The Care of Time
The Care of Time
Author: Eric Ambler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/13/2006
Helpful Score: 1


NYT calls it "a thinking man's thriller". Amblers were best sellers in the early 80's. This is my third one and he is well worth reading. His main characters are not professional "spooks" but handle themselves well. He seems to like writers and journalists for this role.


Cause for Alarm
Cause for Alarm
Author: Eric Ambler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/8/2006


Classic spy thriller by the autor of coffin for Dimitrios. These were generalyy written in Late 30's early 40's.


Challenger's Hope (Seafort Saga, Bk 2)
Challenger's Hope (Seafort Saga, Bk 2)
Author: David Feintuch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 45
Review Date: 7/8/2006


Good series - I am looking forward to finding Book One and then picking up book 3


Charlotte's Web
Charlotte's Web
Author: E. B. White, Garth Williams (Illustrator), Rosemary Wells (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 92
Review Date: 9/30/2006
Helpful Score: 2


What can I say; just one of the best books ever written for any age! I have read it over a dozen times to children and education majors. he only problem is that "EVERYONE" reads it to their class starting with 1st or 2nd grade; upside is that it is meaningfull and can be understood at many levels


A Clash of Kings (Song of Ice and Fire, Bk 2)
A Clash of Kings (Song of Ice and Fire, Bk 2)
Author: George R. R. Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 636
Review Date: 2/20/2007


great series


The Collected Short Fiction of C.J. Cherryh
The Collected Short Fiction of C.J. Cherryh
Author: C. J. Cherryh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/12/2007


a mixed bag of Cherryh's short stories and novelletes. 642 pages


The Corvette
The Corvette
Author: Richard Woodman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/12/2008


this is one of the best N. Drinkwater novels that I have read so far.


1 to 20 of 93 - Page: