Cheryl P. (Engsetterlover) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 50 - Page:
Angela's Ashes
Angela's Ashes
Author: Frank McCourt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 481
Review Date: 7/11/2006


a little slow in the beginning...


The Athena Project (Athena Project, Bk 1)
The Athena Project (Athena Project, Bk 1)
Author: Brad Thor
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 9/15/2013


I found Brad Thor's The Athena Project an enjoyable quick read. His characters are interesting and his plot moves forward quickly. He states on the page before the first page of text, that "the science in this novel is based on reality". I find that a frightening prospect after finishing the book. The research and experiments used in the plot are from World War II and the Nazis. Mr. Thor writes in the manner of Vince Flynn and Brian Haig. I believe Mr. Flynn was the best writer of this type of thriller genre and has no equals and I enjoy Brain Haig's smart mouth main character, Sean Drummond immensely. Still I enjoyed the rapport between Mr. Thor's main characters; Gretchen Casey, Julie Ericsson, Megan Rhodes and Alex Cooper.


Blood of the Fold (Sword of Truth, Book 3)
Blood of the Fold (Sword of Truth, Book 3)
Author: Terry Goodkind
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 8/6/2005


Now Richard and Kahlan's struggles continue, against a new and equally dire foe. A group of fanatical anti-magic zealots have joined forces to thwart Richard and Kahlan. They are the unwitting pawns of a sorcerous evil from the old world, a realm that has been magically sealed for thousands of years. Richard, Kahlan and their allies face the combined might of the two worlds--the old and the new. This stunning confrontation threatens an armaggeddon of unimaginable proportions unless Richard and Kahlan can believe the power of their love and their faith in the truth.


The Book of Jhereg (Vlad Taltos, Bks 1-3)
The Book of Jhereg (Vlad Taltos, Bks 1-3)
Author: Steven Brust
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 7/24/2011


I enjoyed this book especially it being an omnibus of the first three novels. The author states at the beginning that the editors made the decision of the order of the books. I would have preferred that they had been in chronological order myself. The second novel is actually (within the time frame) the first. I enjoyed it enough that I have placed the omnibus of the fourth and fifth novels on my wish list.


Darkest Before Dawn (KGI, Bk 10)
Darkest Before Dawn (KGI, Bk 10)
Author: Maya Banks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 1/23/2017


I enjoyed Maya Bank's Darkest Before Dawn. But I found that the first two thirds of the book, was the main two characters' inner dialogue. It made the storyline a little slow reading. In the final third of the book, the action happens and there is more dialogue between the characters. Not one of my favorites of the KGI series.


Dogged Pursuit (Jack and Jamie, Bk 5)
Dogged Pursuit (Jack and Jamie, Bk 5)
Author: Lee Charles Kelley
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 1/30/2007


It is a quick, good little mystery. If you love dogs, it makes it more fun. The front cover has an English setter on it.


Dragonseye (Dragonriders of Pern, Bk 4) (aka Red Star Rising) (Audio Cassette) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 11/3/2005


very enjoyable -- good series


Echoes of Honor (Honor Harrington, Bk 8)
Echoes of Honor (Honor Harrington, Bk 8)
Author: David Weber
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 4/4/2007


Another great read in the Honor Harrington series.


Engaging the Enemy (Vatta's War, Bk 3)
Engaging the Enemy (Vatta's War, Bk 3)
Author: Elizabeth Moon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 3/11/2007


Good read just like all of Elizabeth Moon's book. The third installment of the Ky Vatta series and how she becomes a spaceforce commander.


The Eye of the World (Wheel of Time, Bk 1)
The Eye of the World (Wheel of Time, Bk 1)
Author: Robert Jordan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 711
Review Date: 8/29/2005


The Wheel of Time turns and Ages come and go, leaving memories that become legend. Legend fades to myth, and even myth is long forgotten when the Age that gave it birth returns again. In the Third Age, an Age of Prophecy, the World and Time themselves hang in the balance. What was, what will be, and what is, may yet fall under the Shadow.

The Eye of the World, Book One of The Wheel of Time series.


Field of Dishonor (Honor Harrington Series, Book 4)
Field of Dishonor (Honor Harrington Series, Book 4)
Author: David Weber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 1/24/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Another good read by David Weber. The previous Honor Harrington novel by hi, The Short Victorious War and this one, Field of Dishonor are the best in the series that I have read so far. Good character development and plenty of action to keep you reading.


Flag in Exile (Honor Harrington, Bk 5)
Flag in Exile (Honor Harrington, Bk 5)
Author: David Weber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 2/17/2007


Once again David Weber has done a great job writing about the life of Honor Harrington. I enjoy his characters' development and he always delivers on the space battles.


For The Emperor (Ciaphas Cain)
For The Emperor (Ciaphas Cain)
Author: Sandy Mitchell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 7/16/2005


Commissar Ciaphas Cain -- hero of the Imperium and renowned across the sector for his bravery and valour -- is sent to help maintain order on an outpost world on the borders of Tau space. But when the alien ambassador is murdered and the situation quckly sprials out of control, Cain and his regiment of Valhallans find themselves in the middle of a war.


Full of Grace
Full of Grace
Author: Dorothea Benton Frank
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 5/9/2007


Another good Dorothea Benton Frank read.


Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 8/15/2006


I enjoyed this one but still liked "In Her Shoes" better. My friend liked this one the best........enjoyable reading.


Goodnight Nobody
Goodnight Nobody
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 502
Review Date: 7/5/2006


It was a fun read. Although I found In Her Shoes and Good In Bed more entertaining.


Heir of Stone (The Cloudmages #3) (The Cloudmages)
Heir of Stone (The Cloudmages #3) (The Cloudmages)
Author: S. L. Farrell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/7/2006


I have read all three of the series and enjoyed each one. Each book covers a different generation and the problems they faced.


The High Lord (Black Magician, Bk 3)
The High Lord (Black Magician, Bk 3)
Author: Trudi Canavan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 203
Review Date: 9/18/2005


It started out slow but this may be due to the fact that it is the third book in the series. It is the first one of the series that I have read and that may be what influenced how I felt as I was beginning to read the novel.


Holder of Lightning (The Cloudmages, Book 1)
Holder of Lightning (The Cloudmages, Book 1)
Author: S. L. Farrell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 8/2/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed this one so much that I'm looking forward to reading the second book of the Cloudmages series.


Honor Among Enemies (Honor Harrington, Bk 6)
Honor Among Enemies (Honor Harrington, Bk 6)
Author: David Weber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 101
Review Date: 2/27/2007


Once again David Weber has written an entertaining and totally believable book about Honor Harrington and her experiences. I enjoy the characters he has fleshed out in this series and look forward to reading the next installment.


1 to 20 of 50 - Page: