Bree G. (paisleywings) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 230 - Page:
Alex Cross's Trial (Alex Cross, Bk 15)
Alex Cross's Trial (Alex Cross, Bk 15)
Author: Richard Dilallo, James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 220
Review Date: 3/1/2010


This was a wonderful book to read. It has a more historical plot to it and takes place in the early 1900s is Mississippi where lynchings and lawlessness still prevailed. It does have many disturbing scenes to it, but it is a very enlightening book that packs a lot of punch. It is a departure from his usual writing, but it was a refreshing departure. It is not his usual story line, but the chapters stayed tight and short, making you want to keep on reading.


Alice
Alice
Author: Christina Henry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 12/18/2016


Love the author, disliked this book. I was bored.


Amazing Gracie : A Dog's Tale
Amazing Gracie : A Dog's Tale
Author: Dan Dye, Mark Beckloff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 4/9/2011


I loved this book. Gracie the deaf great dane finds love and respect. A very hardwarmng story.


And One Last Thing ...
And One Last Thing ...
Author: Molly Harper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 8/25/2014


This was a fun and easy read. It moved along and was never boring. Many times I laughed out loud.


Are You There, Vodka? It's Me, Chelsea
Are You There, Vodka? It's Me, Chelsea
Author: Chelsea Handler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 348
Review Date: 7/12/2011


I adore Chelsea as a comedian, but her book left me less than satisfied. It was a let-down, although it had its moments.


At Home on Ladybug Farm (Ladybug Farm, Bk 2) (Large Print)
At Home on Ladybug Farm (Ladybug Farm, Bk 2) (Large Print)
Author: Donna Ball
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/27/2011


Excellent story or three retired ladies, one with a daughter who comes to live with them, and a lost boy they adopt, all share the consequences of living Ladybug Farm. Heart warming and enduring read.


Autobiography of a Fat Bride : True Tales of a Pretend Adulthood
Autobiography of a Fat Bride : True Tales of a Pretend Adulthood
Author: Laurie Notaro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 291
Review Date: 4/18/2013


It was refreshing in the beginning and then around half way it didn't really offer anything imressive. Some of the humor was delightful, but not laugh out loud funny. Okay for an afternoon read.


Backseat Saints
Backseat Saints
Author: Joshilyn Jackson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 6/14/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I really liked this book. The abuse the main character endures is disturbing, but it was well written plot-wise. We root for Rose Mae to escape her jealous husband even though he tracks her down. Given that, she prepares for that eventual meeting...but things end differently than she expected. Couldn't stop reading this book. I've read almost all Joshilyn Jackson's books and this is my favoite.


A Bad Day for Sorry (Stella Hardesty, Bk 1)
A Bad Day for Sorry (Stella Hardesty, Bk 1)
Author: Sophie Littlefield
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 5/3/2012


First time reading this author and I enjoyed it very much. Stella is in her fifties. Her no good husband is dead, and now she helps other abused women to find peace. Lots of humor and drama.


Bad Monkey
Bad Monkey
Author: Carl Hiaasen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 5/11/2016


I really enjoyed this book. What people will do for money. hilarious.


The Bar Code Tattoo (Bar Code, Bk 1)
The Bar Code Tattoo (Bar Code, Bk 1)
Author: Suzanne Weyn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 116
Review Date: 2/28/2011


Just finished reading this and found it very absorbing. It's futuristic content is an interesting twist and could conceivably happen sometime in the further future. The characters are interesting and well established. Couldn't put it down.


Barefoot
Barefoot
Author: Elin Hilderbrand
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 572
Review Date: 6/1/2012


Three sisters with three different emotinal issues live out the summer in Nantucket together. One is fighting cancer, the next lost her position as as a promisng professor for dating a student, the other is pregnant and running away from her cheating husband. Tempers flare and confidence flounders, but each makes a choice that brings them back into the fold of life after the summer.

Nicely paced and full of family troubles.


Barely Bewitched (Southern Witch, Bk 2)
Barely Bewitched (Southern Witch, Bk 2)
Author: Kimberly Frost
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 10/5/2012


A good fun romp. However, I couldn't believe Tammy Jo could withstand all the beat downs she suffered. Her ex and new amour battle for her affection, plus save the local town from fairy dust and local crazies. More fun is added when the ghost, aunt Edie, returns and locates the magic emeralds that belong to Tammy Jo's family.


Beauty : A Retelling of the Story of Beauty and the Beast (Folktales)
Review Date: 5/4/2011


A very awesome re-telling of the story of Beauty and the Beast. Robin McKinley does it well and we get close to the characters and root for the Beast.


Becoming Chloe
Becoming Chloe
Author: Catherine Ryan Hyde
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/12/2014


This was interesting enough to keep me reading. We never really find out the back-story to the two young people who become companions on a cross-country trip to find the beautiful things in life. It was refreshing in an odd way.


Behind the Attic Wall
Behind the Attic Wall
Author: Sylvia Cassedy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 12/31/2013


This was just ok for me. When I got the hang of the story I began scanning pages. The ending was different than I expected.


Best Friends Forever
Best Friends Forever
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 291
Review Date: 10/29/2009


I really enjoyed this book. True - it was a bit quirky, but that's what I likd about it. It was an fun read, but had interesting plot lines as well as tension and mystery.


Between, Georgia
Between, Georgia
Author: Joshilyn Jackson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 117
Review Date: 2/3/2011


I enjoyed this book very much. A woman who is given up a a baby by the opposing people of a small town in Georgia. She is a Crabtree, but raised as a Frett. The Crabtrees and the Fretts have an ongoing dispute that puts Nonny Jane in the middle. The Crabtrees are full of "good ole boys" who like to fight and distroy on a moments notice, and often times this is at the peril of the Fretts lives. There is also a journey here for Nonny Jane - some of it is finding romance, and some is doing the right thing. Subplots are interesting, too.


Between Shades of Gray
Between Shades of Gray
Author: Ruta Sepetys
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 3/3/2013


A very good book. This takes place during the Stalin era when there were lists and people were shoved on trains and taken to god forsaken destinations and made to work as slaves with little food or shelter.

Written from the POV of a fifteen year old girl who looses everything, but yet desparately stays alive.


Big Stone Gap (Big Stone Gap, Bk 1)
Big Stone Gap (Big Stone Gap, Bk 1)
Author: Adriana Trigiani
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 120
Review Date: 12/3/2009


First time reading this author. I enjoyed it and will probably read her other books. The story was fine tuned and left out enough information to keep a series going. Interesting characters and way of life in Big Stone Gap.


1 to 20 of 230 - Page: