Ciara S. (ciaradawn) - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
Angela's Ashes
Angela's Ashes
Author: Frank McCourt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 481
Review Date: 3/3/2008


I absolutely love this book. It is so well written and it pulls you into it the story.


The Bluest Eye
The Bluest Eye
Author: Toni Morrison
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 4/17/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I read this book in one of my college classes. I enjoyed it very much but there is a lot of stuff in it that is very hard to read and get through; a lot of hard topics. But it is a very good book; well written & though provoking.


The Divide
The Divide
Author: Nicholas Evans
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 156
Review Date: 4/9/2008
Helpful Score: 5


This book was pretty good. A friend recommended it to me because we lived in Missoula Montana & a large portion of the book takes place there. It was a fairly quick read for me. The characters are lovable and relatable and you really feel for their struggles. Evans makes even the bad parts of people understandable. The book showcases the good and evil in all of us. The story is interesting and intruiging and it's written backwards and throughout the story you find out what happened to the family. It was a little dark, but not too much. The story was very intruiging and original.

You know how you hear stories on tv about horrible things that happen to families? This is like hearing the story from the family's point of view. It's very interesting. I recommend it.


Middlesex
Middlesex
Author: Jeffrey Eugenides
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 921
Review Date: 9/4/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Like someone else said, I'm more surprised that this isn't a real memoir than that it isn't. It is incredibly well written; one of the best books I've read to date. It is certainly not a fast read by any means, but I found myself not wanting to put it down nonetheless. There are some sensitive issues that the more conservative reader might find uncomfortable, but it was written with great tact and believability. I highly recommend this book! I'm so glad I found it and someone had it to send to me!


The Red Tent
The Red Tent
Author: Anita Diamant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3395
Review Date: 4/17/2008


It's been several years since I've read this last but I plan to read it again soon. It was such a great story; incredibly thought-provoking. It gives you a different perspective from the women's point of view. Some people may not like it because of the portrayal of the men in the book; they come off quite cruel; but you just have to take it for what it is, not historical fact; it's just a story. It is very inspiring for women. What the character goes through is incredible. An amazing story of a woman's strength. I do recommend it highly.


The Rowan
The Rowan
Author: Anne McCaffrey
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 3/3/2008


This is one of my favorite books. I've read it twice and I still want to read it again. Rowan is a great character.


Small Wonder: Essays
Small Wonder: Essays
Author: Barbara Kingsolver
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 3/16/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I really loved this book. It is set up as several short essays/stories. It's a little complicated at times and it seemed to drag on during certain parts, but the way it was set up was really nice because I was able to finish the chapter and then the next story was different and a fresh viewpoint. It was the first Barbara Kingsolver book I read and it inspired me to read The Poisonwood Bible, which I also love. This book is not like her fictional novels, but is still written beautifully in Kingsolver's unique style and her stories within the book are very inspiring and touching. There are a lot of facts and stories about nature. It's not a fast read. I highly reccommend it for the person who enjoys though-provoking books and can push through a few pages that might be a little difficult to read.


The Time Traveler's Wife
The Time Traveler's Wife
Author: Audrey Niffenegger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5254
Review Date: 4/2/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I just finished this book and I'm sad that it's over. I could almost see a sequel. I always miss the characters. I thought the writing was great and the story was very intruiging. I can see why some people would say that it's a little boring, but it was not boring for me. Maybe if you're used to reading fast action books it might be a little slow but I read it in under 3 weeks. The way the book was written was very interesting. I really enjoyed how the author gave bits and pieces and then filled in the gaps throughout the story; very well written and a unique idea that exceeded my expectations. The characters were interesting if sometimes a little difficult to relate to. However I did find myself wanting them to succeed and loving them. The story is just SO fascinating!

They are making this book into a movie and I believe it will show sometime late in 2008 or early 2009. I am very excited because Rachel McAdams will be playing Clare and I really like her. - I don't know if I can post links here, but I'm going to try; http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0452694/


The Value of Believing in Yourself: The Story of Louis Pasteur (Valuetales)
Review Date: 2/23/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I love the ValueTales. My dad used to read them to me as a kid every night before bedtime. I highly recommend them. They are accurate and kids will remember the stories. I also love the artwork; To this day I remember the historical characters from the pictures in the books & I can visualize the artwork. Just 2 years ago I knew the answer to a bonus question on a history test in college because I remembered the story from one of these books. It was Marie Curie. These books are equal opportunity in that they have stories about men and women. They are A++ books!


1 to 9 of 9