Arreana S. (arreana) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 58 - Page:
2 x 4 Projects for Outdoor Living
2 x 4 Projects for Outdoor Living
Author: Stevie Henderson, Mark Baldwin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 9/15/2010


Great projects, simple instructions. I plan to use this book over and over again.


24 Hours (aka Trapped) (Mississippi, Bk 2)
24 Hours (aka Trapped) (Mississippi, Bk 2)
Author: Greg Iles
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 349
Review Date: 9/15/2010


Definitely well written; this one kept me reading it until I was finished.


2nd Chance (Women's Murder Club, Bk 2)
2nd Chance (Women's Murder Club, Bk 2)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1180
Review Date: 3/18/2011


Not a bad series but I have found it sadly disappointing when I compare it to the Alex Cross stories. One of the better sets of books Patterson has "co-written."


The ABCs of Handwriting Analysis
The ABCs of Handwriting Analysis
Author: Claude Santoy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/13/2009


I found this book didn't bring it all together the way I hoped it would. I couldn't find many of my own handwriting idiosyncracies in here anywhere. In the end, it was a disappointing read.


Ask And It Is Given: Learning To Manifest Your Desires
Ask And It Is Given: Learning To Manifest Your Desires
Author: Esther Hicks, Jerry Hicks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 2/12/2010


I believe in the power of positive thought. It's when it is hardest to be positive that it is most critical in our lives. I'll be reading this book several times to ensure I've gained everything I want to know from it.


The Beloved: Reflections on the Path of the Heart
The Beloved: Reflections on the Path of the Heart
Author: Kahlil Gibran
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/15/2010


As always, Gibran explores the emotional aspects of people so thoroughly it is as if he takes everything you feel and hope...and spins it into words.


The Blind-Date King
The Blind-Date King
Author: Jeff Kosakow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/8/2009


Interesting story taken from a man's perspective on romance (as well as his sexual inclinations). It is uncommon to see such honesty laid out for everyone to review. Although Jeff would deny it, it is a rather clear description of yet another facet of his persona. Perhaps for only the second time, I have been able to peer through a door slightly ajar and witness the baring of a soul. What's in our soul is not always what we wish people to see, but it is certainly the most honest description of who we are.


Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3518
Review Date: 2/23/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I'm so sad at the thought of never seeing the characters again. The series has been well-written and will be one of those special sets that I'll read over and over again. It may have been planned for a teenage audience...but the fact that it touches on the kind of love we all dream of...it has found a place in the heart of many.


The Christmas Train
The Christmas Train
Author: David Baldacci
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 287
Review Date: 7/20/2010
Helpful Score: 1


One of the best books I've read in a long time. The tale of a train ride across America...just at Christmas, the interplay of the passengers and the bonds forged. David Baldacci weaves characters so well that I was absorbed from the first few pages and really couldn't put the book down. That actually surprises me since I didn't expect to like the book.

An excellent read...a beautiful story.


Classic Makeup and Beauty (DK Living)
Classic Makeup and Beauty (DK Living)
Author: Mary Quant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 11/7/2009


Not a bad guide for someone who totally doesn't know how to apply make-up, but for someone looking to take it a step further...it doesn't go far enough. I'd recommend it for any young girl just beginning, though.


Conversations with God : An Uncommon Dialogue, Bk 1
Conversations with God : An Uncommon Dialogue, Bk 1
Author: Neale Donald Walsch
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 148
Review Date: 9/15/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I love this book. It took everything I believe and moved it a step further on my path. Questions I've strugggled with were answered in ways I can understand and relate to. It makes God more of a friend...than an object.


Creating a Charmed Life : Sensible, Spiritual Secrets Every Busy Woman Should Know
Review Date: 4/24/2010


I wasn't expecting much when I ordered this book but what I got was amazing. Filled with bits of wisdom you wish your grandmother had shared with you and some of the best advice I've ever heard, the book spoke to me from the very first page. In fact, I've read it slowly over the past week and found that situations described were happening to me...or I was becoming aware of them...within hours of reading it.

I love the book and I recommend it to anyone who is trying to put their life together in a cohesive, peaceful, and loving manner.


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4414
Review Date: 11/8/2009


Not just a story for young people, this book helped me to take a different look at people with autism and other disorders of the brain. We are so quick to assume everyone has to be just like us and then...we are given new data to consider that shows us just how much we are all alike, regardless of the differences we display. The book helped me to gain a totally different perspective on behaviors we might not understand in people we often judge to be...abnormal.


The Curse of Chalion (Curse of Chalion, Bk 1)
The Curse of Chalion (Curse of Chalion, Bk 1)
Author: Lois McMaster Bujold
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 7/20/2011


Excellent book, wonderful series. There is strength in the characters and many lessons to be considered. A book that allows me to reconsider much of what I personally believe...and challenges me to dig deeper.


The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 3344
Review Date: 11/7/2009


An excellent book and a great read. It certainly provoked thought and intrigued me enough to do further research. Truth involved or not...it challenges your imagination and your mind. I highly recommend this book.


Deadline (Mira)
Deadline (Mira)
Author: Metsy Hingle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 11/22/2009


Well written and the mystery holds its own right up to the end of the story. Exactly what I love best in a mystery.


The Duke's Mistress (Harlequin Historical, No 705)
The Duke's Mistress (Harlequin Historical, No 705)
Author: Ann Elizabeth Cree
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 11/7/2009


Enjoyable. I don't read a lot of Harlequin books, but this one captured my attention and held it.


Experiencing Prayer with Jesus : The Power of His Presence and Example
Review Date: 4/2/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I always love books by this father and son pair of authors. They take concepts I am still learning, and make them clear...make them live for me. My walk with God has only been enhanced by each one of their books I've read.

The book spends s fsir bit of time evslusting the prayer habits of Jesus and bringing home how important it is that we pray continually...like a walking dialogue with God; that we pray for everything; and that prayer isn't just about us.

Well worth the time to read and think through.


Experiencing the Cross : Your Greatest Opportunity for Victory Over Sin
Review Date: 11/27/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent book! I'm fairly new to Christianity and learning as I go. This book helped me to evaluate my next steps and the person I am meant to be as a Christian. It is well written and quite direct. A number of questions I'd had about sin, whether the problems in life come from the enemy or as discipline from God, and so many others...were answered beautifully, clearly, and with carefully documented biblical back-up.

I'd recommend the book to anyone, new Christian or not. It truly helps illuminate the path.


Fat Tuesday
Fat Tuesday
Author: Sandra Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 389
Review Date: 11/30/2009


A wonderful mystery. It took me a bit to get involved in it but when I did I enjoyed it very much. Actually, the first book I've read by this author, but I'll be reading more.


1 to 20 of 58 - Page: