Casey L. (casey-sue) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 54 - Page:
1001 Ways to Be Romantic
1001 Ways to Be Romantic
Author: Gregory Godek
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/22/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I loved the ideas in this book and found myself putting post-it notes on several pages. Not only do you get great ideas for large and small budgets, but there are also noted references to accomplish them.

My only fault with this book was that some ideas were repeated or barely different from each other. This seems done in order too achieve his 1001 quota to finish the book.


After Long Silence
After Long Silence
Author: Helen Fremont
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 10/14/2011


let me start by saying I have read MANY books about WWII and the Holocaust. This was not one of my favorites. I liked it, but I felt that it could have been written much better. It seemed the author was trying to make this story about herself more than about her family in general. I also felt confused as the author switched character viewpoints at the drop of a hat.

In the end I felt like the book barely scratched the surfaces of her family history. Enough so that I didnt read anything that I wasn't expecting already. I also felt that the book was a bit scattered.


The Art of Racing in the Rain
The Art of Racing in the Rain
Author: Garth Stein
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 989
Review Date: 9/27/2011


I have to say that this book is one of my favorites. Its not just about a dog, but the events that the dog witnesses. Its amazing to see someones life from such an objective view. It kinda makes you wonder what all of our dogs are thinking as they watch us go about our day. Even if you are not an animal lover, this is a great book.


Birthmarked (Birthmarked, Bk 1)
Birthmarked (Birthmarked, Bk 1)
Author: Caragh M. O'Brien
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 2/8/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Birthmarked is a must read! The intricate plot and subplots are fantastic. When reading many dystopian novels, sometimes you see a pattern. Not with Birthmarked. The author attacks ideas that you may have not yet seen. In a twisted way, you struggle with the ideas that society would ever evolve in such a way. Its beautiful and frightening at the same time. The connections between characters are well developed and thankfully unexpected. If you have a love of dystopian novels, your list isn't complete without this one.


Blood Red Road (Dust Lands, Bk 1)
Blood Red Road (Dust Lands, Bk 1)
Author: Moira Young
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 11/2/2013
Helpful Score: 2


I wanted to like this book so bad. I gave it a good try and lasted to page 220 or so before I gave up. First, the writing style is hard to get accustomed to. There are no quotations or indications when one character speaks versus another. It was hard to figure out if Saba was speaking or thinking in her head. This leads me to the other reason I couldn't finish the book. Saba has one of the worst personalities I've ever read. She is rude, not thankful for anyone or anything, and doesn't listen to anyone. I absolutely hated her. I wanted to reach into the book and shake her! I would expect this behavior from a younger character, but not an 18 year old. It's hard to love a book when you're not rooting for the main character.


Briar Rose
Briar Rose
Author: Jane Yolen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 5/22/2011


I read this book when I was in middle school and over the years I have remembered it and wanted to read it again. I'm sure that I will not stop, having read it twice already. It is a quick read but it is also such a good book that shows such a different style to understanding the holocaust.


A Child Called It / The Lost Boy
A Child Called It / The Lost Boy
Author: Dave Pelzer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 5/22/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This book will stay with you! I read this book in middle school and again in college. The things that Dave Pelzer goes through is astounding. The books are graphic, but in order for you to see the suffering of this small child, I feel it is needed. Prepare yourself to feel upset and angry and love all at the same time. This is such a moving book.


Chosen to Die (Selena Alvarez/Regan Pescoli, Bk 2)
Chosen to Die (Selena Alvarez/Regan Pescoli, Bk 2)
Author: Lisa Jackson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 292
Review Date: 11/6/2011


This book is the second in the Montana-To Die series. As with the first one in the series, I found myself putting the book down and not coming back to it for a long time. I can usually finish a book this size in two days max, and this took me 2 weeks. It was good while I was reading it, but once I put it down, I had to convince myself to pick it up again.

I do have her third book in this series but have yet to start it. I can honestly say I just want to read it to see how all this ties together and I will have to convince myself to do it.


City of Bones (Mortal Instruments, Bk 1)
City of Bones (Mortal Instruments, Bk 1)
Author: Cassandra Clare
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 646
Review Date: 2/23/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I was apprehensive to read this book, since I usually don't find demons and witches a great read. But I Loved this book! I will say that there is an... interesting ending. One of those times that makes you throw the book across the room, and then hurry and go pick it up so you can see how it ends. One of those. Prepare yourself!


The Compound (Compound, Bk 1)
The Compound (Compound, Bk 1)
Author: S. A. Bodeen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 2/8/2013
Helpful Score: 2


If you want a quick read, i suggest this book. I read it in 4 hours i think. When it arrived i was disappointed in how small the book was, but fascinated by the plot. There are so many twists in this book, though halfway through, you will have figured it all out. It started out great for me, but once i figured out the twists, the rest was 90% predictable. I found myself unexcited about the ending, and not caring if there will be a book two, which i doubt.


Damaged (Maggie O'Dell, Bk 8)
Damaged (Maggie O'Dell, Bk 8)
Author: Alex Kava
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 5/22/2011


The Maggie O'Dell series is one of my favorites but I feel like this particular book has been my least favorite of the series.

I feel like Kava wrote this book in a hurry and threw together a topic. After the first couple chapters I had already figured out the book and how it was probably going to end. Usually Kava's books have a great twist or you just can't figure it out till the end. Sadly I was disappointed this time.


The Dead and the Gone (Last Survivors, Bk 2)
The Dead and the Gone (Last Survivors, Bk 2)
Author: Susan Beth Pfeffer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 2/8/2013


This book is the second in the Life as We Knew It series. After finishing the first, i wanted my hands on the second. Leery that this was written from a different viewpoint, i started my journey. This book is 100% different from the first. Same tragedy, different family, location, and experience. I did find myself enjoying the first book more. For the age of the main character and his IQ, i felt he was emotionally immature. Yes there are many ways we deal emotionally with tragedy, i know. The sisters also drove me insane. In general i didn't find myself rooting for the main characters. The ending was also very abrupt, though i know book 3 carries on from that point.


Deadly Cool
Deadly Cool
Author: Gemma Halliday
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 3/10/2012


Deadly Cool is not only a fast read, but a fast story line that borderlines on predictable. I found the scenarios and character names used were very cliche. I felt that the story was told more from the perspective of journal entries rather than an actual published book. Don't get me wrong, it was a nice book, but one that may be easily forgettable.


Deadly Little Secret (Touch, Bk 1)
Deadly Little Secret (Touch, Bk 1)
Author: Laurie Faria Stolarz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 7/2/2012


I'm going to be honest and say I loved this book, but Im not 100% sure why. When I put received it, I wondered why I had even out it on my WL to start with. It was a short book, and rereading the back of the book, it seemed a bit immature to me. Regardless, I dove into the book. 4 hours later I had it finished. The characters and story line were captivating. It almost turned into a who done it cozy for me. Halfway through ,you're trying to figure out who the bad guy is, and wondering if you should root for Ben or not. I'm so interested in where this story is going to lead to. I feel like there's so much more depth of the characters to be explained, so I ordered the second in the series, Deadly Little Lies. I gave it 4 out of 5 because though I loved it, I still felt there was an overall immaturity to the book. Not on the part of the writing style, but the characters. I know the immaturity is purposeful to the age of the characters, but at some points it was a tad annoying.


Drink, Slay, Love
Drink, Slay, Love
Author: Sarah Beth Durst
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/13/2012


I have read many vampire related books, YA or not.Most of them I adore. Sadly, this is one of the worst I've ever read. It was a slow start for me, as the portrayal of the main characters personality was unusual.There were times that the book made me laugh, but only because it was so unbelievable. When someone asked me about the book I was reading, I didn't really want to tell them because no matter how I out it, it sounded childish coming out of my mouth. This was a real let down for me.


Exposed (Maggie O'Dell, Bk 6)
Exposed (Maggie O'Dell, Bk 6)
Author: Alex Kava
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 5/22/2011
Helpful Score: 1


After reading all of the O'Dell books that are currently out (1-8 so far) this has been my favorite. There was such a sense of dread as to the outcome of the situation and characters that kept pulling me to read endlessly. I loved the topic and twist of this book and it kept my feverishly reading!


Genesis
Genesis
Author: Bernard Beckett
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 7/2/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This book had been on my WL for quite awhile so I was eager when I finally got my hands on it. I will tell you my first impression was how tiny and short this book is. I finished it in 3 hours while sitting by the pool. It is also no at all what I expected. The whole book takes place while a University type committee is asking Anaximander questions, based on the history of how their nation was formed. with the questions, we get a glimpse into what led up to this dystopian society. I felt like this whole book was just a very long explanation of the society, and that the real story should have started after. We do get the historical story of the nations formation, but nothing definitive in the "present day" of the book. There are hints, but nothing really outright.Unfortunately I dont see a second book being written anytime soon, so we are left with a description, without the story.


Germ: If You Breathe, It Will Find You
Germ: If You Breathe, It Will Find You
Author: Robert Liparulo
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 8/17/2011


When I found this book at Half Priced Books for a dollar, I couldn't wait to read it! I started it a week ago and decided today to put it down. I made it 211 pages but just couldn't do it. It is action packed and right up my ally, but I felt disconnected from the characters in the book. There are so many points of view that I got lost who was who, who was against who, and what was taking place. I found myself looking back in the story twice to make sure I was reading correct because I had gotten two characters confused. I think part of that was the closeness in their names. I'm sure this is a great book, but for me it wasn't and I wish it was.


The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, Bk 1)
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, Bk 1)
Author: Stieg Larsson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2078
Review Date: 5/22/2011


I don't understand the hype of this book at all. I struggled for 5 days just to read 200 pages and give up. There is so much background information in this story that you have to get through before the "story" even starts. Is all that information even useful? I would have to say that a major part of it doesn't even matter. This is one of the worst books that I have ever read. It is cluttered with too much information and even if you manage to get past all of it, it leaves you wondering what is so exciting about this story anyway.


Gone (FBI Profiler, Bk 5)
Gone (FBI Profiler, Bk 5)
Author: Lisa Gardner
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 497
Review Date: 8/9/2011
Helpful Score: 1


By the time I finished this series, I was glad it was over. Don't get me wrong, I LOVE this series, but it just got so predictable. The murder/event is always connected to a main character. Either it's a family member of the main characters or one of the main characters. It gets annoying at times and you have to see past it.


1 to 20 of 54 - Page: