Alicia J. (breena31) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 24 - Page:
The 47th Samurai (Bob Lee Swagger, Bk 4)
The 47th Samurai (Bob Lee Swagger, Bk 4)
Author: Stephen Hunter
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 5/10/2011


Another great adventure with Bob Lee. I found myself fascinated by the information on swords and the samurai. Excellent story.


All the Queen's Men (John Medina, Bk 2)
All the Queen's Men (John Medina, Bk 2)
Author: Linda Howard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 241
Review Date: 5/9/2011
Helpful Score: 3


John Medina, the mega-alpha hero, was everything I'd hoped and more. Superb story, excellent characters. I finished it in one night and immediately wanted to read it again.


Bad Attitude (Bureau of American Defense, Bk 2)
Bad Attitude (Bureau of American Defense, Bk 2)
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 329
Review Date: 4/14/2011


I would have enjoyed a story with this plot if the characters had been the least bit believable. Instead the two main characters, Syd and Steele, come across as really bad actors in a low budget action flick. And Syd especially was very poorly done. She is supposed to be top notch field agent, but didn't seem to know how to handle herself in the field at all. On top of that, some of the situations they find themselves in are just way over the top. The scene in the hotel where they are getting shot at is just one example. This was my first book by Kenyon, and is most definitely my last. I'm giving it two stars though, because the sex scenes were HOT!


Christmas Eve at Friday Harbor (Friday Harbor, Bk 1)
Christmas Eve at Friday Harbor (Friday Harbor, Bk 1)
Author: Lisa Kleypas
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 138
Review Date: 3/18/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This book didn't seem like it was Lisa's usual style, but it was very enjoyable. I found it to be a short, sweet read, but not one for my keeper shelf.


Drop Dead Gorgeous (Blair Mallory, Bk 2)
Drop Dead Gorgeous (Blair Mallory, Bk 2)
Author: Linda Howard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 391
Review Date: 4/29/2011
Helpful Score: 2


I loved this book! Blair and Wyatt are so much fun together. And I thought it was great how Blair didn't let him get away with anything, calling him on his behavior at every turn. I laughed out loud so often my boyfriend wanted to read the book to see what was so funny. Great job Ms. Howard!


Flesh and Spirit (Lighthouse Duet, Bk 1)
Flesh and Spirit (Lighthouse Duet, Bk 1)
Author: Carol Berg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 4/1/2011


I loved this book from start to finish. Yes, some of the names and the religious mythology was a bit confusing at first, but it was like discovering a new world. The story pulls you in bit by bit, until you're so involved in Valen's world you become a part of it too. This is one story that I will continue to read over and over and never get tired of. A keeper for sure.


The Forbidden Lord (Lord Trilogy, No 2)
The Forbidden Lord (Lord Trilogy, No 2)
Author: Sabrina Jeffries
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 4/20/2011


I wasn't all that impressed with this story. The plot device of Emily being forced to masquerade as Lady Emma just didn't work for me. In fact, the whole storyline didn't work for me. It just felt weak and formulaic. Not one of Ms. Jeffries better efforts.


The Kennedy Men: 1901-1963
The Kennedy Men: 1901-1963
Author: Laurence Leamer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 5/2/2009


Fascinating and complex tale that kept me glued to the pages for days. Leamer has a wonderful way of making an historical era come alive for readers today, painting an indelible picture that doesn't fade even after the last page.


Kiss Me While I Sleep (John Medina, Bk 3)
Kiss Me While I Sleep (John Medina, Bk 3)
Author: Linda Howard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 294
Review Date: 4/15/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I haven't read anything by Linda Howard in a long time, but I'm so glad I got reacquainted with this story. Suspenseful plot, excellent characters, great story. I'm looking forward to catching up on all the Howard books I've missed over the years.


Loving Julia
Loving Julia
Author: Karen Robards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 5/6/2011


This is my all time favorite Karen Robards story.


Mackenzie's Heroes: Mackenzie's Pleasure / Mackenzie's Magic (Mackenzies, Bks 3-4)
Mackenzie's Heroes: Mackenzie's Pleasure / Mackenzie's Magic (Mackenzies, Bks 3-4)
Author: Linda Howard
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 5/6/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Another installment in the Mackenzie series, this time it's Zane's and Maris' stories. Zane's story was excellent, exactly what I expected and hoped for. Unfortunately, Maris' story felt like it was just phoned in. It was too short for one thing, which made it impossible to really get to know the characters. I have no idea what Mac, the hero, even looks like or what his personality is like. Too bad.


Moonstruck Madness (Dominick, Bk 1)
Moonstruck Madness (Dominick, Bk 1)
Author: Laurie McBain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 3/14/2011


I love Laurie McBain's work, and this book especially holds a piece of my heart. This is the first romance I ever read, and I immediately fell in love with the genre. Sabrina and Lucien's story is classic and unforgettable. Excellent book.


Mr. Perfect
Mr. Perfect
Author: Linda Howard
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 323
Review Date: 4/28/2011


Wow! Linda Howard did it again. Fast paced fun, with a great hero & heroine. I just love her alpha males. This one is another keeper.


Northern Lights
Northern Lights
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 538
Review Date: 4/7/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed this story, even though the heroine was a bit more rough edged than I usually like. But it worked in this story, and I found myself liking Meg regardless of any preconceived ideas. Very good story, one that I will likely keep for a while and re-read a few times before I send it on.


Only in Your Arms
Only in Your Arms
Author: Lisa Kleypas
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 4/25/2011


This story was the one that hooked me on Lisa Kleypas' books for good.


Point of Impact (Bob Lee Swagger, Bk 1)
Point of Impact (Bob Lee Swagger, Bk 1)
Author: Stephen Hunter
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/6/2011


Wow, what a ride! I borrowed this from my local library, finished it in one day, then went back and got the rest of the books on the shelf. Consider me a new hardcore fan of Stephen Hunter.


Reforming a Rake  (With This Ring, Bk 1)
Reforming a Rake (With This Ring, Bk 1)
Author: Suzanne Enoch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 116
Review Date: 3/11/2011


I found this book surprisingly good. It was a quick, fun read. I'm looking forward to getting the next two in this series.


Romancing Mister Bridgerton (Bridgerton, Bk 4)
Romancing Mister Bridgerton (Bridgerton, Bk 4)
Author: Julia Quinn
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 613
Review Date: 4/18/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Absolutely loved it! I think this one may very well be my favorite of the Bridgerton series so far. Colin and Penelope are wonderful.


The Search
The Search
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 238
Review Date: 3/23/2011
Helpful Score: 3


Just finished this one, it was another excellent read by Nora. I loved the parts about the dog training, and Simon was a great hero. Good story, it moved right along for me. I finished it one night.


The Secret Diaries of Miss Miranda Cheever
The Secret Diaries of Miss Miranda Cheever
Author: Julia Quinn
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 714
Review Date: 4/19/2011


Well this wasn't what I expected from Julia Quinn. I found myself getting highly annoyed by Miranda and somewhat bored by the storyline. It was disappointing to say the least. I missed the sparkling repartee and wit that is so evident in her other books. This story was depressing and lacking in adventure. Ah well, even a not so good story by Julia Quinn is better than many others out there.


1 to 20 of 24 - Page: