Caryn S. (Caryn9802) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 92 - Page:
Abandoned (Smoky Barrett, Bk 4)
Abandoned (Smoky Barrett, Bk 4)
Author: Cody Mcfadyen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 11/13/2009
Helpful Score: 1


A good story and we get into Smoky's personal life a lot more here. But definitely not my favorite in the series.


The Abortionist's Daughter
The Abortionist's Daughter
Author: Elisabeth Hyde
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 12/31/2007
Helpful Score: 2


WOW- I finished this in a day. It was a great mystery of who killed the abortion doctor and how it affects her family, neighbors and police investigating the crime.


Adventures in a TV Nation
Adventures in a TV Nation
Author: Michael Moore, Kathleen Glynn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 7/23/2005


A very amusing look at the TV series that made Michael Moore so famous.


The Alibi Man (Elena Estes, Bk 2)
The Alibi Man (Elena Estes, Bk 2)
Author: Tami Hoag
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 176
Review Date: 11/30/2007


I thought this was a very good read, and much better than her other recent ones! It kept me guessing and kept me turning the pages.


Amanda Bright @ Home
Amanda Bright @ Home
Author: Danielle Crittenden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 12/6/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This book was about a stay at home mom who must decide whether she's truly happy. It's a little dry at parts, but overall an interesting read- especially because the author includes a subplot about Washington politics.


Ape House
Ape House
Author: Sara Gruen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 9/27/2010
Helpful Score: 3


I loved this book. Even more than Water for Elephants. You can tell the author thoroughly did her research. The entire premise was fascinating to read about. I can't wait for her next one!


Apple Tree Yard: A Novel
Apple Tree Yard: A Novel
Author: Louise Doughty
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/9/2014


This book started out with a lot of potential and I was intrigued right away. But I felt the actual court case dragged and pulled the rest of the story down with it.


Audition: A Memoir
Audition: A Memoir
Author: Barbara Walters
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 12/31/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This was a truly fascinating account of Barbara Walter's life, both personal and professional. I was impressed with how honest she chose to be. There was a lot of information that didn't need to be shared, but she figured if she was writing a book there was no holding back.


Best Friends
Best Friends
Author: Martha Moody
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 402
Review Date: 7/4/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A great novel that kept my interest. Completely different than what I expected when I started.


The Book Thief
The Book Thief
Author: Markus Zusak
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 286
Review Date: 12/1/2007
Helpful Score: 4


This is the best book I've read all year! It's so creatively done, that you won't know what to expect next. I will recommend this book to everyone I know and hope to use it as a book club read in the next few months.


The Boy Next Door (Boy, Bk 1)
The Boy Next Door (Boy, Bk 1)
Author: Meg Cabot
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 272
Review Date: 7/18/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Very cute and a quick read. Told all through emails it follows a gossip columnist when her neighbor ends up in the hospital.


Review Date: 8/9/2007
Helpful Score: 13


I thought Bitter is the New Black (her first book) was better. This was a little harder for me to like, and seemed a bit more obnoxious.


Calling Me Home
Calling Me Home
Author: Julie Kibler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 3/18/2013
Helpful Score: 7


Hands down the best women's fiction book I've read in a long time. It will break your heart, and it will soothe your heart. I wanted to hug this book and not let go. Highly recommended!


The Cider House Rules
The Cider House Rules
Author: John Irving
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 490
Review Date: 12/14/2007


This is one of my favorite books of all time. I love the way Irving writes it- I was taken to the time of the book and was completely absorbed in this wonderful story. I highly recommend it!


The Cider House Rules
The Cider House Rules
Author: John Irving
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 7/18/2007
Helpful Score: 1


One of my favorite books of all time. You become so engrossed in this story that it's hard to walk away from.


A Civil Action
A Civil Action
Author: Jonathan Harr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 240
Review Date: 9/4/2005


This non-fiction book reads like a thriller that you can't put down. I never saw the movie, but the story is fascinating and keeps you reading even when you're trying to put it down.


Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs
Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs
Author: Judi Barrett, Ron Barrett (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 10/10/2007


This was my all time favorite book as a child. Anytime I see it I have to quickly read it again. A great story about a town where all the food falls from the sky!


Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Confessions of a Shopaholic (Shopaholic, Bk 1)
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 776
Review Date: 3/2/2007


What a fun story!


Confessions of a Tax Collector
Confessions of a Tax Collector
Author: Richard Yancey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 10/26/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Not quite what I expected. More of a personal memoir of life inside the IRS. It had some funny stories, but didn't hold my interest as much as I had hoped.


A Deadly Game : The Untold Story of the Scott Peterson Investigation
Review Date: 11/26/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Wow... one of the first books I've read that brought tears to my eyes. A very thorough look into the Laci Peterson case. Highly recommended.


1 to 20 of 92 - Page: