Manda G. (chickpicks) - , - Reviews

1 to 18 of 18
After Dead: What Came Next in the World of Sookie Stackhouse
After Dead: What Came Next in the World of Sookie Stackhouse
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.1/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 11/14/2013
Helpful Score: 3


Waste of time- all 30 minutes it took me to "read" it

Waste of money- very small HB

Waste of my sanity- My 5 yr old nephew could have written better recaps of the characters.

Each page is dedicated to a character in the series. Sookie gets an entire 1 1/2 pages. And some of the pages just have a picture on them.

HERE IS A SPOILER>>>>> Quinn...who I feel had a big role in at least ONE of the books, gets an ENTIRE SENTENCE dedicated to him (yes on one entire page). Do you know what she says? (STOP READING IF YOU DON'T WANT TO KNOW THIS HIGHLY THOUGHT OUT SENTENCE) She says, "Quinn went on to have many more adventures." Really? Thanks for the update. His sister got more than 1 sentence!


Almost to Die For (Vampire Princess of St. Paul, Bk 1)
Almost to Die For (Vampire Princess of St. Paul, Bk 1)
Author: Tate Hallaway
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 1/4/2013


What a quick fun read! I really liked pretty much all of the characters in this. It flowed very nicely, had me giggling in parts and made me a fan of Ana. Yes there were some similarities between this and some other YA vampire books but it was done in a fun way.
I recommend this :)


Alpha Instinct (Moon Shifter, Bk 1)
Alpha Instinct (Moon Shifter, Bk 1)
Author: Katie Reus
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 11/21/2012


I really enjoyed this book and read it in one day. The story was interesting from page ONE! In fact, the main characters are in it from page one...ok maybe TWO. I enjoyed the storyline of Ana and her pack and liked her as a main character. They live in a world where they have been "outed" as supernaturals and live in a town where when something "bad" happens, their ranch is the first place the sheriff goes to for questioning.
There are many characters brought in that I can see this leading to a bigger series and I look forward to it.
I've already bought book 2 Primal Possession!


The Battle Sylph (Sylph, Bk 1)
The Battle Sylph (Sylph, Bk 1)
Author: L. J. McDonald
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 78
Review Date: 9/28/2010
Helpful Score: 4


I was skeptical but really ended up enjoying this book. There are so many characters in the book yet I never got confused and I enjoyed the flow from 1 story to the next and back again. I wish the main character "Heyou" was a little more mature, at times I wanted him to be more of "the man" but there were others that filled the role. I ended up liking the second-hand characters better.

Tons of action, some great surprises, and all very well written. L.J. McDonald creates a fantasy world that I couldn't stop reading about! I'm so glad the story continues in the next book!


Biting Cold (Chicagoland Vampires, Bk 6)
Biting Cold (Chicagoland Vampires, Bk 6)
Author: Chloe Neill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 9/15/2012


AWESOME....yeah...AWESOME. I didn't have high expectations as the last couple books were just 'eh' to me. I enjoyed everything about this and SOOOO look forward to the next book. If you were disappointed in the last few...HAVE NO FEAR! Ms Neill is back on track and better then ever!


Dead Reckoning (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 11)
Dead Reckoning (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 11)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 388
Review Date: 5/12/2011


I was left at the end saying, "Ummmm...Hmmmm...oooKAY". This book for me had a lot of "strange" moments that seemed very random...even for Sookie.

I couldn't wait to read this book, and did so in 1 night. I still love all the characters that are always so well depicted by Harris, but there were very "out of character" moments as well.

I won't give any spoilers, not really...it is still a great book but not a favorite (though it is a keeper as part of the series) and I DESPERATELY HOPE it is not the last book as I need CLOSURE, and this left me none. I felt that Harris wanted the reader to end it the way THEY wanted it to, whoevers side they were on (Team Eric/Team Bill).

It is still a must read for Sookie fans!


Dire Needs (Eternal Wolf Clan, Bk 1)
Dire Needs (Eternal Wolf Clan, Bk 1)
Author: Stephanie Tyler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 7/7/2012


Not bad but not a keeper.
When I get into a good book, I can't put it down. This book took me 2 weeks to get through because I just (for whatever reason) couldn't focus on everything.
There was so much going on in this book, with so many new characters that the author was introducing to her new series, that I had a hard time following it at times. A little TOO much going on.
It had a Black Dagger Brotherhood feel with the small Dire wolf pack relating as brothers of different personalities.
Towards the last 100 pages I started skimming the book. I may attempt the 2nd book in hopes it gets better.


Don't Breathe a Word
Don't Breathe a Word
Author: Jennifer McMahon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 101
Review Date: 1/12/2012
Helpful Score: 4


Ummmm...uhhhh...hmmmm...I liked all the mystery of the storyline but for *me*, I found the ending not fulfilling. Course I am one who likes nice tidy endings...unless there is a sequel to a book.
This book sure wasn't what I expected when I picked it up. With that said, I read it in 1 day because I was intrigued. I *might* read another of her earlier books which seem to be highly rated.
Passing on to the next one, not a keeper for me.


Fit For A King
Fit For A King
Author: Diana Palmer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 9/2/2012


I know hate is a strong word...so I'll say I despised this story. The main male character was a putz and the main female character was a bigger putz...think of a man saying to you, "Well I can't have so-and-so...but I can have YOU" ...that is exactly what he says. Ooh! Let me jump and be second fiddle. Yes Diana Palmer can create great characters...no these two are not part of that formula. I didn't even want to finish it but I did just to say I did. FIT FOR KING PUTZ :p


Full Blooded (Jessica McClain, Bk 1)
Full Blooded (Jessica McClain, Bk 1)
Author: Amanda Carlson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 12/9/2012


It's been a while since I had a book that I just didn't want to put down. This one broke that streak! I REALLY like the main character Jessica. There is a lot going on but it is all explained well. This book gave the usual wolf/pack /alpha story with an awesome twist of what Jessica is.
Really looking forward to book 2!!!
Highly recommend!


Horizon (Aftertime, Bk 3)
Horizon (Aftertime, Bk 3)
Author: Sophie Littlefield
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 10/19/2012
Helpful Score: 1


MAN! I hate when a series ends that has you edge the ENTIRE time! But it was a great conclusion in my opinion. The book starts out a little confusing because it starts months after book 2...then kind of catches you up as you read. Lots of heart squeezing events, more loss, surprising happenings, and the big secret one of the characters has been carrying is finally revealed.
Kind of sad the adventure is over :(
Worth the read!


McKettrick's Choice (McKettrick Cowboys, Bk 4)
McKettrick's Choice (McKettrick Cowboys, Bk 4)
Author: Linda Lael Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 292
Review Date: 4/14/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I coudln't wait for the story on Holt...I really liked his role in the first 3 McKettrick books. This story didn't disappoint! I read it in 2 days. I laughed out loud, cried, and rooted for them! That is the makings of a good book :)
This story has some twists & turns that the first 3 didn't. Linda Lael Miller has such great imagination to give each character their own unique story. I'm sad to have to leave the original McKettrick men :( I wish their stories could continue! I hope the next generation is just as captivating!


Ransom (Highlands' Lairds, Bk 2)
Ransom (Highlands' Lairds, Bk 2)
Author: Julie Garwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 381
Review Date: 9/5/2010
Helpful Score: 4


I L-O-V-E this book!!!! I finished it and missed the characters so much that I went back a few days later and READ IT AGAIN!!! ALL the characters are well developed and make you care for them...I laughed out loud and even shed a few tears over them.
LOTS of fun twists and lots of highlander manliness :)

***MAKE SURE YOU READ THE FIRST BOOK in the connected series THE SECRET first!!! ****

The next book in the series SHADOW MUSIC is another favorite of mine.


Slow Burn (Buchanan-Renard, Bk 5)
Slow Burn (Buchanan-Renard, Bk 5)
Author: Julie Garwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 475
Review Date: 10/11/2011


Meh...I think I only finished it because I wanted to know what happened at the end. I was pretty bored with this and the lead female was annoying and got on my nerves most of the time with all her angst over the male leaving her.
I absolutely ADORE Julie Garwood's hitorical books (RANSOM is on my top ten list...actually top 3) but I doubt I will read any more of her contemporary books.


Something from the Nightside (Nightside, Bk 1)
Something from the Nightside (Nightside, Bk 1)
Author: Simon R. Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 254
Review Date: 2/20/2012


My usual paranormal are vampire funny romance...and this was a definite change from those. Some rather intense moments and a LOT of twists and turns and WHAT?! packed into this fairly short read. On to book two!


To Catch a Wolf (19th Century Werewolf, Bk 4)
To Catch a Wolf (19th Century Werewolf, Bk 4)
Author: Susan Krinard
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 141
Review Date: 9/28/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I was IN LOVE with this book...all the way through I just was engrossed in all the characters and rooting for the good guys! Then about the last 1/5 of the book I thought another author finished it! I won't spoil it but I was very disappointed at the actions of one of the female main characters. The book was good but it went from a "keeper" to a "pass it on".
With that said, I love werewolf books and will be trying more of Krinard.


Unraveling
Unraveling
Author: Elizabeth Norris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/2/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I found this book interesting enough to keep reading but not interesting enough that I couldn't put it down. There is a lot of unexpectant events that happen and I can't say I was very happy with the ending. I know there is a sequel but I'm still wondering about why certain things had to happen.
I read the summary of the next book and can't say I'm jumping to read it.
Not a keeper.


Wicked Nights (Angels of the Dark, Bk 1)
Wicked Nights (Angels of the Dark, Bk 1)
Author: Gena Showalter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 104
Review Date: 8/9/2012
Helpful Score: 3


After a few books of "oh that was pretty good" I read Wicked Nights and LOVED it from the get-go! The story had me the first few pages and kept me in it. I really enjoyed the characters and REALLY liked how their relationship wasn't rushed...you know...they are "magnetically drawn to each other" and have sex the first chapter of the book...NOT THIS!
It was a unique storyline but believable in an angel/demon/magic cloud kind of way :)
I have had Showalter's Lords of the Underworld books sitting on my shelf but haven't started them...well I'm going RIGHT NOW to start it...I enjoyed this that much.
KEEPER!


1 to 18 of 18