Margaret - Reviews

1 to 20 of 44 - Page:
After All These Years
After All These Years
Author: Susan Isaacs
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 3/31/2006


I love Susan Isaacs! This was almost as good as Compromising Positions, the first one I read. Very witty!


Alone
Alone
Author: Beverley Farmer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/29/2007


Beautiful writing. Extraordinary little novel like nothing else I've ever read.


AMC river guide
AMC river guide
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  ?
Review Date: 6/21/2006


The AMC River Guide for rivers throughout Maine - the best guide I've seen, particularly for the Saco River.


America's Neighborhood Bats: Understanding and Learning to Live in Harmony With Them
Review Date: 3/18/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Provides a wealth of helpful information about bat behavior and biology, a key to the identification of common North American species, range maps, a glossary and an extensive list of sources for additional information.


The Apothecary Rose (Owen Archer, Bk 1)
The Apothecary Rose (Owen Archer, Bk 1)
Author: Candace Robb
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 3/31/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Really good historical mystery. Robb is the best replacement I've found for Ellis Peters' Brother Cadfael books.


Bluebeard
Bluebeard
Author: Kurt Vonnegut
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 7/22/2006
Helpful Score: 1


From the cover: "Pure Vonnegut...Pure Pleasure!" One of my favorite Vonnegut books.


Breathing Lessons
Breathing Lessons
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 273
Review Date: 4/19/2007
Helpful Score: 4


One of Anne Tyler's best books. She gets the domestic relationship between this husband and wife just right. Lovely book.


Celestial Navigation
Celestial Navigation
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 4/19/2007


An early Anne Tyler novel. Very well written with wonderful characters. Tyler captures humanity and all its quirkiness better than almost anyone.


Death At La Fenice (Guido Brunetti, Bk 1)
Death At La Fenice (Guido Brunetti, Bk 1)
Author: Donna Leon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 154
Review Date: 9/13/2006
Helpful Score: 2


This is the first in a wonderful mystery series. Very human characters. I loved the relationship between Guido Brunetti and his wife. I'll be reading more of this series.


Die in Plain Sight (Rarities Unlimited, Bk 3)
Die in Plain Sight (Rarities Unlimited, Bk 3)
Author: Elizabeth Lowell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 224
Review Date: 3/31/2006


This is the first Lowell book I've read. I'll be looking for more. Top notch!


Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant
Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 4/19/2007


Anne Tyler is one of my favorite novelists, and this is one of my favorite Tyler books. A lovely book about family.


The Distinguished Guest
The Distinguished Guest
Author: Sue Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 5/7/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Very good book about what Miller does best - the intricacies of family relationships. The story kept me interested, and I loved the characters.


Drinking the Rain
Drinking the Rain
Author: Alix Kates Shulman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 5/7/2007
Helpful Score: 4


An excellent book, full of wisdom, about the author's midlife journey of self-discovery on an island off the coast of Maine. Loved it!


Falling for Chloe (Signet Regency Romance)
Falling for Chloe (Signet Regency Romance)
Author: Diane Farr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 3/31/2006


I'm not normally a reader of Regency Romance novels, but this one I enjoyed. The characters are endearing and the story is well presented.


The first book of common-sense management: How to overcome managerial madness by finding the simple key to success
Review Date: 10/22/2006


Management in a nutshell. The really important stuff, simply stated. A great little guide with a "keep it simple" message.


The Girls' Guide to Hunting and Fishing
The Girls' Guide to Hunting and Fishing
Author: Melissa Bank
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 616
Review Date: 7/22/2006


A really wonderful and very funny book about growing up in America from the female perspective.


Guppies for Tea
Guppies for Tea
Author: Marika Cobbold
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/13/2008


I really liked this book. The characters are very real. A blurb from the novelist Joanna Trollope cals the book "poignant, funny, and full of clever insights." I agree!


Hollywood
Hollywood
Author: Gore Vidal
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 3/31/2006
Helpful Score: 2


I'm a real Gore Vidal fan, so loved this book. Historical fiction at its finest.


Hotel du Lac
Hotel du Lac
Author: Anita Brookner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/13/2008


Lovely book. Anita Brookner writes very quiet, understated books, but her characters are sharply drawn and the writing is exceptional.


House Made of Dawn (Perennial Library)
House Made of Dawn (Perennial Library)
Author: N. Scott Momaday
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 8/15/2006
Helpful Score: 4


Won a Pulitzer Prize. A wonderful, though incredibly tragic, look at what it's like for many Native Americans who endure the conflict of surviving in their own tribal cultures and in the larger (and fiercer) culture of modern America.


1 to 20 of 44 - Page: