Gerald G. (PhotoJer) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 86 - Page:
109 East Palace : Robert Oppenheimer and the Secret City of Los Alamos
Review Date: 8/3/2010


Very interesting book about the human side of the Manhattan Project. Not a lot of time spent on the Russian spying and a bit too much on the personal travails of Oppenheimer mostly afterwards. But excellent description of what life was like for the scientists and families.


10th Anniversary (Women's Murder Club, Bk 10)
10th Anniversary (Women's Murder Club, Bk 10)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 227
Review Date: 8/2/2011


This book is junk. $28, 395 pages, each chapter starts half way down a page (there are 124 chapters) so there's 62 wasted pages. There are 5 pages do8ble sided that announce the next set of chapters...10 more wasted pages. So a 395 page book is now 323 pages. So much for the publisher trying to make this thing look like it's worth $28.
Plot is average to poor, character development is poor. Intrigue..nada. Poorly written, things happen and you have no earthly idea how you got from one paragraph to another.This book feels like 3 college writers got together over a weekend, each writing some parts and an editor smashing this together. This is 1st and last Patterson book I will read.
For real writers try: James Lee Burke, Daniel Silva, Furst, Fesperman, Peter Robinson....Ian Rankin...they folks can and do write real stories.


1812 : The War That Forged a Nation
1812 : The War That Forged a Nation
Author: Walter R. Borneman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/30/2010


It is a rare thing indeed when you find a history book that is eminently readable. This is excellent! Detailed without being too detailed.... And while it does have maps, I would have liked a few more. Small nitpick for an otherwise great read.
Jerry Griffin


9 Dragons (Harry Bosch, Bk 15)
9 Dragons (Harry Bosch, Bk 15)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 145
Review Date: 12/18/2009


Another excellent book from Connelly. Action aplenty, good police procedural, good plot. Highly recommended.


Agent Zigzag: A True Story of Nazi Espionage, Love, and Betrayal
Agent Zigzag: A True Story of Nazi Espionage, Love, and Betrayal
Author: Ben Macintyre
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 1/1/2010


Excellent book, I really enjoyed reading this. Many authors make real history books so unreadable and uninteresting. This is written well and held my interest. He makes the characters come alive and his research really does pay off.


All the Old Knives
All the Old Knives
Author: Olen Steinhauer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/17/2015


Loved this book, found it fascinating. Unusual premise and good story. Less an action plot, more of a psychological one. Different and for me a surprising ending. I found this to be a "thinking man's" page turner.


Anarchy and Old Dogs (Dr. Siri Paiboun, Bk 4)
Anarchy and Old Dogs (Dr. Siri Paiboun, Bk 4)
Author: Colin Cotterill
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 2/26/2009


This is a wonderfully entertaining story, with unusual setting and characters. Well written it grabs you and has you reading far into the night.


The Assassin
The Assassin
Author: Stephen Coonts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 3/12/2009


This is a One am book...I was up that late twice reading this...a really good page turner.


Bad Boy (Inspector Banks, Bk 19)
Bad Boy (Inspector Banks, Bk 19)
Author: Peter Robinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/18/2011


Not the best of his books. His portrayal of higher level police is a bit over the top. Using the family is a tried and true plot theme but not all that inventive. Good read all things considered.


Review Date: 12/20/2010


Now I understand what happened to that club. Excellent book that finally tells the story of what the team was like, the personalities and why they won.
Did you know that after the "86 World Series Bill Buckner was so depressed when the Sox got back to Boston that he tried to commit suicide...he stepped in front of a bus...but it went through his legs.


Betrayal: : The Story of Aldrich Ames, an American Spy
Betrayal: : The Story of Aldrich Ames, an American Spy
Author: Tim Weiner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/13/2011


Engrossing even though you know how it turns out. Detailed account of FBI work after being misled by CIA.
Very readable.


The Big Miss: My Years Coaching Tiger Woods
The Big Miss: My Years Coaching Tiger Woods
Author: Hank Haney
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 7/10/2013


If you ever wanted to "understand" Eldrick this book will help you. The picture it paints to him is one of a self absorbed loner who simply cannot have a normal functional relationship with anyone. Pig headed, stubborn, father figure obsessed all come to mind as further descriptors. Oh yeah, he lies a lot too.


Bitter Wash Road
Bitter Wash Road
Author: Garry Disher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/15/2017


Absolutely one of the best reads in years. I read a lot in this genre and this author has consistently written good stories. This is the best one of his I have read. The plot doesn't come together until the last two pages. Amazing. I would give this 6 stars if I could.


Bloodmoney
Bloodmoney
Author: David Ignatius
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 10/10/2012


Excellent. Well written, fast paced, interesting story line.


Bluetick Revenge
Bluetick Revenge
Author: Mark Cohen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 3/21/2010


Another great read from this author. Main character with flaws, guts and a no nonsense approach. Enjoyable and highly recommended.


Borderlands (Inspector Devlin, Bk 1)
Borderlands (Inspector Devlin, Bk 1)
Author: Brian McGilloway
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 11/16/2017


Excellent read. Interesting setting and characters.
Police procedural with twists.


The Brass Verdict (Mickey Haller, Bk 2)
The Brass Verdict (Mickey Haller, Bk 2)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 217
Review Date: 11/11/2008


Maybe Connelly's best work. A real page turner. I put off several projects just to finish it!


A Case of Two Cities (Inspector Chen, Bk 4)
A Case of Two Cities (Inspector Chen, Bk 4)
Author: Qiu Xiaolong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/11/2010


Ok read, nothing great. Good view of what the China of today might be like. Story line plods along.


Christine Falls (Quirke, Bk 1)
Christine Falls (Quirke, Bk 1)
Author: Benjamin Black
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 95
Review Date: 3/18/2010


Great story...enjoyable read...the Irish at their worst!


City of Thieves
City of Thieves
Author: David Benioff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 208
Review Date: 12/11/2009


Good story with great characters. Well written and thoroughly enjoyable.


1 to 20 of 86 - Page: