Audrey S. (auddiemae) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 61 - Page:
101 Science Fair Projects
101 Science Fair Projects
Author: Kris Hirschmann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/4/2010


I enjoyed reading about the various projects a child could use for a science fair project, but found the descriptions on how to produce these projects lacking.

It is a small book, and does give many expamples of projects that would definately be different, and can be used as a tool to begin a search for the perfect project, but one would require additional information to pull the project together.


Algonkian: Lifestyle of the New England Indians Illustrated
Algonkian: Lifestyle of the New England Indians Illustrated
Author: Bob Eaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/13/2012


This book is a wonderful summary of the lifestyle of the Algonkian Indians, and mostly every page is illustrations, giving the reader a glimpse of what life was like for this tribe.

I was impressed with the amount of research that must have been done to prepare the book. Most subject matters such as birth, childhood, marriage, and death are covered with illustrations and written explanations.


Alice in Wonderland and the World Trade Center Disaster
Alice in Wonderland and the World Trade Center Disaster
Author: David Icke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 5/2/2010


If you are familiar with David Icke's research, this book will be an addition to his many other works.=, but covers basically what he has been writing about for years, many years, in fact before 9/11.

If you are NOT familiar with Icke, the book will explain in detail why many believe that government conspiracy under the direction of the Illumaniti planned and carried out the events of 9/11.

Icke's books are not only informative, but full of data that can be researched, and validated by the reader.


America's Favorite Brand Name Light Cooking
America's Favorite Brand Name Light Cooking
Author: Publications International
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 9/4/2010


This is an easy to follow cookbook, great for teaching children to cook by using ingredients easily accessible and inexpensive.

Each receipe has easy to understand directions, delightful pictures, and uses ingredients to reduce calories.


Angel's Rest
Angel's Rest
Author: Charles Davis
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/30/2013


This story took place in the Appalation area in Virginia. Charles had a happy home, and his life was remarkable until his father was killed with a single gunshot one morning.

The story is a mystery (who killed his Dad?), while also the story of secrets, hidden adenda, and full of twists and turns. It was well written, although at times was dry.

The ending is very surprising, and I didn't see it coming. Worth the time taken to read it.


Anna of Byzantium
Anna of Byzantium
Author: Tracy Barrett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 5/2/2010


Anna of byzantium is a fictionalized story of the Princess who was brought up to be Queen only to have her brother steel her throne, and place her in excile after she and her mother attempted to kill him.

The author did an excellent job of allowing the ready to see what life was like for a royal family in that era.

The story was geared for young teens, but as an adult I enjoyed it. It was a nice light read which could be a starting point of study for someone wanting to learn about the Byzantium empire pre Roman era.


At First Sight
At First Sight
Author: Stephen J. Cannell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 11/7/2009


This book was a pick for our bookclub. We decided the book should be coined a typical chit-lik mystery. Old man suddenly falls deeply "in love" with a new bride he met on the beaches of Hawaii while she was on her honeymoon - the couples strike up a conversation, have some innoncent fun and return home.

Obsessed with the young women, the older guy begins to stalk her acros the country. At times the book is funny, predictible, weird and scary. For those who like a "light" mystery read without all the gore and details, this would be excellent. If you prefer more "meat and potatoes" to your stories, then I would suggest another book.


The Autobiography of an Execution
The Autobiography of an Execution
Author: David R. Dow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 4/23/2012


This book is one man's story of his law practice, which is solely representing death row inmates and attempting to get them a get off of death-row free card.

The same personality traits that somehow allow him to day-in and day-out live with deadlines that literaly are life and death related, seem to spill out into his dailty life with not so likeable a personality. He spends much of the book discussing his wife, son and dog in ways that made me wonder how those three can put up with him on a daily basis.

Citing many actual death penalty clients, but hiding the details behind made up names, dates, states, etc, was annoying because there is no way to validate what he was saying.

On the other hand, the reader did get a glimpse into the penal system, how the daily life of a death row inmate can become unbearable, and how sometimes, innocent men can be executed while guilty ones go free. There isn't anything new here, but reading it from the prespective of a man who ONLY practices law trying to get execution dates extended or permanently withdrawn was interestering.

I am glad I read the book, but glad I borrowed it from the library.


The Baby Thief: The Untold Story of Georgia Tann, the Baby Seller Who Corrupted Adoption
Review Date: 8/21/2010


The Baby Thief is a horrid story of how one women in Memphis, Tennessee, manipulated the adoption system of the entire United States from approximately 1905 - 1950 when she died.

Georgia Tann made adoption, which was almost unheard of in the "upper crust" of society popular by giving babies to such people as Joan Crawford (Mommie Dearest), and seveal other "stars," in the hopes of popularizing adoptions for the rich.

Georgia connected with Senators and other congressmen to pass laws to permanently close addoption files so she could falsify information without fear of being found out.

Georgia stole children from their parents under the pretenst of offering them help during the depression, paid midwives to tell mothers their babies had died at birth while she ran off with the live child, had "spotters" on every corner in major cities, who would bring unsuspecting pregnant girls into her "maternity homes:" with promises of shelter, food and a free delivery - problem was, she was steeling the babies. Parents all over the country would spend years searching for children she had stolen while officals in Tennessee looked the other way.

The book is well researched, cites hundreds of references, and as an adoptee opened my eyes to how the adoption system in America became so complicated and CLOSED. I highly recommend this book to anyone interested in adoption, or in the triangle of adoption - mother, adopted parents and/or adoptee.


Basic Bible Study Guide (Teach Yourself The Bible Series-Brooks)
Basic Bible Study Guide (Teach Yourself The Bible Series-Brooks)
Author: Keith Brooks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/7/2009


excellent small book for a new Christian who has not been exposed to the bible as a book.

This basic study explains the difference between old and new testaments, how the bible is divided, and gives a new Christian a basic understanding that they can build on.

It is divided into study chapters, great for a Sunday school class.


Becoming Sister Wives: The Story of an Unconventional Marriage
Review Date: 8/25/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I would have loved to give this book a "5" star, but it isn't worthy of it. I felt it was a rush job as part of their various "projects" to raise money for their huge family.

Having said that, I was pleased with the honesty. I lost respect for Kody when, in the last season= he said he had not one ioda of sexual feelings for Christine from day l = because on one of their dates she had eaten an entire order of something or other. Christine is MY FAVORITE and my heart bleeds for her - how insensitive, and when they are having problems to the point of seeing a marriage counselor, he stops their yearly birthday party for Joseph Smith, which was an important event for Christine dating back to her childhood, and, according to the show, stopped when Robyn was added to the family.

The wives all tell their own story, and I was pleased that they were honest, and didn't try to sugar-coat the reality. I am sure it took courage to "come out of the closet" so to speak to open up their lifestyle - but I wish they were more honest and open with their true religious belief. They white-wash the religious facts of their religion, even in the book. I think if they are going to "come out" they should be honest with WHY they are in this lifestyle - which is to make Kody a "God" in the celestrial kingdom - equal to The God Christians consider the one and only one. This was glossed over in the book, but is very clear in the book of Mormon, the Covenents and Pearls of Wisdom they abide by.

I am not sorry I read the book - I have learned to like the family through the TV show, but glad I borrowed it from the library. I do wish the family happiness, and believe in the USA they should be alowed to live how they choose


Bed of Roses (Bride Quartet, Bk 2)
Bed of Roses (Bride Quartet, Bk 2)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 568
Review Date: 1/15/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This is the 2nd in the wedding series, and personally I liked it even better than the 1st.

The story surrounds chidlhood friends who used to play getting married. As adults they each have a different passion, and toghether they own a wedding planning business called "Vows". Book one took you into the inside story of photograpy for weddings, how the group works, and how relationships between friends, weddings, etc develop.

This book revolves around the person who designs the flowers. The reader actually feels like they are part of the organization, and of course love, romance, arguments, etc happen as well as humerous stories of some wedding nightmares and how some brides and their mothers conduct themselves.

Its a fairy tail story and fun, light reading with some tearful moments. Can't wait tillbook 3 comes out.


The Blessing Way (Joe Leaphorn Bk 1)
The Blessing Way (Joe Leaphorn Bk 1)
Author: Tony Hillerman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 178
Review Date: 10/27/2013


The story is rich in explanations of the history of the area, and details how the hillside ruins were made and used, and allows the reader to be transformed to the nearly desolate area of the Western plans where the Navajo's lived. Hillerman has done his research in explaining many of the Navajo beliefs, and intertwines these into a plausible story where Indian tradition and rich and greedy "white man" come head to head.

At times the story dragged, and felt somewhat disjointed, so I gave it a 4 rating. However, it was the beginning of a series, and I've been told he was setting the backdrop for the next couple of books.

Joe Leaphorn is a Navajo, and PD who tries to solve crimes by and against the Navajo's. He speaks their language, knows their ways, and is respected and known by the Navajo's. Can't wait for the rest.


Blessings (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Blessings (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Anna Quindlen, Joan Allen (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 5/2/2010


The CD narrative was great. Although the story and plot were awsome, I found the writing of this particular Quindien story tedies at times. Several times I wanted to give up, but suddenly the story would become quick paced again.

The story revolves around an infant who was left on the doorstep of a wealthy family.
The characters are well developed, and the story is not predictible.

The ending is unexpected, and definately is not a cookie cutter mystery. I recommend it if you can deal with the lags.


Charming Guest Rooms: Decorating Secrets from Country Inns
Review Date: 3/24/2012


There are many nice pictures with ideas for guest rooms, but most are all country-themed, and will require a LOT of money or above average sewing ability to implement


Christopher Lowell's If You Can Dream It, You Can Do It! : Dream Decor on a Budget
Review Date: 2/20/2012


I'm not sure what kind of budget Lowell has, but it must be MUCH more than I have to decorate with!! If you are truly on a penny-pinching budget like I am (and most of us are), then you won't find this book very helpful.


Coming Back to Me
Coming Back to Me
Author: Caroline Leavitt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 2/20/2012


This was a well written book that was hard for me to put down. It is rare for anything to go wrong during a delivery today, but it does happen, and when it does, everyone is in shock.

The author tells a story of a happy couple from their first meeting, getting married, and having a baby. But then something goes terribly wrong, and when the baby has to be discharged from the hospital without the mother, the father must make some tough decisions that include calling his wife's sister, who she has refused to talk to for years. A lot of research had to be done on this book because the illness was accurate, as was the personalities portrayed by various people in the New Jersey neighbothood.

I got the ending that seemed too quick - I would love to see a sequel to see how everyone is doing......


Coming Back to Me
Coming Back to Me
Author: Caroline Leavitt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 8/3/2012


The story was a heartbreaking account of what can happen when unexpected events happen during delivery of a baby. Things went from great to disasterous quickly in a situation that does happen in real life, but thank heavens is rare.

The father must take his infant home while his wife spends months recouperating in the hospital. The emotional tole on all is felt by the reader. I felt all characters were well developed, and the medical information was accurate and well researched.


Cut
Cut
Author: Cathy Glass
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/21/2012


"Cathy Glass" has a gift for telling stories surrounding her experiences with various foster children that include her families struggle with the child, how being a foster parent can affect one's family, and gently takes the reader to the background that caused the behaviors of a child who, in this case, was cutting herself.

As a former foster parent in the US, I find her stories true, and understand why she must keep everyone's names annonomyous. She is a gifted writer, and the foster care system is lucy to have her family.


Cut
Cut
Author: Cathy Glass
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 3/24/2012


"Cut" is another terrific read from "Cathy Glass," a pseudoname for a foster care giver who lives in the UK. The child in this book had a problem with self-mutlitation, and, once again, the social services department sent her this child without making her aware of the extent of her difficulties.

Cathy's stories always tell a multi-facited story - one of what is is like to be the foster parents, how the family reacts, what the birth family had done to perhaps contribute to the behaviors, what measures are taken to help heal the child, and how the child fares under her care.

Having been a foster parent in the US at one time, I can relate to her stories of dealing with overworked social workers, the court system, and having children "dumped" on you who are not emotionally stable enough to be safely placed with a "normal" family system.

As with all her novels, you will find yourself laughing, crying, shacking your head, and wanting to help in some way.


1 to 20 of 61 - Page: