Colleen D. - Reviews

1 to 11 of 11
Abundance, A Novel of Marie Antoinette
Abundance, A Novel of Marie Antoinette
Author: Sena Jeter Naslund
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 11/20/2013


This was okay. I think Juliet Grey's Marie Antoinette Trilogy is better.


Anne Frank and Me
Anne Frank and Me
Author: Cherie Bennett, Jeff Gottesfeld
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 11/20/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Despite having little to do with Anne Frank until the last few chapters of the book, I think this book is elegantly written. The main character is easy to identify with. The side characters are just as interesting. I highly recommend it for historical fiction lovers.


Boy Meets Girl : Say Hello to Courtship
Boy Meets Girl : Say Hello to Courtship
Author: Joshua Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 141
Review Date: 11/20/2013


Sorry, but the concept of 'courtship' isn't ideal. The notion that dating is just 'giving pieces of your heart away' is outdated and wrong.


The Corset Diaries
The Corset Diaries
Author: Katie MacAlister
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 487
Review Date: 11/20/2013


Nothing like I expected. I grew impossibly bored in spite of the interesting concept. The main character is pretty generic. And the romance in the book is unbelievable in every way imaginable.


Diary of a Married Call Girl
Diary of a Married Call Girl
Author: Tracy Quan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 11/20/2013


Boring. Generic.


The Fairy Godmother (Five Hundred Kingdoms, Bk 1)
The Fairy Godmother (Five Hundred Kingdoms, Bk 1)
Author: Mercedes Lackey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 288
Review Date: 11/20/2013


I liked it. It drags in parts, and the meat of the story doesn't start until about halfway through. But the fairy tale-twist genre (which is gaining in popularity) is well done here, and I look forward to reading more from this Five Hundred Kingdoms series.


Falling Stars (Shooting Stars, Bk 5)
Falling Stars (Shooting Stars, Bk 5)
Author: V. C. Andrews
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 85
Review Date: 11/20/2013


As far as VC Andrews series conclusions go, this one's pretty weak. I'm used to stunning and scary revelations like the ones in Into the Garden and Petals on the Wind. Falling Stars was par for the course in quality, but I wasn't shocked at all.


Matched
Matched
Author: Ally Condie
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/20/2013


The book is fascinating. The only issue I had with the audio book is the narrator's voice got annoying after awhile.


Someday My Prince Will Come: True Adventures of a Wannabe Princess
Someday My Prince Will Come: True Adventures of a Wannabe Princess
Author: Jerramy Fine
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 11/20/2013


The writer is clever and witty...but honestly, she's a little insane too. Okay, I'm an Anglophile just like her, so I feel for her in some aspects. But the fact that she developed a lifelong obsession with a celebrity that determined every step of where she took her life is nuts.


To Train up a Child
To Train up a Child
Author: Michael Pearl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 141
Review Date: 11/20/2013


Who the hell are these people, and why aren't they in a mental institution? At the very least, they don't have the right to promote what can only be described as deplorable child abuse as a good way of raising children. I'm sure Jesus smiles every time a child is whipped senseless or starved just because they won't sit on a blanket. How dare they? These crazy people have no right to have their own children, let alone be child-rearing advisers. Neither of them have degrees in anything, let alone child psychology. But people with half a brain don't have to have an MD in Child Psychology to know that kicking the crap out of your eight-month old is both ineffective discipline and abusive.

Children have DIED due to these practices being implemented. Think about that.


Treacherous Love: The Diary of an Anonymous Teenager
Treacherous Love: The Diary of an Anonymous Teenager
Author: Beatrice Sparks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 11/20/2013


Didn't like this too much. The narrator is impossible to identify with and pretty stupid to boot.


1 to 11 of 11