Andrea C. (greenflmom) - Reviews

1 to 16 of 16
The Choice (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
The Choice (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Nicholas Sparks, Holter Graham (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 1/16/2015


I enjoyed this story especially at the beginning and the end. The middle got a little boring in my opinion. We know which man she'll choose so I wanted her to just get on with it. When Part 2 starts, it takes awhile to figure out what happened in between.

The Narrator's voice is nice and I really want to meet my own Travis Parker.


Digital Fortress (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Digital Fortress (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Bruce Sabath (Narrator), Dan Brown
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 3/1/2012


This is the first Dan Brown book that I've read (or heard, in this case) and I was mildly disappointed. (Maybe I shouldn't admit that since no one will want to request the book from me!) Anyway, I thought it was a bit slow in the beginning but it did get more interesting from the midpoint till the end. I realize now this is an abridged version; maybe that explains the lack of character development and simplicity of the plot. Guess I'll have to read other Dan Brown books in their entirety!


Eat.shop.portland
Eat.shop.portland
Author: KAIE WELLMAN
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/31/2012


I will repost this book so someone else can use it but it's a bit too old to be really useful.


The Front Nine: Nine Fundamentals of Golf That Will Improve Your Marriage
Review Date: 7/6/2017


This helpful little book contains short chapters on improving a marriage. You don't have to be a golfer to understand the ideas. The authors, a married couple, just happen to be golfers in addition to being a counselor (him) and speaker/author (her). I especially like the chapters " Repair Divots Immediately" and "Getting Better Takes Time and Practice." Helpful quotes like "A loose grip in marriage can mean eliminating critical comments or refraining from asserting your preferred style into your spouse's method of doing things." Sounds simple, right?


Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet
Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet
Author: Jamie Ford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 574
Review Date: 4/15/2016


It took me awhile to get into this book but after the first few chapters, I really started caring about Henry and his family. The book jumps back and forth between Henry growing up during the 1940's (the war years)and a recent widower during the 1980's. Themes include coming of age, young romance story, mixed race communities and the internment of Japanese Americans during WWII.

I believe my children read this book during middle school. Adults will enjoy it, too.


The Island (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
The Island (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Elin Hilderbrand, Denice Hicks (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 2/27/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed this book about two sisters (early 30s), their mother and aunt. They spend a month one sumemr at the rustic family summer home on an island near Nantucket. All the women have some drama in their personal lives, including break-ups, secrets, new and old lovers. I could identify with all of them as they swing between jealousy, support and caring for their sisters. The author is very descriptive of the women's thoughts and feelings, so you can understand why they do and say some things. I got to know this family as if I was a close friend and neighbor and already miss them!


Let's Go 2008 France (Let's Go France)
Let's Go 2008 France (Let's Go France)
Author: Let's Go Inc.
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/19/2010


this book was very helpful on my trip to France. Contains short and specific comments about everything. I used it more for sights and activities rather than hotels and restaurants.


Marley and Me : Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog
Marley and Me : Life and Love with the World's Worst Dog
Author: John Grogan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1394
Review Date: 3/4/2009
Helpful Score: 2


My kids saw this movie then suggested I read the book (which I had had for 6 months or so in my "to be read" shelf). I thought it would be a typical "newly-wed couple gets dog, then has kids, dog gets along with kids then dies" story so I was prepared to not like the book. But Grogan is a good writer and put lots of interesting details in the story-telling. I knew Marley would die (as all dogs do plus my kids sad the movie ending was soooo sad, sniff-sniff) but I, too, cried at the end. Any dog lover will enjoy this book.


Metro Girl (Alex Barnaby, Bk 1) (Abridged Audio CD)
Metro Girl (Alex Barnaby, Bk 1) (Abridged Audio CD)
Author: Janet Evanovich, C. J. Critt
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 8/18/2012


I really enjoyed listening to this book and so did my sister. Now it's time for another woman to enjoy it. The action is believable, fun and sexy! I live in FLorida so hearing about Miami and the Keys made it even more interesting. It should be made into a movie. I haven't read too many Evanovich books but now I want to read or listen to more!


New York City with Kids - Frommer's
New York City with Kids - Frommer's
Author: Holly Hughes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/6/2017


Although this book is from 2001, it will still be useful for NYC visitors w kids ages 2-14. The chapters are well-organized and include subjects such as Planning your Trip, What Kids Like to See and Do, Neighborhood Strolls, For the Active Family, Shopping, Entertainment, Restaurants (by cuisine, price, neighborhood) Accommodations, Side Trips and more. It's small enough to carry while you're in town so you can always have it handy.


The Other Boleyn Girl
The Other Boleyn Girl
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2779
Review Date: 4/2/2013
Helpful Score: 2


I really enjoyed reading this book. After I finished it, I watched the movie which was also good (but, of course, not as good as the book). If you enjoy historical fiction, sexy passages and drama, I'm sure you'll enjoy it too.


The Queen's Fool
The Queen's Fool
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1331
Review Date: 4/2/2013


This book didn't hook me until the second half. I knew it would be worth reading since I really enjoyed Ms. Gregory's "The Other Boleyn Girl."


Running with Scissors: A Memoir
Running with Scissors: A Memoir
Author: Augusten Burroughs
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 3/5/2013
Helpful Score: 1


My reaction to this book alternated between humor, sadness and disgust. It's well-written and really holds the reader's interest. There are just 4 CD's so it's not a long book, just long enough to give you a real sense of the amazing, interesting childhood the author had with his real parents then his adopted family. I strongly recommend this book.


Sh*t My Dad Says
Sh*t My Dad Says
Author: Justin Halpern
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 179
Review Date: 5/17/2016


this book was very funny. After reading it myself (and parts of it to my son), I gave it to my boyfriend. He and his dad and son will get a kick out of it, too. What a life the author had with his dad -- funny, intense, no BS.


Welcome to Leo's
Welcome to Leo's
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/15/2009
Helpful Score: 1


this book has four short stories of successful African-American career women who find love in unexpected places. All of them have significant progress in their relationships at Leo's, an old-fashioned supper club for professional African-Americans in Washington DC. Easy reading, happy endings!


Yoga Moves With Alan Finger
Yoga Moves With Alan Finger
Author: Alan Finger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/13/2009


although this book is "old" (I prefer the term "vintage"), published in 1984, it is a good basic yoga program to do at home. The pictures and text are easy to follow. Most moves are for one person but some are done with a partner. The book has 175 pages.


1 to 16 of 16