Judy B. (jdyinva) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 409 - Page:
102 Minutes: The Untold Story of the Fight to Survive Inside the Twin Towers (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 12/16/2009
Helpful Score: 1


So Powerful! So much information that the ordinary citizen was never told. So many mistakes in the building of the towers and in the lack of excape routes. A few unbelievable items of interest: the doors to the roof were locked so that the helicopters hovering above found no one to rescue; the fire department and the police department disliked each other and did not communicate during the disaster; the building code was not followed when the towers were built to allow more room for billable office space. And so on. Very personal; very heart-rending.


11th Hour (Women's Murder Club, Bk 11) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 3/1/2013


Really enjoyed the reader. Very involving mystery; held my interest throughout. Recommended.


19 Purchase Street
19 Purchase Street
Author: Gerald A. Browne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/7/2008


Planning a heist? For one, the motive is revenge; for the other, it is for the thrill. The victims ? The arrogant, deadly stuffed shirts of an empire founded on money laundering, greed, and a hidden deadly crime. Who will succeed? Great involving mystery. Characters you will learn to love or to despise. Fascinating read.


2012: The War for Souls
2012: The War for Souls
Author: Whitley Strieber
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 3/28/2010


Don't think this book is going to be like the movie. It is much more complicated with two stores interwoven which makes it hard to follow at times. This said however the story is exciting, imaginative and will raise goose-bumps on your arms. A chilling look into what might be in our future. Expect to be frightened. Good one.


21: The Inside Story of Six M.I.T. Students Who Took Vegas for Millions (aka Bringing Down the House) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 7/2/2011


Fascinating! Great story made even better because it's true. A glimpse into the world of gambling, profit, and the background workings of Vegas and those who set out to break the "bank."


24 Hours (aka Trapped) (Mississippi, Bk 2)
24 Hours (aka Trapped) (Mississippi, Bk 2)
Author: Greg Iles
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 346
Review Date: 1/31/2011


24 hours is the most exciting, tension filled book I've read in quite a while. I simply could not put it down until the conclusion. Highly recommended.


The 30-Day Total Health Makeover
The 30-Day Total Health Makeover
Author: Marilu Henner, Laura Morton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 12/1/2008


So many healthy, helpful hints. Good advice on everything. Some of the menus didn't appeal to me but I got a terrific amount of information from this book - and a lot of inspiration.


The 5th Horseman (Women's Murder Club, Bk 5)
The 5th Horseman (Women's Murder Club, Bk 5)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 397
Review Date: 5/9/2007
Helpful Score: 3


A great book by Patterson, as usual. Medical thriller that keeps you turning pages. Highly recommended.


61 Hours (Reacher, Bk 14)
61 Hours (Reacher, Bk 14)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 195
Review Date: 6/3/2010


Another fabulous Jack Reacher novel. May be my favorite of the bunch. The novel starts out with a "bang" then slows down a bit in the middle as the hours are counted off and things get a little repetitive. But the ending more than makes up for that. Wow! Happy reading - great book.


9 Scorpions
9 Scorpions
Author: Paul Levine
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 3/26/2007


A sexy courtroom thriller


The 9th Judgment (Women's Murder Club, Bk 9)
The 9th Judgment (Women's Murder Club, Bk 9)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 303
Review Date: 7/10/2010


A very satisfying read. Typical Patterson with a lot of mystery, police work, terrific characters and a touch of romance. What more could you ask for? Short chapters, great dialogue and can't-put-it-down excitement. Enjoy!


Abandon
Abandon
Author: Blake Crouch
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 7/19/2010
Helpful Score: 3


This was one of the most exciting books I've read in a long time. The story switches in time between the events of 1893 and 2009 - equally horrifying and gripping - definitely interrelated.. The characters are well drawn; the location/weather is an equal partner in the tale. I defy you to put this book down for long. It will haunt you and call you back until you've gotten to the very end. Wow! Enjoy.


Abide with Me
Abide with Me
Author: Elizabeth Strout
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 90
Review Date: 3/16/2008
Helpful Score: 8


We all wonder how we'd react to tragedy. This is a story about how a man and his daughter make it through life's tests. Compassionate, moving, beautifully written. A heart warmer.


Absent Friends
Absent Friends
Author: S. J. Rozan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/25/2008


A fabulous book about a time we all remember. What was it like to be there? To have lost dear friends? To try to move on with your life? Great characters; great story.


Absolute Rage
Absolute Rage
Author: Robert K. Tanenbaum, Robert K. Tanenbaum
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/29/2007


Complex mystery full of characters you will end up caring about. A corrupt town, the FBI, a family looking for answers - all come together in a story that is compelling to the very end. A very good tale.


Absolute Zero (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Absolute Zero (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Chuck Logan, J. K. Simmons (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 9/18/2008
Helpful Score: 3


I loved this audio book! Three heros; three villians - who will survive this battle?
Fascinating characters, fast pacing, great plot. I wasn't sure until the very end what the outcome would be. Well read. You will enjoy.


The Accident
The Accident
Author: Linwood Barclay
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 12/27/2011
Helpful Score: 1


What a winner! I enjoyed this book from first page to last. I've enjoyed all of Barclay's novels but think this one is hands down the best. Highly recommended.


Act of Betrayal (Britt Montero, Bk 4)
Act of Betrayal (Britt Montero, Bk 4)
Author: Edna Buchanan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 3/29/2008


Another great book by Buchanan. Britt Montero returns not only to solve a murder but to survive a monsterous storm while in the process. Lots of action, a little romance - very readable book.


Alas, Babylon
Alas, Babylon
Author: Pat Frank
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 105
Review Date: 1/23/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I've been reading this book non-stop whenever time allowed. It is terrific. It is ageless. It is terrifying. Hard to believe it was written in the 1950's. Wonderful. Wonderful! As you can tell, I just loved this book.


All Night Long
All Night Long
Author: Jayne Ann Krentz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 180
Review Date: 3/23/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I thought this book was excellent - all the things I look for - mystery, well developed characters that I cared about, exciting love story. I enjoy Krentz's books - this one was especially good.


1 to 20 of 409 - Page: