Kristina C. (daala84) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 43 - Page:
The $64 Tomato: How One Man Nearly Lost His Sanity, Spent a Fortune, and Endured an Existential Crisis in the Quest for the Perfect Garden
Review Date: 6/8/2009
Helpful Score: 4


I loved this book. The author was hilarious! I could completely identify with his garden obsessions. The part with him battling the ground hog had me laughing until I cried. If you enjoy gardening, I strongly recommend picking up this book.


Back to the Table: The Reunion of Food and Family
Back to the Table: The Reunion of Food and Family
Author: Art Smith
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 10/31/2008


I wanted to like this cookbook. I had high hopes after flipping through it. Unfortunately after I tried 3 recipes, I found that I was unimpressed with all of them. I have never had as dismal results from any other cookbook. All three recipes tended towards the bland, and I found them to be overly time consuming, particularly the no-knead rolls (bland, rubbery & no less work than your standard roll recipe) and the matzo ball soup. After the third failure I decided it was time to move on to better cookbooks.


Ballet Bears Getting in Shape
Ballet Bears Getting in Shape
Author: Katherine Wilson-Heaney (Illustrator), Jill Wolf
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/30/2007


Cute book about Ballet Bears preparing for their performance. Great book for the aspiring little ballerina.


The Big Snow
The Big Snow
Author: Berta Hader, Elmer Hader
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 8/9/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This 1949 Caldecott Award winning book--for illustrations--has stood the test of time and still finds appeal among today's children.

New teachers and parents may not be aware of this timeless classic which can be used with primary age students in talking about late autumn, deep winter or even Groundhog's Day! Although the animals have anthropomorphic qualities, their speech is congruent with what they would actually be "thinking" during this season. For example, Mrs. Chipmunk says, "...it's getting cold. It's time for me to retire." It's not as corny as it sounds, and any adult reading "The Big Snow" aloud to children may want to give each animal's "voice" a quality resembling its actual sound.

This children's classic works on many levels, not the least of which is connecting today's children with a book loved by many previous generations.


The Booster
The Booster
Author: Jennifer Solow
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 9/23/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I really didn't care for this. I thought the characters were cold and unlikeable. The premise of the story held promise, but ultimately it fell flat.


Cake Wrecks: When Professional Cakes Go Hilariously Wrong
Cake Wrecks: When Professional Cakes Go Hilariously Wrong
Author: Jen Yates
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 8/26/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Sooo funny!!! If you need a laugh, this is the book for you.


Can You Keep a Secret?
Can You Keep a Secret?
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 682
Review Date: 10/20/2007


So cute, and funny. Loved it!


Cat's Meow
Cat's Meow
Author: Melissa de la Cruz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 11/13/2008


This was sooo awful! There didn't seem to be much a plot line and the characters were completely unlikeable. I enjoy fluffy chick lit on occasion, but this is beyond fluff; it's just plain bad!


Certain Girls (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 2)
Certain Girls (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 2)
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 365
Review Date: 11/13/2008
Helpful Score: 3


I really enjoyed this. I did find the constant flipping back and forth between the mother and daughter to get slight confusing to figure out who was talking now. That being said, Jennifer Weiner always develops her characters and the story line so well that you are instantly pulled in. The ending caught me off guard, but it really was a masterful finish.


Christmas at Home: Homemade Holiday Gift Ideas (Christmas at Home (Barbour))
Review Date: 9/30/2007


Really nice book with plenty of easy and inexpensive gift ideas.


Confessions of a Sociopathic Social Climber: The Katya Livingston Chronicles
Review Date: 6/30/2008


This is such an awful book. The main character was horrible, the plot seemed to be missing, and it wasn't the least bit amusing. I dragged through four torturous chapters before I gave up.


Diary of a Mad Mom-to-Be
Diary of a Mad Mom-to-Be
Author: Laura Wolf
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 162
Review Date: 9/23/2008


This book is hilarious. I dragged through Diary of a Mad Bride, but this was a million times better. Very, very funny.


The Fidelity Files
The Fidelity Files
Author: Jessica Brody
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 2/16/2009
Helpful Score: 3


I loved this book. The plot was great and the characters were so well developed. I would say this was a bit deeper and more original than your standard chick lit. The Fidelity Files was one of the most fun books I have read in quite awhile. I definitely would like to read more by Jessica Brody.


The Fortune Quilt
The Fortune Quilt
Author: Lani Diane Rich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 6/8/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is a cute book. The premise is bit more original than your average chick lit, and the story is a bit deeper as well. There is a little bit of romance, but also some family surprises and self discovery. Overall, I found this to be a light, engaging read.


French Kissmas (S.A.S.S.)
French Kissmas (S.A.S.S.)
Author: Cathy Hapka
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 2/16/2009


Oh, this book was soooo boring! I kept waiting for it to get interesting, but sadly that never happened. The plot was weak and the characters were flat. I wouldn't waste my time with this one.


The Gatecrasher
The Gatecrasher
Author: Madeleine Wickham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 130
Review Date: 9/23/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I really liked this one. It was definitely much darker than her normal books, but I thought the storyline was interesting and the characters were well developed.


Girls in Trucks
Girls in Trucks
Author: Katie Crouch
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 11/13/2008
Helpful Score: 12


I was not a huge fan of Girls in Trucks. I picked up it because it sounded really interesting. Unfortunately I found the writing to be rather weak. The story jumped around in time without any sort of rhyme or reason. The author would explore side stories with secondary characters, but they were never really fleshed out. I thought the side stories were rather out of place and pointless. Overall, the book just felt like a jumbled mess.


Good Grief
Good Grief
Author: Lolly Winston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 380
Review Date: 11/16/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This book is one of the best books I've read in years! Be prepared to cry, because there are quite a few heart-wrenching moments. But overall, I found the book incredibly touching and heartwarming. It's just a beautiful and at times, amusing, portrayal of grief and the struggle to recover from such a massive loss. I very highly recommend this book.


The Gorilla Did It
The Gorilla Did It
Author: Barbara Shook Hazen, Ray Cruz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/9/2007


Hey, I need a gorilla!

I think everyone does! A partner in crime and a silent buddy to blame all of your life's messes on. The Gorilla Did It, Barbara Shook Hazen's classic tale is fast approaching it's 30th birthday and remains as true and apt today as when it was written in 1974. Preschool children today are drawn to the story just as they were then and their parents will love reading it with them and chuckle at the gorilla's mischief as well!

A gorilla wakes a sleeping child up and encourages him to make a mess of his room. When confronted by his mother about the mess, the boy tells her it wasn't his fault it was the gorilla who did it.

Ray Cruz's illustrations deftly convey the humor and hilarity of the situation. They add nicely to the story and will give parent and child many opportunities to talk. I love the picture of the gorilla on his back rolling in the soap suds on the floor while Mother and child discuss who made the mess.

This is a delightful story for both parent and child.


Have Your Wedding Cake And Eat It, Too
Review Date: 9/16/2007


This book is hilarious!!! I absolutely loved it.


1 to 20 of 43 - Page: