Donna H. (myanniecat) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 219 - Page:
18 Seconds
18 Seconds
Author: George D. Shuman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 5/26/2007
Helpful Score: 5


I thought this was a wonderful debut novel. Great characters and plot line. I'm glad he's writing another one featuring the MC Sherry Moore.


Accidents of Marriage: A Novel
Accidents of Marriage: A Novel
Author: Randy Susan Meyers
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 8/28/2014
Helpful Score: 1


This is a very emotional book about a family in crisis following a serious accident. Told from each family member's point of view. It really drew me in and was hard to put down. It's a bit sad and depressing but I felt like I was right there pulling for things to work out for this family. Very well done.


Acts of Malice (Nina Reilly, Bk 5)
Acts of Malice (Nina Reilly, Bk 5)
Author: Perri O'Shaughnessy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 173
Review Date: 3/5/2007
Helpful Score: 4


Very exciting installment in the Nina Reilly series. I read it in a day to see what would happen. My only quibble would be not enough Paul...


Alibi
Alibi
Author: Stephen M. Murphy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 5/18/2007


I enjoyed this legal debut featuring MC Dutch Francis. It held my attention and threw me a curve at the end. Will definitely read the next one...


Alone (D. D. Warren, Bk 1)
Alone (D. D. Warren, Bk 1)
Author: Lisa Gardner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 649
Review Date: 10/23/2006


I read all this author's books and this was another one that didn't disappoint me.


Any Bitter Thing
Any Bitter Thing
Author: Monica Wood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 9/9/2008
Helpful Score: 6


I thought this was a beautifully written story about love and loss. It's emotional, sad, heartbreaking, yet so full of hope. It immediately grabbed me from the first line and it was hard to put down. It's full of endearing characters that will definitely stay with me for a long time. I highly recommend this book. It's one of the best I've read in a long time....


Bad Guys (Zack Walker, Bk 2)
Bad Guys (Zack Walker, Bk 2)
Author: Linwood Barclay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 2/25/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Worthy follow-up to Bad Move. Featuring over-protective, paranoid husband & dad Zack Walker. I love this MC and can't wait for the next one!


Bad Luck and Trouble (Jack Reacher, Bk 11)
Bad Luck and Trouble (Jack Reacher, Bk 11)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 218
Review Date: 5/26/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Reacher usually goes it alone and I found it interesting to see him in action with his old Special Investigators unit. I loved this one and couldn't wait to pick it up again. Well done!


Bad Move (Zack Walker, Bk 1)
Bad Move (Zack Walker, Bk 1)
Author: Linwood Barclay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 10/1/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Over-protective dad, Zack Walker, decides that city living is too dangerous for his family so he decides to move to the peaceful suburbs. The tranquillity doesn't last long as Zack stumbles upon a dead body and then things really start to get interesting.

This was a great read and had some laugh out loud moments. I really look forward to his next one. Highly recommend!


Badlands (Kevin Byrne and Jessica Balzano, Bk 4)
Badlands (Kevin Byrne and Jessica Balzano, Bk 4)
Author: Richard Montanari
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 3/10/2009
Helpful Score: 1


By far the best in the series so far. Such well fleshed characters, a very orginal plot line, and written in such a way that at times I found myself even feeling sympathy for the bad guy. And trust me, this is one creepy bad guy! This is one of those books that kept begging me to pick it up again, and I love it when a book calls to me that way. The pages just flew by. This will probably be one of my top picks for the year. Very well done!


The Barbed-Wire Kiss (Harry Rane, Bk 1)
The Barbed-Wire Kiss (Harry Rane, Bk 1)
Author: Wallace Stroby
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 4/28/2006


If you like your MC's more real and down to earth, then ex-state trooper Harry Rane's definitely your man. I enjoyed this first novel a lot then followed it up with the next one - The Heartbreak Lounge which was even better.


Be the One
Be the One
Author: April Smith
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/30/2006


Cassidy Sanderson is a female scout for the Dodgers. She works hard, plays hard and gets in a world of trouble along the way. Enjoyable read, but I didn't enjoy it quite as much as the Ana Grey books.


Beautiful Lies (Ridley Jones, Bk 1)
Beautiful Lies (Ridley Jones, Bk 1)
Author: Lisa Unger
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 138
Review Date: 2/5/2007


This book hooked me from the first page and never let go. I loved it!


Bellman & Black
Bellman & Black
Author: Diane Setterfield
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 8/14/2014


After having read The 13th Tale and loving it, I was excited to give this one a try. And even though it's described as a ghost story, I'd be hard pressed to call it one. I thought it was well written but I didn't like it at all and struggled to finish it. I wondered if the same author had written both books.


Between, Georgia
Between, Georgia
Author: Joshilyn Jackson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 242
Review Date: 6/23/2007
Helpful Score: 5


The story of Nonny Frett, who's caught between her adoptive family and her biological family. It's not a fast-paced book but it's a fun read complete with quirky characters, a family feud, secrets and indecision.


The Big Picture
The Big Picture
Author: Douglas Kennedy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/11/2006


I loved this book! I love books where the MC's life starts to spin out of control and you don't know what's going to happen. This one was a whirlwind of a book. I enjoy this author and don't know why he isn't more mainstream.


Black Fly Season (John Cardinal, Bk 3)
Black Fly Season (John Cardinal, Bk 3)
Author: Giles Blunt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 7/3/2006
Helpful Score: 2


When a beautiful young woman is discovered walking around with a bullet in her brain and no memory of what happened to her, Det. John Cardinal and his partner know that someone left her for dead and if word gets out, they'll try to kill her again.

I thought that this was an excellent entry in the John Cardinal series. Much better than The Delicate Storm. He returns to form with this one.


The Black Ice (Harry Bosch, Bk 2)
The Black Ice (Harry Bosch, Bk 2)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 304
Review Date: 8/23/2006


This is the first Harry Bosch book I read and started my love of this series.


Blood Hollow (Cork O'Connor, No 4)
Blood Hollow (Cork O'Connor, No 4)
Author: William Kent Krueger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 8/4/2007


I thought this was a first-rate entry in the Cork O'Connor series. The author weaves a multi-layered tale that will draw you in immediately. I enjoyed this one very much.


Bloodstream
Bloodstream
Author: Tess Gerritsen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 296
Review Date: 3/12/2007


I really enjoyed this well done book about a small town doctor who's struggling to solve the mystery of a violent outbreak.


1 to 20 of 219 - Page: